Reviews of Port Orleans French Quarter (Moderate Resort)

Reviews

138

Rating

8.99 / 10

Recommended By

98%



A Disney Moderate Resort

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_po.htm

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/06/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

POR is our favorite place to stay....Molly did a great job describing the amenities. The first time we came to Disneyworld (25 years ago) we stayed at French Quarter which is also fun.

Pros:

Laid back atmosphere with good food. A very central location, easily accessible to theme parks and shopping.

Cons:

None. POR is hard to get for December vacations.....we have to get reservations in February, and of course, pay rack room rates. You can tell Molly is doing a great job "selling" POR & FQ.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MariaS1964 Review Date: 06/19/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

In my opinion, this is the best moderate resort to stay at. It is small, has only one bus stop, is close to Disney Springs and has beautiful grounds.

Pros:

Small resort, one bus stop, can take the boat to Disney Springs, gorgeous property.

Cons:

None
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by mulanmom Review Date: 04/25/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This was our family HOME resort for more than 10 yrs for all the reasons listed in the article and more including the food court itself, seeing the same cast members every year especially Arneil, the names of the streets, the fountains, the cobblestones, the boats, the gift shop. Unfortunately, unless things have changed, POFQ either did not participate in many of the Disney discounts and even if they did, the percentage off was always the lowest offer. We were told that this was due to the fact that the resort is small, always full, and so did not need to offer discounts. When the food court was in the process of refurbishment about 3 or 4 years ago, the temporary replacement area was poorly designed adding to our growing disappointment. That same year we were further disappointed by the removal of alarm clocks in the rooms and being placed in a handicapped room which did not suit our family needs at all. Our fault for not requesting a different room. The food court was so festive and pleasant. I have seen pictures of the refurb and again I am disappointed to see that most of the Mardi Gras props are gone. Again we were told that the masks were "too scary" for some children. Another disappointment was that we were unaware for 2 or 3 years that the room rates had become based on a tiered system. We had always requested a particular building and a standard room. A reservation agent finally told us that the buildings we always loved were no longer considered standard. Two years ago we decided to try a value resort to take advantage of special offers. I knew I would be unhappy but I was very pleasantly surprised. The service level is different, the resort is much larger and the room is smaller but we have made out just fine. I hope to stay at POFQ again but not in the near future for all the reasons stated.

Pros:

Theming, cast members, architecture, food court, small size, pool, one bus stop

Cons:

Does not participate fully in all discounts, becoming more generic like so much at WDW
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by GrandMum Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is my absolute favorite resort and that was confirmed after my trip earlier this month. I got to meet Shelly the delightful bartender after seeing many of her posts on Facebook. Then I saw Tim who actually remembered me from my trip last year. All the CMs are extremely friendly and they all smile and greet you all the time.

Pros:

Love the small size and the boat to Disney Springs.

Cons:

Only con is that it's difficult to get a reservation.
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Friendlier service than the deluxe resorts

Pros:

Value and location

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Dreamer Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We have stayed at POR multiple times, but our recent trip was our first stay at POFQ. We loved it!! We may not go back to POR now. The resort is small and walkable. Everything was so convenient. My son loved the food court and the Mickey beignets. The rooms had been recently renovated which was wonderful. No carpet--I love this. A fabulous stay.

Pros:

Small size Good food court

Cons:

No table service restaurant
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Maryann Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I’ve been traveling to Disney regularly (1-4 times a year) for the past 11 years. We’ve always stayed at a deluxe or DVC property, buying into DVC 6 years ago. I’m an AP holder and wanted to get a quick trip in at the last minute a few years back. I decided to use my passholder discount and book POFQ for a weekend trip. I absolutely loved it and found it to be every bit as wonderful as the deluxe resorts. The compact size of the resort, the recreation and dining options and its location ( boat ride to DS ) makes it a great place to stay, even if your not visiting the theme parks.

Pros:

It’s size; everything in walking distance, the food; many choices (including the proximity to POR), the atmosphere ( Mardi Gras).

Cons:

My only complaint ( not even an issue really) is the outside entrance to your room. I do prefer a balcony (for relaxing on) but it’s not a dealbreaker considering all the other pluses of the resort.
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Gigi459 Review Date: 04/22/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

HOTEL ROOMS: Clean and well kept, not much Disney theming, but get that in the parks .Rooms recently refurbished. Beds very comfortable, on the soft side. Pillow top mattress. Toiletries (shampoo, cream rinse and shower gel) now mounted in large bottles on the wall of the shower. Small Body lotion and facial soap near sink area.Two sinks outside of tub area. Curtain between sleeping area and bathroom. You can get ready while others still sleeping. Small fridge provided, but not very cold. No freezer. Coffee maker provided. No alarm clock. Can call for wake-up if needed. Beds are now open underneath them, great for storing luggage.

GROUNDS: Beautiful and well maintained. Smaller resort (one of the best features).
Short walking distance to pool, transportation and restaurant. Great pool and playground for small children. New Orleans theming. Bar near pool area. Hot tub steps away from pool in a more secluded spot.

TRANSPORTATION: Bus service greatly improved from our last visit a few years ago. We did not share a bus with Riverside. Never waited more than 10 min for a bus. Downtown Disney only a 15 min boat ride, very enjoyable. Prefer over a bus anytime.
We did occassionally use Lyft on the way home from parks, when we were tired and didn't want to wait for a crowded bus. Approx. $10-12 depending on the park.

FOOD: Quick service restaurant on site, food with New Orleans theming, Some on the spicy side. But can find plenty of things without spice. Pretty much on par with all hotel quick services. Only sit-down restaurant is at Riverside, a beautiful 12 min walk along the river to Riverside. We used the Garden Grocer to have water and snacks delivered right to our resort. Works like a charm, you get notified of delivery and then just have to have bell services deliver it to your room. You do have to be present in room to receive your order.

STAFF: Very friendly and helpful.

I have stayed in many Disney Hotels over the years. Deluxes are my favorites. But not always affordable. This is a perfect compromise. Great hotel at a lower cost.
Would highly reccommend!
Show less
Date of stay: October 2018
Room tip: Buildings 2 & 5 closest to pool

Pros:

Smaller resort, boat ride to Disney Springs, beautiful walk to Riverside. Best hotel if not doing a deluxe

Cons:

I didn't experience this when we stayed last October, but during really crowded times might have to share buses with Riverside. Not a deluxe resort.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Teresab715 Review Date: 04/20/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My favorite resort! We have stay at many different hotels and resorts both on Disney property and off-site, but we always end up comparing it to here.

Pros:

Small size, homey feel, nice pool.

Cons:

No table service restaurant, food court is good, but not great.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by darcelmargliotti Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love,love love it here!! We stayed here last Spring and it was not only quiet but quaint.i love the size of the resort and smaller food court. Food was great and always could find a seat. Pool was smaller size but not crowded at all. Most of all loved the boat ride to Disney Springs. I think we will definitely stay here again.

Pros:

Small size Small bus crowds. Intimate Great family activity

Cons:

None really
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 14

Other topics in Disney Resorts