Reviews of Astro Orbiter

Reviews

152

Rating

5.65 / 10

Recommended By

64%



Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/05/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This is a Dumbo style attraction except this one is a bit more thrilling and puts you at an angle

Pros:

More exciting than other Dumbo style attractions

Cons:

For some reason long wait times
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by ChefDionofLima Review Date: 09/29/2021

Rating: (5)
Recommended

Best if ridden at night. Wonderful bird's eye view of Tomorrowland. Most people tend to head to Tomorrowland or Frontierland first, for obviously reasons. I find that crowds tend to be lighter at the end of the day, especially during fireworks. So if you don't mind missing the fireworks or parades those are the best times this attraction.

Pros:

Night time views of the Magic Kingdom are spectacular.

Cons:

Long wait times can be an issue. Also people who have trouble with heights might want to avoid.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JustinDoesDisney Review Date: 09/28/2021

Rating: (6)
Recommended

If you've never ridden Astro Orbiter, don't write it off as being "just for kids!" Although from the ground it may just look like an elevated version of Dumbo, Magic Carpets of Aladdin, or TriceraTop Spin, it does spin fast enough (especially when descending from your "flight") to create a surprisingly strong centrifugal force that will make you think twice about letting go of the control lever or sides of the rocket ship! I especially like riding it at night to take in the beautiful, illuminated views of Magic Kingdom. It's definitely not the most thrilling ride in the Park (or Tomorrowland, for that matter), but I do recommend riding it at least once! Having said that, the line does get really long at times due to the slow loading/unloading process of the elevators and is probably not worth more than a 20-minute wait in my book.

Pros:

Great views of Tomorrowland and Cinderella Castle, a bit more thrilling than it looks, no height requirement

Cons:

Closes during inclement weather (ride it early!), line can get very long
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by FishinGoofy Review Date: 09/15/2021

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Great ride for those who maybe don't like coasters. Not super thrilling but a good ride for littles. This ride does have some of the best views of the park especially at night.

Pros:

Mild ride good for newbies or those who don't like thrill rides. Great views

Cons:

A little slow. Not particularly exciting.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Perkisizing Review Date: 09/04/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Simple and fun. And a great view of the Hub, Tomorrowland and the castle.

Pros:

Simple

Cons:

Might be a bit too tame
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by kmark2 Review Date: 09/03/2021

Rating: (5)
Recommended

This is a Dumbo type attraction but what sets it apart is the views from the ride of the park. The views are incredible! It is very slow to load for this ride and I wouldn't wait more than 20 minutes for it.

Pros:

Great views!

Cons:

slow to load and the line can get very long because of that
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 08/29/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

We went to WDW from July 27-August 1 of 2021. It had been raining a bit, and the shortest line was for this ride. I want to say the wait time was somewhere between 40-60 minutes. We had lunch reservations we couldn’t cancel in 90 minutes. We got in line and waited for so long. With 20 minutes left before our reservation, we eventually got in the elevator where we had to wait for three more cycles. We had to get out of line but we were told we couldn’t just take the elevator back by ourselves, we had to wait. And the offloading and onloading process took several minutes too, even longer than the actual ride itself. Would not recommend if you have reservations during a 2 hour time period.

Pros:

Good for families of all ages

Cons:

Long boarding process, deceiving lines, short ride time
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Fisher55 Review Date: 08/23/2021

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Solid Dumbo clone, with the twist that you are really high in the air.

Pros:

The only Dumbo ride with a solid twist, IMO. You can see practically the whole park when riding it

Cons:

Line can get way to long for what is being offered. If afraid of heights, stay away
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 08/22/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Good ride

Pros:

26 feet tall

Cons:

Uncomfortable and hard to put 2 people in a rocket.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Salsa Review Date: 08/18/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

We went to WDW from July 27-August 1 of 2021. It had been raining a bit, and the shortest line was for this ride. I want to say the wait time was somewhere between 40-60 minutes. We had lunch reservations we couldn’t cancel in 90 minutes. We got in line and waited for so long. With 20 minutes left before our reservation, we eventually got in the elevator where we had to wait for three more cycles. We had to get out of line but we were told we couldn’t just take the elevator back by ourselves, we had to wait. And the offloading and onloading process took several minutes too, even longer than the actual ride itself. Would not recommend if you have reservations during a 2 hour time period.

Pros:

Good for families of all ages

Cons:

Long boarding process, deceiving lines, short ride time
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 16

Other topics in Magic Kingdom Rides and Attractions