Reviews of Brown Derby Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

88

Rating

8.3 / 10

Recommended By

84%



Other Menus at Hollywood Brown Derby

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Hollywood Brown Derby

Services: Table Service

Reviewed by SnazzyValkyrie Review Date: 06/07/2022

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We go here for my birthday. I love the atmosphere and the horseshoe booths really just have a classic feel. The staff is absolutely wonderful, very helpful and extremely nice. The Cobb salad is absolutely shareable and if you are looking for a ‘lighter’ meal this is the dish for you! The tomato and burata appetizer was also a great Choice if you are looking for a a deliciously lite bite, go for this. Anything with scallops here is absolutely recommended. They are so perfect. And they give me the grapefruit cake for my birthday super yummy! I can’t wait to try something new at my next birthday!

Pros:

Atmosphere is great. Food does not disappoint.

Cons:

It is expensive.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TattooedtravelOT Review Date: 05/22/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

A groups of five adults dined here with a last minute reservation and had a wonderful meal. The cocktail flights are so cute, I had the martini flight in mini martini glasses! We loved the grapefruit cake martini and had it for dessert! One of our friends was following the whole30 diet and the staff did a wonderful job accommodating her requests. The famous salad is a stand out item and nice to have some veggies after carb loading snacks all day. My husband and I split the burger which was delicious and the scallop appetizer. Be warned there were on my two scallops, but they were large, cooked perfectly and the dish had amazing flavor. I would still order it again!

Pros:

Quality of food, theming of restaurant, cocktails, knowledge of the cast members

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TeacherManJoe Review Date: 05/21/2022

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Many people argue that Hollywood Studios has the least impressive food options of any of the Disney World parks. While I don’t agree, I know what they mean in the sense that there are not too many stand-out eateries in this park, especially when it comes to Table Service. Hollywood Brown Derby though, proves that this is not entirely true.

The Brown Derby is a restaurant with high quality food in a park that sometimes struggles to provide food of the caliber that some may be looking for. Look here, I am a BIG fan of theme park food and tasty sumptuous, “oh gosh are my arteries clogging already only one bite in”, eats. But I also understand that sometimes you just want a nice sit-down meal with well executed dishes that would impress even outside of a theme park. And Hollywood Brown Derby does that.

The restaurant is known for its Cobb Salad, and let me tell you, it does not disappoint! Even as someone who loves greasy and indulgent dishes (see above), sometimes you just need a good hearty bowl of rabbit food. And this provides that and so much more. It is a LARGE salad with lots of tasty accoutrements and provides a well-made dish that will make you feel good too. There are lots of other tasty entrees on the menu as well, so some nice variety available. Additionally, the drinks and desserts provide some delicious additions to your meal for an all around great dining experience.

The theming here is decent, as it is modeled after the real, non-theme park version. But if you are looking for upper echelon or interesting theming, you’re probably going to one of the other more heavily themed restaurants in HS.

Brown Derby is a really good quality meal and a nice table service experience that we have always enjoyed.

Pros:

Good quality food and menu variety Nice sit-down restaurant that doesn’t require high-class attire

Cons:

Much less themed than some of the other HS restaurants (though that’s not why you come here anyway)
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Lizgistix Review Date: 04/05/2022

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This place feels like old Hollywood. The staff are smartly dressed and their service is fantastic. I tried the 50th anniversary special of steak with veggies over a hash, which I'm told was how Walt liked it. It was very good. The grapefruit cake is a Brown Derby signature and it was unusual, yet very refreshing. It's also huge. Order one and split it. I say it's unusual because you don't often see a grapefruit cake, so it was one of those oddities that I had to try out of curiosity. Glad I did!

Pros:

Service was amazing, food was fantastic, atmosphere was iconic. Grapefruit cake serves 2 - HUGE SLICE!

Cons:

it's expensive
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by nlg0517 Review Date: 03/05/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Always great! We had lunch here in November and it was delicious. Our server was friendly and prompt but she never rushed us. I had the Cobb salad and margarita flight. My son had the burger and husband just had the charcuterie board. Everything was fantastic! It was a nice place to get away from the crowds.

Pros:

Food, service, noise levels

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Bebopulation Review Date: 01/29/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My mom couldn't stop talking about how much she loved our lunch there and made me look for reservations for the rest of the trip. We both got the Cobb salad, which was sooo good - and they'll mix it for you! I got coffee, which comes in its own French press carafe - 3 of us shared it and it was only $9 (I was expecting it to be around $30!). We got the grapefruit cake, which was tasty but not mindblowing. Oh also, warm rolls with salted butter!

Pros:

Elevated atmosphere, delicious food - great options for those who tend to like familiar foods.

Cons:

It can be hard to get a reservation and we were there for a while, so not the best if you are trying to get back into the park quickly.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by NotYeti Review Date: 01/21/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We were able to make a same-day lunch reservation at Brown Derby. It turned out to be the best meal of our entire trip. The Cobb Salad gets all the attention here, but there are incredible dishes across the menu. Give yourself plenty of time to linger and enjoy the food and soak in the classic Hollywood atmosphere.

Pros:

*Delicious food *Great service *Classic Hollywood vibe

Cons:

None
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by BrittS117 Review Date: 11/23/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Brown Derby. We both had the filet mignon and ordered the crispy potato cakes. My husband also ordered the scallops for his appetizer. We enjoyed everything. Our steaks were cooked perfectly, and the bread and butter with brown salt was very yummy. Our server did disappear for 15-20 minutes after we finished our dinner so it was awhile before we were able to pay and leave. While we did have a good time and are glad we were able to snag a reservation here, I'm not sure it's a must do for us for return visits.

Pros:

Good food

Cons:

Service lacked once entrees were served
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/03/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We ate here on October first. We were seated very close to our reservation time. We were seated at a small table in the back of the restaurant. It kind of felt like sitting in the corner out of view from everything but we enjoyed the privacy very much. I enjoyed the anniversary filet with Walt’s hash. It was cooked perfectly and very delicious. My wife ordered the Ora salmon and loved it. We actually requested the recipe from the waitress for the salmon but haven’t received it yet. The bread service is very good, the Himalayan salted butter makes it even better. We ordered a potato cake enhancement. The were good but too small for what you pay. We will skip those in the future.

Pros:

Food

Cons:

It can be a little pricey
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Chelsea Review Date: 09/29/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This restaurant was sooo good. I had the famous Cobb salad, and my husband had the burger for lunch. I could have eaten 2 of those salads if my stomach could have fit them. The Cobb was seriously the best salad I've ever eaten. Our server was amazing, and this lunch was a wonderful break from the hustle and bustle of Hollywood studios.

Pros:

Delicious food!

Cons:

Can be expensive (but worth it!)
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 9

Other topics in Disney's Hollywood Studios