Reviews of Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge (Disney Vacation Club)

Reviews

31

Rating

8.84 / 10

Recommended By

94%



Reviewed by kardon95 Review Date: 04/06/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Gorgeous and wonderfully themed and immersive resort. The addition of Geyser Point, walkway and seating by the lakefront and the update to the "bubble pool" (villa pool) have made this resort our clear favorite.

Pros:

From the spring starting IN the lobby to the geyser by the pool to the pine trees and log cabin accents you may think you are actually at a lodge in the west. Great food options from Roaring Fork (quick service) to Whispering Canyon (Fabulous BBQ) to Geyser Point (waterfront lounge and bites). Beautiful pools and lovely rooms. Even rooms at the far end of the resorts are still only a short walk from the amenities and the lobby. Water taxi to MK and the MK resorts and Fort Wilderness too.

Cons:

Would love to have a convertible chair or pull down bed in the 1 bedroom.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/28/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My family of 24 split up between 5 rooms here in June 2020. We had a very good time and loved the theme. Getting food from the quick service was a hike and often took a while. We rather eat at Geyser Point which was near the pool and had good food, view, comfortable seating, and good service. All 5 of our party rooms were near each other (which we asked for). Some room views were beautiful and one of our rooms we were actually able to walk out our balcony door right to the pool. Some of the rooms were just tall green plants and you couldn’t see much. It also was a short walk to the bus! The Murphy bed was great! However will only work for children or small adults. I slept on the Murphy bed and I am 4’ 11” and had enough room length wise. Width wise was a little tight. And I also did hit my head a couple of times on the wood frame. We also kept the Murphy bed out the entire trip and did not feel like it was tight, we had enough space

Pros:

Close to bus, great theme, Geyser Point, it has a Murphy bed

Cons:

Some bad views from room, hike to quick service, took a while for quick service food to be ready, Murphy bed was tight and will only work for children or small adults.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by ASDeLong Review Date: 12/19/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We were at Boulder Ridge from 11/12/2020 - 11/19/2020 and were very happy with our stay. Other reviews indicating the dated and worn nature of the rooms was clear as soon as we opened the door as we could see the worn out sofa from the hall. Other than that, the room was clean and the kitchen was reasonably supplied. We all wondered why the door of the refrigerator was hung the way it was. You had to step out of the kitchen to open the refrigerator door because it swung into the kitchen instead of out. Beds were super comfy. We loved the atmosphere of the lobby areas and our view was perfect. Only had to wait an extended period of time for a bus one day. Because of reduced availability of dining, it was difficult to get food at the resort.

Pros:

Atmosphere, decor, comfortable beds

Cons:

Worn furnishings, limited food availability
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by mkymouse4ever Review Date: 10/22/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Was our 1 st stay here but stay WL when they first opened. The room is very similar to BWV 1 br. Just woodsy. We prefer this set up. With the open bath etc. room was very clean and neat nice view of lake and pool BR is very near buses which was nice. Pools where very nice. A few housekeeping issues. I know it’s covid but we had to call for towels 3 days. 1 day no tp and housekeeper told us she only doing garbage nothing else. So that was another call
Due to covid changes I asked at front desk if there was a paper or handout about transportation or what is available now or not. They didn’t have anything. We took 2 days to figure out there was a bus to MK. Dining during covid is big issue luckily we had the kitchen

Pros:

Pools Theme Woods

Cons:

Parking lot is a hike Some housekeeping staff Restaurant situation Covid rules no bed change for 12 nites
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/12/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

just retured from 5 nights at Boulder Ridge Villas. Our 4th floor dedicated 2 BR villa had views of the lake and pool. Enjoyed sitting out on the balony in the morning looking at birds, and at night watching the Water Pageant. Walks to the pools, main lodge and restaurants were shorter than i'd expected. staff very kind and helpful. the layout of the villa is a ery thoughtful one if you're there with two families.

Pros:

location, decor, amenities

Cons:

my only complaint is that i think the living room furniture could include more seating and more comfortable seating.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Suzy Review Date: 10/02/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

In 2010 we rented a Studio and loved it!! Loved the theming of the resort and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and loved the common area to sit for some quiet time. On one rainy day, we ordered food and sat with the extended family to eat together. Fun! Very convenient to have the kitchenette in the room. We ordered water, breakfast items and snacks to have on hand. The pools were clean and a refreshing. Loved having the option of taking the bus or the boat for transportation. Heading back shortly and can’t wait to see the renovations that were completed.

Pros:

Theming, beautiful resort, boat or bus transportation, friendly staff

Cons:

Only complaint is that for a Deluxe, not on the Monorail
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by sandra loveless Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I lllooovvvve this resort! The staff can't be beat. It is close to the Magic Kingdom and you can use a boat as your transportation to Magic Kingdom. Since this granny takes grandchildren to celebrate 5th birthdays at Disney World, we use the boat alot and the kids think this is awesome!

Pros:

convenient to Magic Kingdom, the design - reminds me of national park resort, fireplace

Cons:

loud
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

absolutly beautiful resort with an amazing Staff. Disney turned a bad experience into an awesome vacation. Bell boy turned our ice chest onto the cart by accident. Disney repaced all our food that was ruined plus some. than on day 4 had an accident . broke foot fell in showe. staff bent over backwards to made the remainder of our trip magical. gave us fast pases so we would not have to wait in the heat with a broken foot. I cant say enough about the place. Whispering canyon cafe was amazing. we will come back here in future. i rate it a 10

Pros:

good food friendly staff and amazing duty general managers as a hold. beautiful resort

Cons:

only issue if i have to pick one would be buses due to handicap scooters had to wait over an hour on some days
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

beautiful quiet room..enjoyed staying here a lot!!

Pros:

easy walk to buses and had a nice quiet room

Cons:

wish had 2 beds
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MomRN59 Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Love the lobby, love the quick service, amazing restaurants, convenient to Magic Kingdom to take ferry, great pools for kids.

Pros:

Great location, great quick service, great restaurants, beautiful decor, great pools

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Disney Resorts