Reviews of Tusker House Lunch and Dinner Buffet

Reviews

76

Rating

8.25 / 10

Recommended By

86%



Other Menus at Tusker House Restaurant

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Tusker House Restaurant

Services: Buffet/All You Care to Eat

Reviewed by TripleJS Review Date: 06/12/2022

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

We used to love this place when it was a buffet but everything has gone down hill since switching to family style. The beef was doused with a herb sauce that tasted like a just drank a bottle of perfume. The pork was cold and dry. Chicken was ok but was cold as well. Our service was horrible. I chalked it up to the waitress having a bad day, but my sister who was with us, said this has been the way it is ever since it reopened. She’s been there a few times. Characters were rushed by our table with little interaction. This used to be our go to for character dining. Not anymore. Everyone seemed like they were in a bad mood. It must be a reflection of new management.

Pros:

A/C in a hot park

Cons:

Price, Service, food, limited character interaction-
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by BeesinNJ Review Date: 05/22/2022

Rating: (6)
Recommended

We were seated quickly after checking in. Our waitress Jojo was sooo detailed and kind. She was fun and engaging. The characters came out one by one immediately after our seating. It was so nice to be in AC and meeting characters without long lines. The food was alright, nothing to brag about. This was our last table service dining after a full week of dining. I didnt like the chicken. The rib and shrimp were really good. Potatoes a bit too salty for me. I LOVED our desserts. I also had a mai tai and that was delicious. For me, this was a one and done. Food wise- I wish I wouldve eaten quick service throughout the park since there are so many good options, but I do not regret trying Tusker House once.

Pros:

Character one on one time with photos. Lots of food, AC, table, and own bathroom without the long lines.

Cons:

Food was okay. Nothing to brag about. Character one on one time felt a little rushed- take your pic and next.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/21/2022

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Delicious food and amazing service. We went for dinner and had the best server here that went above and beyond to find something (off menu) that my extremely picky daughter would eat. This isn't the best character experience (I would give that to Topolinos), but the food was good and it is definitely worth the trip when you're visiting Animal Kingdom.

Pros:

Delicious food

Cons:

Expensive
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by tetimko5 Review Date: 03/18/2022

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Since Covid, the food itself is not as good as it was when it was a buffet BUT this is still an excellent character meal and a great way to spend a meal in Animal Kingdom. I personally preferred lunch/dinner over breakfast. The restaurant seemed less crowded and our service was better than we went for breakfast. The characters come around multiple times and as of right now, you can get up to 6 feet close to them, and take pictures and selfies. Each person at the table was able to adequate time with each character. Overall had a blast and the food was really good.

Pros:

lots of time with characters, good food, good service.

Cons:

price, can be a long meal
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by tillch2 Review Date: 12/22/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

food was very good, not buffet right now but they gave us a ton of food. It was really good. Character interaction was very good considering they are not coming right up to the table

Pros:

food-

Cons:

none
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TarraYoder Review Date: 12/20/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We loved this restaurant! It was my husband’s favorite place we ate the whole trip. We got lots of pictures with the characters and loved the fact that it was all you care to enjoy.

Pros:

Great character interaction. Good food if your adventurous.

Cons:

If your a picky eater you may not love it. Our waiter did bring out some chicken nuggets for our 10 yr old who wouldn’t eat anything.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by HeartBreakKris Review Date: 09/19/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Some of the best character dining in Walt Disney World! I love the character’s Safari outfits! The buffet is one of my favorites at Walt Disney World because there are lots of unique flavors but still have enough of the “classics” that everyone can find something to eat! I went there with a vegan & she was able to find a lot of choices the suited her diet as well! I would definitely go back there on future trips to Animal Kingdom

Pros:

Lots of variety and something to eat for every palate!

Cons:

A little expensive
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by FishinGoofy Review Date: 09/13/2021

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

We ate here on our honeymoon in September of 2019. The food is ok...very reminiscent of a golden corral or Ponderosa. There are a few adventurous options but nothing totally wild or out there. Meeting the characters was pretty cool and the drinks were good - My spouse's was was very strong. This is a great place for people with kiddos who might try something new but mostly prefer chicken nugs or mac n cheese. I would only recommend this place if you absolutely must meet the characters in safari costumes or have pickier kiddos.

Pros:

Meeting characters, strong alcoholic drinks

Cons:

food was just meh.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MollysBiggestFans Review Date: 08/24/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We took a group of 7 here for my mothers 50th birthday and everyone loved the food and atmosphere. The Mac and Cheese is incredible and you will get more then enough food, just keep asking for refills. Everything from the starters to the dessert was a hit

Pros:

All you can eat! Delicious food! Safari characters!!

Cons:

Shrimp curry only had 2-3 shrimp in it
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 07/12/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

We decided to give this place a try after hearing so many good reviews. Having small kids, character buffets are always a good bet, however, this was the absolute worst dining experience I’ve had in the past 27 years of going to Walt Disney World. We sat for over 20 minutes without drinks, our waitress was so short with us & rude, her entire section was being neglected & you could see her singing at the POS station staring at all of us. The food was so limited past what I even expected & the fish was the worst I’ve ever had. Children’s options are only macaroni & corn dog nuggets. The macaroni was empty on our first trip to the buffet & watered down the second. Once we sat down with our second plate the waitress came with the bill, ignored our empty drinks & instead opened it to show us where to put a tip walked off not to come back again. The characters are precious in their safari gear, but the interactions were cold & there are much better characters at similar dining experiences with way better food. At over $200 for our family of 4 it left a terrible taste in my mouth & just genuinely made us sad we’d given up our beloved night at yak & yeti for such a bad time.

Pros:

Cute characters Dining is limited in AK

Cons:

Limited menu Long wait Poor service
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 8

Other topics in Animal Kingdom