Reviews of Oga’s Cantina

Reviews

56

Rating

7.27 / 10

Recommended By

80%



Other Menus at Oga's Cantina

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Oga's Cantina

Services: Bar/Lounge

Reviewed by girlsthree Review Date: 06/09/2022

Rating: (7)
Recommended

I was able to get a 10:15 am reservation here last minute. I love Star Wars, huge fan. Oga's is a cool place, expensive, but worth it. I love that you can buy souvenir cups to bring some magic back home with you. Its dark, its loud, crowded. We were at a table to 2 other families, you can't really walk around. There is a time limit as to how long you can stay also. So if you are a huge Star Wars fan, this is a must do. Otherwise, your time and money might be better spent elsewhere. We only ordered drinks, no food.

Pros:

It's Star Wars

Cons:

Couldn't really take in environment due to crowds.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/31/2022

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Packed shoulder to shoulder. Have to yell into an ear to be heard. Not a good experience for an earth bar or a Star Wars one.

Pros:

Only if you absolutely must have a drink, you can.

Cons:

Too crowded, too loud, too expensive.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TeacherManJoe Review Date: 05/22/2022

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Spoiler Alert: Oga’s is GREAT!

There is a potent mix of great theming, great drink offerings, and awesome vibes (not like the “vibe dining” that the One Group offers…Oga’s vibes are actually good).

There are some TRULY unique drink offerings here. My personal favorite is the Fuzzy Tauntaun, which you have probably already heard about. But the sensation of that drink numbing your mouth and yet tasting like a yummy Fuzzy Navel is delightful. The Bespin Fizz is fun as well, as it is bubbly and sparkly and swirly (that might sound like an overly perky description, but believe me it is accurate). They have some really excellent non-alcoholic options as well to round out the drink menu.

Then there is the theming. This place is PACKED with fun theming that is detailed and awesome to explore every time. Everything from DJ Rex, to the drink concoctors behind the bar, to even the coasters (I totally have not stolen one each time I have been here, completing the collection of 4 unique coasters. Definitely not something I have done.) The servers have been awesome each time, and are always happy to offer drink suggestions and playfully riff with any guest willing to do so. Just a really fun experience! This is EXTRA true for huge Star Wars fans like myself, as it really feels like what a Star Wars Cantina should. The theming is even still awesome for non-Star Wars fans. Even though I know “That’s IMPOSSIBLE!” (actual Luke Skywalker quote) for anyone to NOT be a Star Wars fan, this place is still great for anyone.

Three big downsides which are enough to keep this from being a 10/10:

1. Getting a reservation is extremely difficult. My best recommendation if you are not able to get one 60 days out is to #FiddleFaddle(TM) a day or two beforehand, as people do cancel their reservations before the 24 hour window.

2. The space is decently cramped. They will happily accommodate large family groups (we went with 13 on one of our trips), but even if you are only going with two people, there is limited space and it’s possible you will be standing at a little table similar to a kitchen island with a couple of other pairs of people. It is not uncomfortable necessarily, but it is something to consider if you were expecting a nice leisurely experience. This also makes it a bit tougher for families with kiddos. You also are limited to only 45 minutes to enjoy the Cantina before you are gently ushered out. I LOVE that this means more people are able to experience it, but it does cut into the experience a bit.

3. The food offerings are, frankly, poopy. When it comes down to it, there is really only one legitimate food offering, the “charcuterie board”, and it is odd, unsatisfying, and not worth the price it costs. You shouldn’t be coming in here for a meal anyway, but keep this in mind so you can plan to grab a Ronto Wrap or Docking Bay before or after.

Even with these considerable downsides, it should stand as a testament to how unique and delightful this spot is that it still VERY much deserves the 9/10 I gave it.

