Reviews of Carousel of Progress

Reviews

123

Rating

8.38 / 10

Recommended By

93%



Reviewed by Liquidopal Review Date: 03/02/2021

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Classic Disney is a must do.

Pros:

You get a nice long sit in the air conditioning.

Cons:

Just try to get that song out of your head.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 02/24/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

very underrated and super interesting and fun! i love the moving building to see the different scenes

Pros:

air conditioning! nice sit down time and it never has a long wait

Cons:

nothing!
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 02/20/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

i think this rise is very underrated and i actually really like it

Pros:

interesting to see the evolution of time.

Cons:

could be seen as boring and repeatable
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jessie Review Date: 02/16/2021

Rating: (6)
Recommended

A classic!

Pros:

Nostalgic, A/C, catchy tune

Cons:

Outdated
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by disneyviv Review Date: 02/15/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I LOVE this ride! It’s the epitome of Disney magic and Disney history! Walt loved the idea of progress, so this ride is very authentic to him and great for Disney history lovers. The song “it’s a great big beautiful tomorrow” ALWAYS makes me smile! This ride is a classic and absolute must-do!

Pros:

-21 minutes of air conditioning -short wait -quintessential Disney magic!

Cons:

-kids may find it boring
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Amanda820 Review Date: 02/15/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We love Carousel of Progress! No Magic Kingdom trip is complete without it! Even my small child enjoys it! I hope it stays in this park forever!

Pros:

Entertaining, cool place to rest, cool way to see the past

Cons:

Could be updated a bit for the future part as most everything in that section has already happened and isn’t really considered the future
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by DrSeekersDinoPuppet Review Date: 02/15/2021

Rating: (6)
Recommended

The only reason I rated this so low is because I understand it is dated and some people might want to see and do things that are a bit faster paced than following John Progress through the decades. I adore Carousel of Progress and am always delighted to sing along with John during the show. This show fills an essential role in a Disney Park Attraction and that is get you out of the Florida sun and off your feet for a bit. Don't take it for granted.

Pros:

15-20 minutes sitting down in the air conditioning while watching turn of the century technology change people's lives!

Cons:

Can be dull to some
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Funderburk93 Review Date: 02/13/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Walt Disney's Carousel of Progress loses a point because of its clunky final scene, but the rest of the show is a blast. "It's a Great, Big, Beautiful Tomorrow" is one of the best Disney Parks songs, it's so fun to sing along during the show. The walkthrough history is and has always been very well done. The show does a fantastic job showing how much technology has progressed in the last 120 years.

The Carousel of Progress is a four-part show featuring an animatronic family in each scene. Each part is a different time period (1900, 1920, 1940, and an amalgamation of the 1980-present). The scenes revolve around the family patriarch explaining and bragging about the technological advancements while doubting that life could ever get better. He shows off technological advancements in kitchen appliances, radio, television, lighting, etc. Other family members are also included using different "new" tech.

If this sounds boring, don't worry. The scenes are a nice blend of education and humor. The voice acting adds to that Disney magic that makes you forget you're watching animatronics.

The last scene needs some work. The show gets its name because the seating area revolves around the centerstage after each scene. The building housing the show was designed for just four scenes. Over the years, that final scene has become an amalgamation of the 1980s-present day. The scene's context is firmly in the present, but the character's outfits are stuck in the 1980s. It's also a shame that there's a gap between 1940 and 2020. That's 80 years of technological advancements that aren't a part of the ride. I wish Disney would address this, but I don't know how they would.

Regardless, the final scene is still entertaining and the first four scenes are Disney perfection.

Pros:

-History, the show is rich in. Both as an original Disney parks ride and in its content. -Perfect blend of education and humor -Comfortable theater seats

Cons:

-Show skips 80 years of technological advancements, but this isn't a dealbreaker.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 02/11/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I absolutely ADORE this ride. I have been going to Walt Disney World almost every year of my life since I was 5 years old, and my family never forgets to stop by this Tomorrowland classic. The ride almost never has a wait so it is an easy access ride, and it is a perfect way to take a break in the cool AC. As far as the ride goes, the soundtrack, animatronics, and overall feel of the show is so much fun. The show is charismatic, enticing, funny, and overall a great time. However, I do feel that the ride may be in need of a refurbishment. The future scene has caught up to recent times as of now, and I feel that re-envisioning the future scene to predict what life might be like now might entice future viewers.

Pros:

Air conditioning fun song cute atmosphere low wait time

Cons:

a little bit outdated
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Experiment626 Review Date: 02/08/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

I love Carousel of Progress. It\\'s one of my favorite attractions. Yes, the last scene is a bit outdated. The animatronics do glitch sometimes. But, you learn a bit about the technology from previous centuries. Its not a thrill ride, but its still a great ride.

Pros:

Its 20 minutes in Air Conditioning.

Cons:

It does need some refurb.
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 13

Other topics in Magic Kingdom Rides and Attractions