Reviews of Shades of Green

Reviews

31

Rating

7.03 / 10

Recommended By

71%



Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/23/2022

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Loved the swimming area for the kids and grandkids.
We had connecting rooms, stayed 6 days.
Last day I noticed red welts on my arms and legs thinking mosquito bites at first. Got home and did research and discovered they are bed bugs. Called SOG and they checked our room, yes bed bug issue.
Only comped One night as per “policy”. Not happy since I’m covered in bites.
Room also needs to be updated with paint and bathroom lights didn’t work

Pros:

Friendly staff

Cons:

Bed bugs and when I reported it only comped One night
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/23/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I really enjoyed staying here with my family. There is reviews about bad service, which is all but untrue. Just ask and most likely you will get what you ask for like towels, house keeping, pillows, etc. Costs are really nice. The transportation is great because you have quick access to the Magic Kingdom from the walk from the resort to the Polynesian and hop on the Monorail and this includes going to Epcot. The Busses are just fine, just a standard Disney bus. The quality is very high and very nice on the higher end then the All Star Resorts.

Pros:

Costs, Transportation, and Quality

Cons:

Merchandise and Food option directly at the hotel are minimal and need to go somewhere else for that
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/03/2022

Rating: (9)
Recommended

It's one way to book a few trips a year. We've used SOG for over 20 years. I choose to have the extra dollars in my pocket to enjoy the parks. We've never experienced rude staff. Great location and amenities.

Pros:

Price, location and convenient ammenities. It's a nice resort. If you want to pay near a grand per night at a Disney Resort while out of your room all day..."Be Our Guest!"

Cons:

The bus service can be annoying, so we just use those extra dollars for a Lyft ride. The older wing could use some upgrading. Rude guests who complain about everything.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Hodsonfamilyof5 Review Date: 03/17/2022

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

SOG, in my opinion, is the absolute worst resort on property. We all know it's not an official Disney resort and it shows. It has seriously declined since my first stay in 1993. The rooms are more spacious than your average resort studios though. I 100% realize it's a military resort, I do not want to show my ID every time I sneeze or turn a corner. I'm not sure which stinks more: the hallways or the staff. Last time I checked, bell services will not receive grocery delivery. The last straw for me was when we had 5 people in a studio and I called housekeeping to ask for an extra pillow. Instead I got a long lecture about how they only have so many pillows and so many guests. Seriously!?! The next day I bought into DVC and I've never looked back. Just to test it, during our first DVC stay I requested one extra pillow and instead of a lecture I got three bags full of pillows, blankets, and sheets with a smile (that housekeeper got a large tip).

Pros:

The cost is cheaper, but it has risen drastically over the years.

Cons:

The bus service is unreliable. The restaurant hours are unreliable. The staff are rude. The hallways stink. The furniture is beat up (as of 2018). And you have you to show your ID every time you turn a corner.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by BadWolf85 Review Date: 10/25/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We've have stayed at SoG a few times now and each time we go I am happy with the stay. For the cost of the hotel we are able to stay for longer and enjoy more of WDW. My kids always have a blast at the pools and the Exchange is such a plus! We are constantly there getting little things to help with our stay. Like all vacations, things can and usually go wrong but I can say that has never happened to us at SoG! You are close to MK and the TTC. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are big and clean! If you can stay here, definitely do it! As much as I would love to stay at one of WDW big 3 resorts I cannot justify paying almost triple the price for a room you basically sleep in.

Pros:

Close to everything Clean and spacious rooms helpful service amazing pools kid friendly a reassuring feeling of safety

Cons:

Not really a con but we didn't really care for the bus system (during covid) because we have a double stroller and 3 kids. So we prefer to just drive to each park and pay the parking fee.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by grinchnut Review Date: 10/03/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

They sold me tickets to the park Right? They said my application was approved right? Wrong now they say my service connected disability is not high enough and i might have to pay a diffrence at the gate!

Pros:

none

Cons:

Bad sales offer
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 07/24/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Had a great stay, it was like staying in a deluxe disney resort. People very friendly, and food prices were very cheap for disney standards. Beautiful resort, and hop, skip, & a jump from Poly.

Pros:

RESTAURANTS, PRICE, FRIENDLINESS OF FELLOW GUESTS, THE EXCHANGE, NO TAXES, & SPACIOUS ROOMS

Cons:

TRANSPORTATION TO AND FROM THE AIRPORT
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by lavetaloca Review Date: 06/03/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This beautiful, calm resort has the amenities of a deluxe resort with bigger rooms than most places on DW. It has it's own busses and is a short walk from the DW ITT and The Poly with all of its transportation, food and drinks! Shades is a gem.

Pros:

huge rooms, beautiful, parking garage and practically a Monorail resort.

Cons:

fewer hidden Mickeys... I guess that's a con and the only con I can think of.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 06/02/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

10 mins into this stay...pissed!

Pros:

None

Cons:

If you order from the same restaurant, but your children want food off the To-go menu, then your family can\\'t eat together! For over a $100 meal, we should all be able to eat together! This is a stupid rule and should be done away woth!
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/08/2021

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

I would only recommend Shades if green if you are wanting a cheap place to stay on property.

Pros:

Cheap rooms on property

Cons:

Rude and incompetent staff. They are unable to answer basic questions. The property is showing its age. Loud. Nothing is clearly marked.
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Disney Resorts