Reviews of California Grill

Reviews

97

Rating

7.85 / 10

Recommended By

80%



Other Menus at California Grill

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

California Grill

Services: Table Service

Reviewed by Reed2015 Review Date: 06/07/2022

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Worst meal and dining experience I have ever had at Disney World and I have been to Tony's and Nine Dragons... I prefer a Value Resort QS over it.

Pros:

The meal is over

Cons:

Food, Service, experience, and price
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Reed2015 Review Date: 04/30/2022

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Awful experience. Food was nothing. Service was horrible. They didn't enforce the dress code. Which I don't care but we were told it was mandatory and had to buy a last min over priced shirt for my husband after we realized we forgot to pack his. We show up and there are people in flip flops, shorts and tank tops.

Pros:

A few seats have park view

Cons:

Everything possible other than the view.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/19/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

we have dined here 2X since menu change -still really enjoy and is our fav at the parks. the dumplings are great and my wife makes at home - filet is very good.

Pros:

food view drinks

Cons:

a little expensive
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/19/2022

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

They comped my husband's meal it was so bad. The steak was mostly fat, cooked very uneven and practically inedible. My salmon was very dry but we did not have the energy to complain about both. Waiter did not come over after the food was served to see how we were doing, only showing up once we were ready to get out of there. The only reason we booked this was so our daughter could see the castle and we were seated in a back room, away from the main dining room, with a view of construction on the hotel. It felt very much like we were being punished for having a child with us even though she was quieter and better dressed than most other adults in that place. We have eaten at many of the fine dining restaurants in Disney and this was our worst experience, especially for the price.

Pros:

My daughter enjoyed the dessert sushi

Cons:

Food was very overpriced for the quality, poor cook on everything, waiter was nonexistent
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by FleurDeLys Review Date: 12/13/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We dined here on Halloween with the 50th Anniversary prix fixe menu. We have been fortunate to have dined at California Grill 3 times previously, and it's a favorite special occasion dining experience. I always forget how noisy it is, though. It's not so noisy that you can't hear a dinner conversation, but it's still louder than it should be for a signature dining location. We were seated in a separate dining room at the far end of the main room (and it was still noisy). We had a lovely private table for two in a corner by the window and we watched the boats moving on the lagoon. We could also see the other fireworks shows from our table. Very romantic. We were seated right before the fireworks, and our waiter made sure that we got a good view on the balcony. I really do enjoy watching the fireworks up there with an unobstructed view - it seems as though we are transported to an island in the sky with no other people around. Of course, you can't really see the castle projections as well, and you are off-center from the castle, but we enjoyed seeing this different perspective. After we settled in back at our table, the server cordially presented our wine and chatted about the menu. The servers there are absolutely professional and make me feel like we are their only table - never rushed, always appearing just when you need them, with perfect timing for the courses. The food was excellent in both taste and appearance. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and it was definitely worth the time and cost.

Pros:

Professional servers, excellent food, great wine list, fireworks viewing, worthy of special occasion celebrations

Cons:

It's noisy
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by EricSINY Review Date: 10/03/2021

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

Ate at California Grill for first time this evening after coming to Disney for almost 14 years. The view from the balcony was amazing and seeing the new fireworks show this way was a special experience. Sorry to say that the food was not a very special experience. Not to say it was bad in any way but for the price and compared to the ambience and decor it was disappointing. They were out of the rib eye (!) and the filet that was served was way under done. I love meat on more the rare side and ordered it medium rare and it was rare to the point where I almost sent it back. I actually loved my meal at Toledo earlier in week so much more. I also felt that for a place that seems to pride itself on a “dress code” there were a lot of people who weren’t even close to what I expected.

Pros:

View of Magic Kingdom fireworks. Decor. Cheese Platter.

Cons:

Cost.
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Piccaso7 Review Date: 07/13/2021

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

Nothing special here. The food is okay, but certainly not great. It’s uninspired and average. California food is usually much
fresher with more robust flavors. California Grill falls short. I will not be returning. Service is good and the view is amazing.

Pros:

Beautiful view. Good service

Cons:

Bland uninspired food.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by StarTours1401 Review Date: 06/24/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My husband and I kicked off our honeymoon with dinner at the California Grill in June 2021, and it was the perfect start to a magical trip! The view of Magic Kingdom was breathtaking and the service was outstanding. Our server recommended the beef wonton appetizer, and it was probably one of the best things I’ve eaten in my life! Our entrees were also delicious, and our cocktails did not disappoint. If you’re looking for delicious food in an upscale (yet somehow laid back) environment, this is it! The only downside is the cost - It was quite expensive. I suppose all magic comes at a price!

Pros:

- Delicious, high-quality food - Outstanding service - Amazing views of Magic Kingdom - If you’re using Disney transportation, it’s not too difficult to get to (get to MK, then walk or monorail over)

Cons:

- Can be hard to snag a dining reservation - High price tag - During our trip, fireworks shows had not yet returned
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by BridgetW Review Date: 05/19/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Fine dining at Disney! We loved our dinner here. We celebrated our son's 14th birthday here and were not disappointed. Excellent food, service and wine list. The views cannot be beat. We will come here again!

Pros:

views, on the monorail, wine list

Cons:

monorail service ended before our dinner so we had to take a taxi back to our hotel
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/09/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

This is always a staple when we go to Florida. Views are great and service is always wonderful. Very friendly staff. Sushi is always good and the food has never disappointed us. The one thing I order every time is the goat cheese ravioli. I've been ordering it for at least 10n years. I was there in February and I was so sad that they changed the recipe. I did not like it and it was just a let down. If it was such a successful dish, why mess with it.

Pros:

Fantastic views, great food and friendly service

Cons:

Change recipe
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 10

Other topics in Contemporary