Reviews of All Star Sports Resort (Value Resort)

Reviews

41

Rating

7.02 / 10

Recommended By

78%



All Star Sports - A Disney Value Resort

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_as.htm

Comprehensive Blog with Photos: http://land.allears.net/blogs/jackspence/2011/04/all_star_resorts_part_1.html

Reviewed by TeriG Review Date: 01/10/2020

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Although we usually stay at the Port Orleans Riverside resort, our son was on leave from the military and we took a quick trip to WDW at the end of New Years. We were in the basketball section of the All Star Sports resort. At check-in, the cast members were super nice but they lacked the "Welcome Home" that we were use to at Port Orleans. And even though check in was really crowded, it was very fast and simple. I had requested and was lucky enough to have gotten connecting rooms so that our family of five could spread out and have the use of two bathrooms. We were a short walk to the food court, however, there was absolutely no variety in the food choices: pizza, burgers and chicken for lunch and dinner and pretty much waffles, eggs, bacon and sausage for breakfast. It would have been nice to have a microwave and coffee maker in the room so we would not have to trek all the way to the food court everytime we needed one. We visited other resorts and the nicer the resort, the more variety you have. I didn't mind the stay but if I had it to do over again, I would choose to stay at Port Orleans-Riverside.

Pros:

Price was affordable.

Cons:

There is not a microwave or coffee maker in the room. The food court lacks variety. Needs to be updated.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by colemamma Review Date: 12/23/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We stayed late September 2019 in a standard room and were pleasantly surprised. The resort is easy to navigate, has a food court with a nice selection and reliable bus service. We did share the bus with the other all stars resorts once during our 5 day stay, but Sports was the first stop for dropoff. Rooms were okay, worn but clean. The price was about $30 cheaper per night than our usual POP Century stay. It was worth it for a quick trip. Staff were mediocre, not the friendly staff that I'm used to, but nothing rude either. All in all we would stay here again, especially so once the upcoming room renovations occur. We were in the tennis themed rooms and it was a quick walk to buses and food court.

Pros:

Buses, small resort, price of rooms

Cons:

Lacking the Disney magic from staff, worn rooms
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/30/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Would not stay here again! We booked a preferred room for 4 nights and actually had to check out a day early and change hotels. The beds were terrible and by the 2nd night our backs were hurting so bad. We opted out of the maid service and they said we would receive a gift card but the maid came in the room the next day and we never received the gift card. I also stopped by the front desk on the first night and told them that we didn't have a car so we wouldn't get charged. The cast member asked if we came by boat (in a rude way) and I told her that my daughter's boyfriend had dropped us off. However, we got charged for parking each night and had to go back to the front desk to have the charges removed.

Pros:

Small bus stop and good bus service. Small property and within walking distance to All Star Music and All Star Movies.

Cons:

The beds and the service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MKFan Review Date: 11/11/2018

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

We were here in October for 4 nights and had requested a room close to the center walkway of the resort to try and keep it simple for an elderly member of our party. We also did on-line check-in. They put us in a room as far to the back as possible and facing the weeds and cars. Elderly person was so confused trying to find this room after going to the food court. They told us that not only are the surf buildings preferred locations (which we didn't want due to the noise), but also the football buildings are now preferred. I was in the football building during another stay and was kept awake all night from delivery trucks, so I wouldn't prefer that building either. They also said the computer assigns the rooms and doesn't read your preference so I will never do on-line check-in again. Aside from the miserable location for the room, the mattress was so soft we woke up with horrible back aches each morning and the pillows were so flat, it took 3 to feel like we even had a pillow. The bus stop is nice in that the stops are marked off for everyone to line-up for the bus they want.

Concierge tried to help us with adding a day to our magic your way tickets (we checked in on the day the tickets changed). We were there a few more days than we had tickets for and wanted to skip 1 day. They told us it would cost $56 or $58 to add a day to our 5 and 6 day passes and then if we wanted to be able to skip the 1 day, we would have to buy a flex pass and that would cost a total of $111 each (yikes!). We decided to wait and see if we really needed the extra day and then I stopped back the next night at concierge and they called guest relations and we were told that we needed to go to guest relations before we used the tickets and that they could make the adjustment for us the old way. We ended up stopping at guest relations the next day and although it took 1.5 - 2 hours, they were able to help us add another day at the old prices.

The food court and store are just as nice as the other resorts. The buses worked our great for us and Sports is first with the bus stops when sharing with the other value resorts which came in very handy.

I always liked this resort, and they are always nice to work with at concierge. It was just too difficult with the room location and having an elderly person.

Oh, I was beyond shocked when I saw the prices in the food court at a Value resort. I think a cheeseburger was $19! I had a turkey and gravy dinner with a veggie for $13 or $14.

Pros:

Small resort with lines properly marked for the buses and first stop for the value resorts. They had an alarm clock in the room! (The moderate resort didn't.)

Cons:

Very uncomfortable mattresses and pillows. There are rooms in the back that make you feel like you're not even in the resort and rooms up front that are too loud if you want to rest when the pool is open.
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by mikenjess07 Review Date: 10/13/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We stayed at All Star Sports the last week of August and we loved it! The rooms were nice, nothing too fancy but it is a value resort! The food at the food court was amazing and not at all what we expected. We didn’t wait long for buses and one night it rained and they had games and activities in the main building to keep the kids occupied. If we had one negative things to say, it would be the location of one of the smoking areas it was right outside the exit/entrance of one of the doors to the food court. We would definitely stay there again, my oldest son (8) is a big sports fan and loved the sports decor, my other son (7) loved the pool.

Pros:

Food court, sports decor, pool

Cons:

Location of one of the smoking areas
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Good value for your money. It's not fancy, but the beds are comfortable, the food court is decent, and you're on Disney property

Pros:

The whole resort is compact and not too spread out, the food in the food court is really good for a quick service, especially at dinner

Cons:

Not a lot of amenities, bus loading area is really small and unshaded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by vincent Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

good value, all basic amenities

Pros:

price, value, theming

Cons:

concierge used to be better
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Amelia Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We love all star sports. It’s our go to resort when we are staying at Disney world.

Pros:

Big area for kids to run around, good bus service

Cons:

Rooms are small, but we don’t spend a lot of time in the room
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Disney nut Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

nice resort

Pros:

cheap to stay at and nice accomodations

Cons:

love the movies and music theming more
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Jason V Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is not the best Disney hotel, but it is for the price that's why I give it 10/10. If you want to stay on property and stay for a budget this is the place to go.

This is essentially the same as all the All Star hotels, just themed sports.

You get the same service you get with any Disney hotel, I actually have gotten some of the best service here.

The is the best of all the All Star because if you take the bus and they got to multiple stops this is the first hotel, so you will get on or off the bus first.

It is often busy and when there are big sport events all the teams often stay here.

Very large pool, the quick service food is good, the store is good.

Pros:

For buses it's first stop for all the All-Star, best prices with same Disney service for an Disney owned hotel

Cons:

Often busy, teams will stay here
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 5

Other topics in Disney Resorts