Reviews of Old Key West Resort (Disney Vacation Club)

Reviews

68

Rating

8.43 / 10

Recommended By

88%



Reviewed by BigBrotherBuddha Review Date: 04/25/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is one of those resorts that just feels like home. The rooms are spacious, the scenery is calm and peaceful, the staff is absolutely delightful. While it may not have all the excitement of other resorts, it does have a plethora of activities for you and your family. Plus, Olivia's is a fantastic restaurant! Oh... and when you leave the parks at night, there aren't as many guests waiting for the Old Key West bus!

Pros:

Spacious, comfortable, feels like home!

Cons:

Sometimes... there is a wait for busses, but it's not a big deal.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by RichRdisneydad Review Date: 04/18/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Great resort for Dvc members. Several pools and lots of activities for the whole family.

Pros:

Olivia’s has great food and a wonderful atmosphere. Gurgling suitcase is a nice place to get a drink near the pool. Big rooms and the buildings are spread out. You really feel like you are at Key west when looking out your windows with all the trees and decor.

Cons:

Not the best option if you need to ride Disney buses. Several internal bus stops can mean a long trip to or from the parks.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by RichRdisneydad Review Date: 04/18/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love OKW! Spacious living area and great pools! Always the first choice to stay when our family and friends are in town.

Pros:

Olivia’s is a must for us! Great mixed drinks at Gurgling suitcase too. Easy to get to Disney springs by boat.

Cons:

Not the best resort if you like to use Disney transportation. Several bus stops and no skyliner.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Smiles00 Review Date: 03/22/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

When my family and I come home, we always stay at Old Key West. This is our DVC Home and love staying here. We get a 3 Bedroom Villa and have LOTS of room for 5 adults and 3 children under the age of 12. We love the relaxed atmosphere.

Pros:

LOTS of room, relaxed atmosphere, great cast members

Cons:

no cons
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/11/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

It's such a great enviorment. My family and I stay here every year and it is definitely a place to visit. The staff are so accommodating and the rooms are breathtaking looks at the golf course.

Pros:

Rooms, Staff, Family-Friendly

Cons:

A little expensive for some people
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/03/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

It is mine and my families favorite resort

Pros:

Not two much Disney but little hidden details

Cons:

Not that close to parks
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by ccooney1307 Review Date: 02/17/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We own points here and just stayed here for the first time in February 2021 in an 2 bedroom villa and oh my it was enormous ! This is definitely an amazing place for larger groups or families to stay ! We had so much space to spread out and relax. The kids loved the giant jetted tub. The full kitchen and the washer and dryer were amazing. The pool and slide were so much fun and the sand play area for the kids is great !

Pros:

Relaxing, great pool, huge condo style accomodations, the friendliest cast members I have ever encountered.

Cons:

Very large, make sure to book near hospitality house. Only has bussing that stops at several stops before heading to the parks so you need to allow alot of time to get anywhere.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Kiba5401 Review Date: 02/09/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Great option IF YOU HAVE A CAR! We stayed in a studio room in January 2021- 2 adults and 1 child. The resort has a nice laided back relaxing vibe but it's too big. Unless you have a car or get lucky and your request to be next to hospitality house is accommodated it will be a bit of a pain getting around without a car. The bus transportation circles the resort before heading to the theme park /Disney springs and that loop takes 20 minutes so plan accordingly.

Pros:

Great relaxing vacation vibe, hammocks near hospitality house, sand and sandcastle making activity at main pool for kids, fun slide at the feature pool, Olivia's has some good food options

Cons:

Bus takes long time to get you where you want to go. Currently the boat to Disney springs is not running- only bus
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/30/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa; for a family of 6 the room was very comfortable. We loved the convenience of having a washer and dryer in the room and the beds were comfortable The Turtle Pond Road area was quiet but not too far away from the main buildings. I wish we would have taken a day off from the parks in the middle of our trip to just enjoy the resort and relax. We ate at Olivia’s for breakfast and had excellent service.
The transportation situation was our only complaint, but it’s a significant problem. Do not stay here and expect to get to the parks early or even right when they open unless you drive yourself. The buses were always late and didn’t start running until the park opened. This really put a crimp in our plans.

Pros:

Big comfortable rooms. Nice pool area and dining options

Cons:

Buses were not reliable and always late in the mornings
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/22/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

PERFECT HONEYMOON RESORT!!

This resort is so underrated in my books and really is the best resort for honeymooners who want a feeling of luxury, privacy, and easy access to Disney Springs for drinks, all while not breaking the bank at resorts like the Grand Floridian.

ROOMS: The rooms are so spacious and well decorated, the designs felt fresh, beachy, and not outdated or tacky like some other resorts. We had a gorgeous view overlooking a lake and a big balcony which we enjoyed eating breakfast on. There were small touches of Disney decor here and there but nothing too in your face.

SPACIOUSNESS: People say the resort is too spaced out but I loved the feeling of privacy and quiet that provided. There were also plenty of pools with snack bars that were so close by. We enjoyed taking morning walks around the resort and it was so peaceful, no screaming kids or crowds.

TRANSPORTATION: Yes, the only way to get to the parks is via bus or car, but this didn't affect us too much. The buses came relatively quickly and we always had a place to sit. Depending on where you are staying it does make some stops around the resort but we really didn't mind that. We loved the easy access to Disney Springs with the boat. This was probably one of our favorite parts of the resort. We would go into the parks during the day then head over to Disney Spring for drinks then have a relaxing boat ride back. Perfect for honeymooners.

FOOD: This is one area where there is a little in the way of variety. It has Olivia's cafe, the Gurgling Suitcase, and some pool snack bars but this resort is best for people who either plan to eat in the parks or at Disney Springs via boat access, or those who plan on making most of their meals with the full kitchen in the room.

Sure this may not be the resort for families or people who want the Disney vibe 24/7, but that is what all the other resorts are for. It was still warm, welcoming, and filled with Disney magic.

Pros:

Access to Disney Springs, spacious rooms, luxury feel

Cons:

accessibility for those with limited mobility
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 7

Other topics in Disney Resorts