Reviews of Carousel of Progress

Reviews

18

Rating

8.50 / 10

Recommended By

94%



A Walt Original from the 1964 NY World's Fair

Reviewed by courtney Review Date: 06/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Always, always, always go on this ride.

Pros:

Timeless, gets you out of the hot Florida sun

Cons:

May not be as fun for kids
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Badelves Review Date: 06/12/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

If you love Disney history, this is a must do. It has been one of our daughter's favorites since she was a little one, and she shares it with everyone who visits the parks with us. It's also a great place to rest your feet and cool off for a little bit, so how can you go wrong by giving it a try?

Pros:

Disney history and air conditioning!

Cons:

Be mindful of your Fast Pass times as this isn't a quick, five minute attraction.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Tink1027 Review Date: 04/21/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

One of Walt's pride and joys and a can't miss, at least once in your lifetime. Also great on a hot day to go sit down in the air conditioning and enjoy the shoe. Great detail

Pros:

Walt's touch, relaxing

Cons:

None, love it
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by BabieO Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is a great nostalgic ride. It takes you back to the Original Disney experience. You will leave singing the song

Pros:

Great for a bit of nostalgia

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Dgirl Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

One of my favorites! It's pure Walt Disney. A classic that I hope never goes away.

Pros:

The story. The antiques.

Cons:

No cons
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MelissaAndela Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I love this attraction; it was created by Walt Disney himself, and is a classic example of Disney technology, commitment to progress, and detail. In this rotating theatre show you follow one family through the decades and the accompanying progress and advancements, and is well-done and entertaining. No it's not a roller coaster or big and flashy, but it is a true and fun piece of Disney history; a must-see in my opinion!

Pros:

A great chance to sit down and cool off while enjoying a classic Disney attraction

Cons:

None in my opinion
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by DisWalker Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I'm surprised that I'm the first one reviewing this attraction here as Walt Disney, himself,created this for the 1964 World's Fair. This show/ride will take you through the technological advances of the 20th century from the Gramophone to the electric iron.

You will follow an American family over 4 generations as technology advances and transforms their lives for the better. Other than watching the technological advances and seeing what the "then" pre-electrical to the "then" modern electrical conveniences were, I love the theme song of this attraction which is the Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow. This song gives you hope for a better tomorrow.

Pros:

It's a great attraction. I loved learning about technology's advances and I loved the theme song. Other pros are that it's inside and you can cook off when it's hot outside; this ride is about 25 minutes long.

Cons:

I haven't found faults with this attraction, but others have. They don't like that it hasn't been updated to include today's technological advances.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ncole Review Date: 06/18/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This is a classic. You will definitely walk out singing the song in your head. The only thing is it could use some updating, but then that probably wouldn’t make it such a classic.

Pros:

A unique ride with a catchy song

Cons:

Somewhat out of date
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JohnC Review Date: 06/12/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

A Disney classic

Pros:

Has it's own charm

Cons:

Perhaps some updates
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by abrooks126 Review Date: 04/23/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

A Disney classic from the 1964 New York World's Fair. You should see it at least once, just for the historic/nostalgic value. The theater revolves around a stationary stage (very progressive at the time)and your audioanimatronic host leads you through technological changes from the turn of the 20th century on. Although this may sound boring, it really isn't. Disney always has a way of making learning fun. And there's a catchy tune of course!

Some complain that the final scene should be updated, but when you think about the ride's inception in the 60's, it basically took you from 1900 to somewhat beyond the 1960's. Now fast forward 50+ years, past the turn of the NEXT century - that's a pretty big leap and a big gap to fill. So maybe that final scene could be updated. But I think it's an attraction that should never be replaced no matter how dated it might seem. It's so "Walt" and a great reminder of the great man who started it all.

Pros:

Wait times are usually short and it's a great way to take a cool seated break from the Florida heat and humidity. Great for all ages.

Cons:

Some say it's dated...maybe that's its charm?
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Magic Kingdom Rides and Attractions