Pros:

Amazing theming Unique and delightful drink offerings Awesome for Star Wars fans and non-Star Wars fans alike! Servers are fun and really lean into the theme

Cons:

A bit cramped/uncomfortable and brief amount of time to enjoy the Cantina Less than acceptable food options
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by skv123 Review Date: 04/27/2022

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

We had a reservation here in March in the afternoon during Spring Break 2022. By the time we arrived our feet hurt, we were starving and ready for a drink. We had two small children in our party. I had thought we would get a table and maybe a booster seat, but no we were led to a standing spot at the bar. People were literally standing on top of us shoulder-to-shoulder. The kids couldn't even reach the bar to eat so we had to hold them most of the time. We ordered the charcuterie board which was very lackluster and underwhelming. They had a 45-minute time limit so we felt rushed. They don't have any normal drinks like wine or vodka/soda--you have to order expensive sugar-filled sweet concoctions that are pretty weak. There also is NO BATHROOM in this place so when the kids had to go I had to leave the place and walk to a bathroom in the park. Don't waste your money. There are so many better places to eat.

Pros:

Thematic Decor

Cons:

Expensive, no bathroom, can't sit down must stand at bar with small kids, food lackluster
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/21/2022

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Oga's was great in the past - sorry to give it a bad review. Today we checked in and went inside. The host apologized for the crowded interior immediately before even really got in there. It was as crowded as an end of day resort bus. They're overlooking it to the point it's absurd. I asked if there was anywhere with a bit more room. No. There were 8 people crammed at each of the islands plus the bar plus elbow to elbow in the booths. We left, and instead of noting we'd checked in it was left in My Disney Experience like we hadn't checked in, so had to spend more time finding a cast member to fix it so that we don't get a fee. I accept there is some level of risk of covid at Disney now no matter what, but this room was so high risk with people crammed in like cattle and poor ventilation. It'd a shame. I love Oga's and wanted to go again all year. The way they crammed in people really shows how little Disney management cares about guest experience now. This is the first day of the trip that's really been disappointing. Frankly never going back to Oga's and it had been wonderful in the past.

Pros:

DJ Rex, atmosphere

Cons:

Overcrowding, drinks pre-made in bulk
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/03/2022

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Quite expensive, particularly the food which was very little for an insane price. I mean a tiny bit of chips and guac for over $15? Very crowded and hard to see anything.

Pros:

Star Wars theme, food was good

Cons:

Drinks were horrible, hard to see, not the “right” cantina (who cares about Oga’s?)
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 02/06/2022

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

You can only stay in one area. I had the jet juice, it's sucks. For $16 there's no alcohol in it even though it's supposed to. Never going back. Waaaaay over hyped.

Pros:

Star wars

Cons:

It's lame. Staff is unhappy too.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by FleurDeLys Review Date: 12/14/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

If you like Star Wars at all, you should go have a drink in Oga's just to be immersed in the shady cantina for a while. It is expensive, and you probably shouldn't order either of the food options. Don't order the jello shot in a petri dish. I particularly enjoyed the Bespin Fizz - and the nifty machine that injects the dry ice into the base of the glass! We went once with an ADR and were ushered to seats at the bar in front of DJ Rex. As we passed by near closing time on our second HS day, we stopped by to see if we could get a walk-up reservation, and YES! After about 10 minutes, we were ushered in to the same seats we had the previous day. The bartenders were lots of fun, and certainly added to the experience - and some bartenders were better than others at perpetuating the immersion. I thought the 45 minute time limit was appropriate to have a couple of drinks, socialize, and absorb all the details.

Pros:

It's so freaking cool!

Cons:

crowded, and hard to get ADRs. Limited seating.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/11/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Staff are poorly trained and tell you different things depending on who you talk to. Manager won’t commit to actually addressing bad staff. Disney should do better. Worst Disney customer service I have seen in a long time. Do better. Walt would clean house.

Pros:

Based on star wars

Cons:

Staff, management, attitudes, lies, and incompetence
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by rahbekah Review Date: 08/02/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I went here at 7:00 in the morning right after the park opened (in pre-COVID times). We were able to do walk-up (what an absolute miracle!) and each enjoyed a cocktail (yes, at 7:00 in the morning!). We didn't get any food, but we enjoyed our cocktails and loved the atmosphere even more. I wish it were bigger because it's so difficult to get a table now.

Pros:

Great decorations and ambience, delicious cocktails, immersive theming

Cons:

Very difficult to get a reservation, not an extensive menu
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 6

Other topics in Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge -- WDW