Reviews of Shades of Green

Reviews

22

Rating

7.41 / 10

Recommended By

77%



Reviewed by James Review Date: 05/02/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We have stayed here over 10 times. Very few complaints. Biggest standard rooms on property.

Pros:

Great location. No matter what people say the bus system they have is outstanding! It only serves SOG. Plenty of dining options. Golf next door, it has a NEX. Discounted tickets and rooms. Based on your rank. Low cost to park on site.

Cons:

Sometimes people get loud but that is just like every other place you go.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/21/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We just got back from SOG...probably the 5th or 6th time we've stayed there over the past decade. We've never had a bad room or a bad experience. During the ever-changing COVID protocols, here's what you can expect..
No housekeeping. You have to call for clean towels and other stuff. The Galley is not open...only the pool bar and Manginos. Masks at all times except if you're on pool furniture, eating or in the water. Exchange and coffee shop are running regular hours. Busses tend to run every 30 minutes and they pack them full. That said, for the price and comfort, it's the best deal going. We've stayed at several resorts and the only plus to that is more transportation options. Additionally, the guests at SOG are generally more polite and better behaved.

Pros:

Price and amenities

Cons:

Temporary COVID protocol
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by NoneOfYourBusiness Review Date: 05/05/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Awesome Hotel

Pros:

Clean, Big, Good Food.

Cons:

No monorail
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Ddandridge Review Date: 03/18/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Very Large rooms. Relaxing De micky stress at end of day.

Pros:

Large rooms. Tickets Discounts

Cons:

size, hard to get rooms at busy times.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Pathfinder Review Date: 10/17/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

It makes us feel as if we are staying at a deluxe resort for a moderate price. Great benefit for active duty, veterans, and their families.

Pros:

We love how close Shades is located to MK and TTC. The staff is great and responsive to any needs. The rooms are very spacious and updated.

Cons:

The Shades buses leave something to be desired, but the Polynesian is within walking distance to use Disney World buses or monorail.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Shehdan Review Date: 10/05/2018

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Hard to get reservations. We have stayed here many times and never had to make a reservation six months out but I was told you now have to do just that, I called in September and was told February was filling fast.

Pros:

Great rooms and pools

Cons:

Almost impossible to get a reservation
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Nodak Mouse Lover Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We've stayed at Shades of Green many times and have always had an amazing vacation! Everyone from staff to other guests have been super friendly.
We are usually out having fun all day and don't eat lunch or dinner at the resort, but quite often have had breakfast at the Garden Gallery and loved it. The omelet station is great and they will cook eggs to order, not just omelets. The Express Cafe by the bus stop is really good and reasonably priced.
Rooms are huge and comfy. Our last room had been renovated and had everything we need.
Buses were efficient and on time. A lot of people complain about the buses but we work with the schedule and have no problems or complaints.
Another comment I hear is "the lack of Disney feel". I'm here to tell you, I appreciate the calm after a full day immersed in Disney atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, I love the atmosphere when at the parks but it is so peaceful at the end of the day.

Pros:

Room size, ticket office, breakfast, atmosphere

Cons:

Airport transportation
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by rnlandwehr Review Date: 12/15/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We stayed 29 Nov - 4 Dec 2015. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was in the Palm Wing and was one of the recently renovated rooms. It was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious, with two sinks. The resort itself was beautifully appointed with Christmas decorations. It never felt crowded, though the front desk said they were fully occupied. We were able to eat at Manginos with no reservation. There was never a long line at the Java Cafe. We used the Exchange for miscellaneous purchases. The Mill Pond pool was perfect for our 7 year old daughter. They also have a nice playground area for burning off steam. After staying at other Disney Deluxe resorts, I loved this resort for the good value, low crowds, beautiful surroundings. The only drawback for us was that the SOG busses don't start until 30 minutes before the park opens. We like to be at the park at least 45 minutes before park opening. We walked on the 1/2 mile path to the Polynesian every morning and used Disney transporation to the parks. We used SOG transportation for the rides home at night and that worked well.

Pros:

Beautiful, spacious, great value, wonderful pool for kids

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by shilohg76 Review Date: 03/21/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Between cost, space and atmosphere, it is hard to beat Shades of Green. We've been coming to this resort since it first was leased by the military, back when it was just changed from The Disney Inn and continue to do so a number of times a year. Our most recent trip was in February. Normally there are several of us who travel together, but this time it was a girls' only trip with my mother and myself. We were just up for a long weekend and had a blast. First off, the rooms are large for the price paid. For a similar price at a moderate Disney resort, the room would barely be big enough for 3 adults. With 2 queens and a sleeper sofa, you can't complain about cramped quarters.

We normally do the dining plan at SoG, but since it was just a quick trip, we didn't have the option. We still did the breakfast buffet and it was wonderful. I have several food allergies and am also diabetic but I had no issues finding PLENTY to eat. I have found that it can be hit or miss with buffets when you're allergic to onions/garlic, but the availability of create your own omelets and different meat and cheese and fruit options helped tremendously.

The only issue we had was mostly of my own making. We'd plan to go to one park or Downtown Disney but didn't actually consult the handy times guide given to us at check in and thus, either just missed a bus or were halfway between them. Luckily, we really didn't have any ADRs to worry about, so we enjoyed the weather (I considered it chilly, but I've lived in Florida for over 10 years and my blood has thinned to such a point that anything under 70 degrees is chilly).

All in all, if you have the chance to stay here, I highly recommend it. While there is the flavor of military present (bus and restaurant times are military), there is also an overwhelming feeling of Disney, making this property feel warm and inviting. Price, atmosphere and service combine to make this a wonderful destination for families.

Pros:

Location, service

Cons:

Transportation
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by pcoleman Review Date: 09/05/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Another wonderful stay at SOG. Honored all my room requests for location. Took advantage of the 40%. Even w/o discount resort is a great value. Having stayed both on and off site I have to admit i really do like the laid back atmosphere here. It is nice to leave the parks and have a break from all that is Disney. Took friends with us and they could not get over how big the rooms were and how easy and comfortable the resort feels. Love the new buses. Bus drivers were awesome. Only down side we had was not being allowed to obtain fast-passes at 60 mark with rest of resorts. This is a Disney issue not SOG. Can't wait to get back.

Pros:

cost, size of rooms, location

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Disney Resorts