Reviews of Old Key West Resort (Disney Vacation Club)

Reviews

62

Rating

8.27 / 10

Recommended By

87%



Reviewed by ccooney1307 Review Date: 02/17/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We own points here and just stayed here for the first time in February 2021 in an 2 bedroom villa and oh my it was enormous ! This is definitely an amazing place for larger groups or families to stay ! We had so much space to spread out and relax. The kids loved the giant jetted tub. The full kitchen and the washer and dryer were amazing. The pool and slide were so much fun and the sand play area for the kids is great !

Pros:

Relaxing, great pool, huge condo style accomodations, the friendliest cast members I have ever encountered.

Cons:

Very large, make sure to book near hospitality house. Only has bussing that stops at several stops before heading to the parks so you need to allow alot of time to get anywhere.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Kiba5401 Review Date: 02/09/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Great option IF YOU HAVE A CAR! We stayed in a studio room in January 2021- 2 adults and 1 child. The resort has a nice laided back relaxing vibe but it's too big. Unless you have a car or get lucky and your request to be next to hospitality house is accommodated it will be a bit of a pain getting around without a car. The bus transportation circles the resort before heading to the theme park /Disney springs and that loop takes 20 minutes so plan accordingly.

Pros:

Great relaxing vacation vibe, hammocks near hospitality house, sand and sandcastle making activity at main pool for kids, fun slide at the feature pool, Olivia's has some good food options

Cons:

Bus takes long time to get you where you want to go. Currently the boat to Disney springs is not running- only bus
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/30/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa; for a family of 6 the room was very comfortable. We loved the convenience of having a washer and dryer in the room and the beds were comfortable The Turtle Pond Road area was quiet but not too far away from the main buildings. I wish we would have taken a day off from the parks in the middle of our trip to just enjoy the resort and relax. We ate at Olivia’s for breakfast and had excellent service.
The transportation situation was our only complaint, but it’s a significant problem. Do not stay here and expect to get to the parks early or even right when they open unless you drive yourself. The buses were always late and didn’t start running until the park opened. This really put a crimp in our plans.

Pros:

Big comfortable rooms. Nice pool area and dining options

Cons:

Buses were not reliable and always late in the mornings
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/22/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

PERFECT HONEYMOON RESORT!!

This resort is so underrated in my books and really is the best resort for honeymooners who want a feeling of luxury, privacy, and easy access to Disney Springs for drinks, all while not breaking the bank at resorts like the Grand Floridian.

ROOMS: The rooms are so spacious and well decorated, the designs felt fresh, beachy, and not outdated or tacky like some other resorts. We had a gorgeous view overlooking a lake and a big balcony which we enjoyed eating breakfast on. There were small touches of Disney decor here and there but nothing too in your face.

SPACIOUSNESS: People say the resort is too spaced out but I loved the feeling of privacy and quiet that provided. There were also plenty of pools with snack bars that were so close by. We enjoyed taking morning walks around the resort and it was so peaceful, no screaming kids or crowds.

TRANSPORTATION: Yes, the only way to get to the parks is via bus or car, but this didn't affect us too much. The buses came relatively quickly and we always had a place to sit. Depending on where you are staying it does make some stops around the resort but we really didn't mind that. We loved the easy access to Disney Springs with the boat. This was probably one of our favorite parts of the resort. We would go into the parks during the day then head over to Disney Spring for drinks then have a relaxing boat ride back. Perfect for honeymooners.

FOOD: This is one area where there is a little in the way of variety. It has Olivia's cafe, the Gurgling Suitcase, and some pool snack bars but this resort is best for people who either plan to eat in the parks or at Disney Springs via boat access, or those who plan on making most of their meals with the full kitchen in the room.

Sure this may not be the resort for families or people who want the Disney vibe 24/7, but that is what all the other resorts are for. It was still warm, welcoming, and filled with Disney magic.

