Reviews of Sci-Fi Dine-in Theatre Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

156

Rating

7.46 / 10

Recommended By

84%



Other Menus at Sci Fi Dine-In Theater

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Sci Fi Dine-In Theater

Services: Table Service

Reviewed by jd101506 Review Date: 03/02/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Sci-Fi Dine-in is probably one of the most "unique" places we ate during our stay in October of 2019. For those who aren't familiar, you sit in a fake car inside a drive-in theater. Old ads, movie clips, etc are played on a black and white large screen. Your server takes your order and delivers to your "car". Smaller groups will share a car with other guests. The food, as you may expect, is simple burgers, fries, milkshakes, etc. Its VERY "Disney" in the way you experience it. The food itself isn't anything to write home about, as its standard park fare, but there was nothing wrong with it. The milkshakes were worth getting! I will say, the cars are fairly cramped and moving around inside the theater is difficult being somewhat dark, so older folks or handicapped individuals may want to evaluate before making a reservation. HWS is known to have VERY sparse food offerings as it is, so getting a reservation was a trick. Unless you have kids who love the theme, or just really want to get a burger; there are better places to have dinner. That said, its a good cool spot in the middle of the day to have a quick meal.

Pros:

-Fun atmosphere -Good way to feel like a kid again -Milkshake was a must! -Theming fits well in HWS

Cons:

-Food is nothing to write home about -Tight quarters -Reservations were difficult to get
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 02/21/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This is a fun restaurant. Sitting in a car, watching a movie is a lot of fun. The movies could be scary for kids if they are paying attention and you have to be careful walking around if you have to use the bathroom. Definitely gives you the experience of a drive in. This is not the place for family conversations since you can fit 2-3 people in each car seat and their is a movie playing. The food is nothing to write home about but it is generally good food. Burgers, milkshakes, sandwiches, that sort of stuff.

Pros:

fun atmosphere, entertainment when you eat

Cons:

good food--not great
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by PoorNanaPoorFather Review Date: 02/15/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This a fun restaurant with great theming. You get to sit in a car like you’re in a old time drive in and watch Sci-fi movie trailers while you eat. So fun! If you don’t get seated in a car, you might get one of the picnic tables in the back, so ask for a car if you can. The food is pretty good overall, but I suggest sticking with the basics here. I love their cheeseburger. They also have good milkshakes and drinks come in a souvenir glass with a glow cube. Little kids afraid of the dark might have an issue. Also, if you’re a party of two, be aware that pre-Covid, you might have to share a car with another couple.

Pros:

Theming, fun

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MaggieHarpe Review Date: 01/16/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

One of the best themed restaurants! This place is so fun! You really feel like you're in the 50's at a drive in theater. The food is pretty good, though not as good as at some places, but I would definitely eat here again!

Pros:

Fun theming, real sci-fi movie commercials and cartoons from the era, good food

Cons:

Could be creepy for little kids
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by SMDeMauro Review Date: 01/12/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Great burgers, pasta, and shakes! Very fun and unique setting. More quiet than most restaurants and dimly lit, which is a nice break from the general theme park noise and excitement. Take note, though, that the videos on the drive-in screen can be a bit scary for little ones. Lots of film clips from old horror movies with creepy monsters. As adults, we can laugh at how fake they look, but when we first brought our kids here when they were little (ages 3, 6, & 9), they were too frightened by the images to stay and we had to leave. Going back now as adults, they enjoyed it much more.

Pros:

Tasty food, fun theming, a nice break from park noise.

Cons:

Old horror movie monsters on the screen could be frightening for little ones.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by CarlyMarie33 Review Date: 12/24/2020

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

theming is amazing, but i did not like the food. you do however get a lot for your money. the wait was long even though i reserved a table 60 days ahead of time. it still took over 20 minutes for us to get one.

Pros:

atmosphere, price, big portions

Cons:

food quality, busy
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jnet Review Date: 12/07/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Let's be honest you eat here for the theme not the food. The food is okay but nothing inspired, has always been tasty when I have ordered. But you want to eat here so that you can eat in the cars so make sure you prebook or you could end up at a normal table up the back. If you don't prebook the wait for a table is long.

Pros:

Theme and decor.

Cons:

Long waits if you don't prebook.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Corinnas Review Date: 12/07/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This restaurant has always been a favorite of mind. It has the best theming. We enjoyed sitting in a car and watching old clips like you were at a drive in. It is a lot of fun. The times we have been the food was great.

Pros:

Atmosphere is the best Sitting in a car

Cons:

A little dark
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Alannadale Review Date: 12/06/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Loved this dining experience. The atmosphere is so fun and we loved eating in a car. We had a car in the front, I'm not sure it would have been as much fun if we were sitting in the back. Our food was good, I loved the onion rings.

Pros:

Fun atmosphere and good food. Service was good.

Cons:

It is dark, so you can't see your table very well
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MJandJimmy Review Date: 11/14/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Nice enough spot to experience the atmosphere of a drive-in to watch movie trailers. Decent selection, though pricey out of pocket if not on meal plan (which is not available right now).

Pros:

The burgers are actually quite tasty and a decent portion. I had the burger with bleu cheese and got one of the meteor cups (drink in glow in the dark cup with a glow cube).

Cons:

The price. But actually to be expected as you are paying for the atmosphere.
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 16

Other topics in Disney's Hollywood Studios