Reviews of California Grill

Reviews

83

Rating

8.07 / 10

Recommended By

86%



View Menus at California Grill Dining Location

Children's Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American, Seafood, Asian
Full Service

Explore the California Grill Dining Location: http://allears.net/dining/location/california-grill

Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/california-grill/dinner

Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/california-grill/child-dinner

Reviewed by Ella Review Date: 04/19/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

One of the best meals I've ever eaten!
The atmosphere, as well as the food, was absolutely incredible!

Pros:

fireworks, food, beautiful view, great service...

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JessAndTaran Review Date: 04/14/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We had one of our honeymoon meals here, what an experience. We absolutely adore this place. Everything from the service to the food to the view of the fireworks made this a 10/10 experience

Pros:

Location Food Service Choice of wine Views Beverage lists

Cons:

NONE
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Joskiemom Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We had dinner at California Grill to celebrate my son's 21st birthday, there were 3 of us. Our server was Nancy whom we will request every time we return. She made great menu recommendations and I have to say her wine recommendations were stellar. We started by sharing three appetizers - the maki roll was skillfully prepared and melted in my mouth (yes, even the nori); the cured meat selection in the charcuterie provided a nice array of flavor and texture balances; we ordered a hand-formed pizza with hot hot peppers we all enjoyed, but the maki was so good I had to look at the menu just now to recall our third appetizer. My grilled pork tenderloin paired elegantly with the 2017 Clark and Telephone Pinot Noir, as did the bison and the beef my companions ordered. All three cuts of meat were tender and prepared skillfully, the seasoning of all three dishes elevated the meat. For dessert we enjoyed a port wine with the cheese platters, and shared a glass of 2013 Royal Tokaji among us. The cheeses were paired with individual accompaniments; the pairings, amplified by the port, were heavenly and we were laughing about how full we were and how conflicted we were about being so full. Oh, and did I mention the fireworks? Because the experience of watching the fireworks over MK was impeccable.

Pros:

We had an awesome server, which makes the experience that much better. Great wine cellar - we had the best wines we'd had on property at California Grill. We were on the Deluxe Dining Plan, so anxiety about the price of the meal was not an issue. We bought a bottle for the table out of pocket.

Cons:

We had no complaints or disappointments about California Grill.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by aileens2284 Review Date: 12/31/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

6 of us dressed up and went "fancy" for one meal during our 9 day trip. I give it a 10 star rating, it was so amazing. First you check in downstairs and they come get you and you go up in a private elevator right to the restaurant. When we arrived, our table was waiting for us, they brought us right over. The first thing you notice is the amazing view! We arrived at 6pm, our meal lasted 2 hours, then afterward we watched the fireworkd/Happily Ever After show at Magic Kingdom from the observation deck. It was breathtaking. We used the dining plan, prices would be over our budget otherwise. Our server was amazing, and it felt like he was just there for us. After taking our drink orders, ( my mom ordered coffee, they grind it tableside and serve it with real sugar cubes), they bring out sourdough bread served with warm herbed oil, this was so good we had to force ourselves to say no when our server asked if we wanted more ( we knew we had a lot of food to eat!) We all ordered the Cowboy Cut 19oz ribeye steak. We have different tastes in how well the meat is done, but they all came out perfect. You could cut the steak with a fork. It was so juicy and seasoned just right. It was served with honey saffron-glazed carrots and aged Gouda macaroni and cheese. Wow, the mac n cheese was so good! There was so much food, only one of our group was able to finish the whole steak. For dessert we ordered Warm Valrhona Chocolate cake, and i had the carrot cheesecake. Was very good and even though we were so full, we at least tried it! We were not rushed at all during our meal, and we also didn't feel like we were waiting for food either. It was just the perfect experience. We finished up just at the fireworks and Happliy Ever after was starting. We watched from the Observation Deck and it was so amazing. My mom is afraid of heights, so she stood inside and watched through the floor to ceiling windows, all of a sudden our server walked up behind her with a chair for her to sit in! If we use the dining plan we will definitely visit again. This was an amazing experience.

Pros:

Food, view, service, everything

Cons:

was hard to get an ADR, i started exactly 180 days out, and i signed up for 2 different ADR help sites. We actually got our ADR one day before we ate there using the Touring Plans app.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mawdryn Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We were a party of 7. We had a wonderful dinner here on Tuesday, June 5th. We were seated right away, and the service and meal were top notch. After dinner, we enjoyed the Happily Ever After fireworks from the balcony.

Pros:

The food and ability to watch the fireworks.

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mawdryn Review Date: 04/11/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I have now had dinner here twice and brunch here once, with 2 more reservations coming up in June and October. This place is the best for a first class meal and top shelf wine and cocktails. Firework viewing after dinner is also a huge plus!!!

Pros:

Decor and Food

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Fitzboyzmom Review Date: 08/28/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was our first time dining here and we cannot wait to return. We were so lucky to be seated at the window, although it looked like you would have a great view no matter where you sat.

I am still dreaming about the steak I had and everyone else loved their food. Watching the fireworks while enjoying your dessert was such an awesome and unique experience with the music being piped in.

It was very pricey, but well worth the splurge for the very unique and memorable experience. Would love to do it again someday.

Pros:

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Prenjkt Review Date: 07/04/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Had dinner there June 29 for the first time after going to WDW for so many years. Totally worth it. Fabulous atmosphere and great service. Food was delicious and presentation very nice. The fireworks from the observation deck was very good. A real treat. Going back in July!!!

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

Nothing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by obxgoer Review Date: 05/09/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was my first time at CG. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at ease. Our waiter was attentive and had recommendations that were spot on. My salad bar tomato meringue which may sound weird but was delicious. This was hands down one of the best salads I have ever had. I could eat this every day for the rest of my life and be happy. The beef filet and risotto likewise tasty. My daughter had sushi and goat cheese ravioli and was very pleased. It was busy but no one was disruptive.

Pros:

Beautiful setting, delicious food

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mharder Review Date: 03/06/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My wife and I ate at California Grill on February 27, 2017. We are repeat diners there, and this was probably our fifth or sixth visit. We were taking friends there for their first time.

As with all of our prior visits, we very much enjoyed it. We had a great table next to the window, where we could watch the sunset and the fireworks.

Our waiter gave us just the right amount of attention. Attentive but with discretion. He was very helpful when it came to selecting a wine and his recommendation was spot on.

My wife and I each had the filet and it was cooked perfectly. Our dinner companions also told us their meals (pork tenderloin and yellow fin tuna) were excellent.

Definitely going back!

Pros:

Food, wine, service, view

Cons:

Nothing
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 9

Other topics in Contemporary