Reviews of Astro Orbiter

Reviews

11

Rating

6.18 / 10

Recommended By

73%



Easy Up and Down Ride, like Dumbo.

Reviewed by JackBrown Review Date: 01/19/2020

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

I rode this at 9 at night, in the dark, it was terrifying.

Pros:

Great view of the castle

Cons:

Soooo high and terrifying
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by colemamma Review Date: 12/31/2019

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

I don't know why WDW keeps this one around. You have to ride an elevator up to access this ride, then you stand in the hot Florida sun to be crammed in a ride that last just a couple minutes. I've seen people fall out of these when the ride is over and they are trying to get off the ride. It's like Dumbo only lots hotter and more difficult to get in and out of. The queue line (before you board the elevator)often gets mixed with the queue for the People Mover line during busy times. It's just a hot mess that WDW could replace with something better, IMO.

Pros:

at night provides a nice view of MK

Cons:

practically everything, avoid if you are tall, plus sized, not able to lift your legs really high to get in and out of the ride, afraid of heights. Also avoid on hot or sunny days.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by courtney Review Date: 06/17/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

A fun way to experience the park for a different sight. Fun for kids who like spinning rides like dumbo and Aladdin carpets, but would like a change in the height

Pros:

lots of fun, classic ride

Cons:

height requirement, may not be good for people who don’t like heights
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Purpie Review Date: 06/13/2019

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

This usually has long waits so that detracts from my ride experience. It’s basically just Dumbo, but elevated. It has a little more of a tilt to the vehicle to make you feel like you’re going to fall out. Besides that small feeling of “danger” it’s pretty basic up and down, as well as short. After standing in a crowded line on the ground floor, a more crowded elevator takes you to the platform where you wait again to board.

I guess it doesn’t take up too much space since the ride is elevated, but it’s a little lame and basic, in my opinion. I wouldn’t wait more than 20 minutes, if that.

Pros:

Nice views at night

Cons:

Long lines, short, unoriginal
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JohnC Review Date: 06/12/2019

Rating: (6)
Recommended

A classic, glad that it is there, like an old friend

Pros:

Has it's limits

Cons:

Has it's limits
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Glen Review Date: 04/25/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

A Magic Kingdom & Tomorrowland classic! Although a little underwhelming once you've experienced bigger thrills, it is family friendly fun for everyone with an exciting twist because of its height!

Pros:

Fast-paced, the views of the park are amazing, and you get to control how high you want to be

Cons:

Very similar to Dumbo and the Flying Carpets of Aladdin
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Natalie Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This ride seemed fun to me as a child, but as an adult it freaked me out! It's not 'like Dumbo.' It's like Dumbo, but only 100 feet up in the air, with steeper turns. You should only ride with someone you feel close to, because you will be in tight quarters. It's fun, but not if you have a fear of heights. Best ridden at night!

Pros:

Great view of Magic Kingdom.

Cons:

Often a long line. Can be scary for some.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by bmc0617 Review Date: 04/20/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love the experience of being at the highest guest access point in the park!

Pros:

Great views, family friendly ride!

Cons:

Some may be scared of heights. Can only fit two comfortably in car.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Pgroyal Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Another Dumbo but up high.

Pros:

Being up high

Cons:

Long wait at times
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ibleaf Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (4)
Recommended

gravity round a bout

Pros:

nostalgic, great views of the park

Cons:

line up wait times
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Magic Kingdom Rides and Attractions