Pros:

Access to Disney Springs, spacious rooms, luxury feel

Cons:

accessibility for those with limited mobility
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anondisney Review Date: 01/12/2021

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

Old Key West is our home resort. It has a sense of charm and nostalgia about it. It features a very cute gift shop/pool area/community center and it feels very relaxed. However, compared to other resorts where you can walk/take the monorail to major parks, it can't compare. Neither can it compare to some of the more adventurous themed resorts like the Polynesian. Not as many food options as we would like and too far spread out to save the legs from more walking once off the bus for the day.

Pros:

Charming, quaint

Cons:

Spread out, lackluster
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/19/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Loved our recent stay at Old Key West. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Olivia's was fantastic! The pools were relaxing for us and fun for our boys. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Pros:

Beautiful grounds, large rooms, Olivia's, boat ride to Disney Springs

Cons:

Only Bus transportation to parks, quick service was limited
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/09/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I love this resort. I am a DVC member and this being the first DVC Resort there was this idea that it's not very good. This is NOT true! If you get a priority room near the main pool, the quick service and pool bar are great. I loved the Cast Members. Olivia's is delicious. Theming is great. ALSO, there aren't 3 floor. Even if you are in a room upstairs, its only one floor.

Pros:

Fun pool, pool bar is great, Olivia's is yummy.

Cons:

Priority rooms can be far from the main pool and lobby.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by EmmyMorgan94 Review Date: 10/29/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

My family have stayed here three times, and we love it! The quiet and laid back atmosphere is so relaxing after a long day in the parks. And the theming of the resort really makes you like you are on vacation.

We usually stay in the two bedroom suite, and it offers an abundance of room. We especially love that we have two bathrooms, both with a sink outside for everyone to have space to get ready in the morning, as well as the convenience of having in room laundry.

The rooms have always been very clean, and the cast members are always friendly and kind.

Under normal circumstances, the boats are running from the resort to Disney Springs, and that is one of our favorite things about this resort. The boat ride is so relaxing, and being able to go to Disney Springs whenever you want is awesome!

This is a large resort, so the travel time from the bus stops to the parks can take awhile, so plan ahead for that. But the bus stops are pretty easy to remember and it's not too difficult to navigate the resort.

Olivia's Cafe is a terrific restaurant, well deserving of it's good reviews. And Good's Food to-go, while not spectacular, was still enjoyable.

Overall, we love Old Key West and can't recommend it enough. The only things that would make this resort better is if it was on the Skyliner route.

Pros:

Quiet Clean Boat rides to Disney Springs Calming after crazy park days

Cons:

Travel time within the resort and to the parks
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by IMADisneyFreak Review Date: 07/21/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We stayed at the resort in June of 2017. We had a group of six and based on the reviews of available Disney resorts that can accommodate a group that size we knew OKW was the best option. And it didn't disappoint! We had a two bedroom villa which offers a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. The size of the resort may be the only draw back so plan on doing a lot of walking, otherwise you could be waiting for a bus the majority of the time. We learned quickly when returning to the resort after a day at the parks to get off the bus at the first stop (Peninsular Road) and take a 5 to 10 minute walk back to our room near the Miller's Rd bus stop which was always the last stop on the bus route before it left the resort. Otherwise we would have spent 20 minutes on the bus within the resort before getting to our room.

Overall the resort is fantastic. Although there is not a food court we thought that the breakfast at Goods Food To Go was just what we needed as we made our way out to the parks. But we did not have a chance to eat at Olivia's so it will be something for us to do on a future trip to Disney. And we enjoyed being able to take a boat ride over to Disney Springs to do some shopping!

Pros:

The size of the rooms and how close the resort is to Disney Springs.

Cons:

The size of the resort and the bus route within the resort.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 07/07/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

This resort is gorgeous and very relaxing, the rooms are also generally bigger for the price

Pros:

Large rooms, gorgeous setting, lots of stuff to do (I was there for Easter so we participated in holiday activities), relaxing

Cons:

Mostly bus transportation
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 7

Other topics in Disney Resorts