Reviews of Skipper Canteen

Reviews

103

Rating

7.84 / 10

Recommended By

83%



Other Menus at Jungle Navigation Co., Ltd. Skipper Canteen

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Reviewed by RealLifeRapunzel Review Date: 06/06/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Ahhh! This is the absolute best for people who are gluten free and otherwise. The best restaurant in Magic Kingdom by far and usually pretty easy to get into. Mostly everything on their menu is allergy friendly and delicious! Great atmosphere as well- soooo many Jungle Cruise easter eggs and the service is so great- just like any Disney service but with a skipper humor twist. You will not be disappointed with this MK spot- it's also a great place to cool down while lines are long! Since Sunshine Tree Terrace is right next door, at the end of our meal we love to mobile order dole whips and once we get outside they are ready to go!

Pros:

Everything!

Cons:

Nothing!
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Nolan9311 Review Date: 05/24/2022

Rating: (8)
Recommended

A fun experience in the middle of adventureland, it was a great restaurant to escape the heat of the park while enjoying some food that was a little adventurous. Truly enjoyed interacting with our skipper waiter and would recommend this to any family who is looking for a table service meal in the Magic Kingdom.

Pros:

The atmosphere was top notch and so much fun. It definitely is a full dining experience with the decor and music. Not to mention the skippers, you get the jungle cruise jokes without being on the ride.

Cons:

While everyone in our party enjoyed what they ordered, I do feel the menu was a little to limited. Another couple of entree options could make this place a 10/10.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TeacherManJoe Review Date: 05/15/2022

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

We visited Skipper Canteen on a recent trip and we’re excited to try it, as we had heard primarily good things.

While the theming is excellent and it was fun to basically have our own personal Jungle Cruise skipper as our waiter, we found the food to be a bit underwhelming. We LOVED the complimentary cheesy bread to start the meal. However, I got the “Tastes Like Chicken” based on several recommendations, and did not find it to be anything overly noteworthy. Tasted fine, not bad, but not as good as I was hoping.

We thought that Skipper Canteen made a case for being the best Table Service restaurant in Magic Kingdom, but also feel that that is not saying too much, as we think the pro-tip in MK is to focus on the delicious snacks and Quick Service, which as a bonus leaves more time for the massive amount of rides.

Pros:

Awesome Theming Jungle Cruise comedy brought to a meal CHEESY bread

Cons:

Entrees underwhelming Can take some time from park attractions, so perhaps better to choose better quality food at quick service
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/06/2022

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Warning this is coming from a mildly picky eater. I spent more time looking at the menu than I did eating the food. There are a ton of options which looks good but i found myself thinking "no because it has ..." this is not the place for you if you're picky but if you love to try new things this is perfect for you.

Pros:

Beautiful dinning room (ask for the butterfly booth)

Cons:

Too adventurous
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by skv123 Review Date: 04/27/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was the surprise hit of a wonderful vacation! We came here for Spring Break March 2022. We were lucky to get to eat here twice during our trip. The food is excellent. Highlights were the shrimp appetizer, the Perkins Thai Noodles, Taste Like Chicken(fabulous fried chicken) and the carrot-ginger soup. The kids loved the fried rice.

Pros:

Food is amazing, decor is lovely

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Dmannwb07 Review Date: 04/13/2022

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Food was great and tasty, service ruined our big honeymoon dinner reservation.

Pros:

Food was tasty and big portioned.

Cons:

The server was short with us and we barely felt like we existed untill we got our check.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Lizgistix Review Date: 04/05/2022

Rating: (7)
Recommended

I wanted to love this place. I love Jungle Cruise, I love the jokes, I love the theme and decor. I just wasn't blown away by the food. The soup changes daily and I wasn't sure what it was. The char siu pork was swimming in sauce which got onto everything else. The Kungaloosh dessert that people raved about was SO SMALL. literally two small bites. the price of it wasn't small. the only good thing about that dessert was the in-house carmel cashew ice cream on it. I didn't think the food lived up to the hype. Maybe I'll go back and try something else....

Pros:

The theme and atmosphere, service, the jokes

Cons:

A little overhyped regarding the food, can be loud inside
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by HeidiHo Review Date: 03/21/2022

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Loved the theming and our server was Amazing! We got the cheese bread and Shrimp fried rice for appetizers-both I would highly recommend (I know the shrimp is for the 50th but I hope they keep it)
My friend got the pad thai for dinner and said it was a great portion with lovely flavors (he got chicken instead of tofu) I got the curry which was not good. The pineapple tofu and the rice were fine, but the curry itself was so salty I couldn't eat it. The server took it away and when I insisted I was fine not getting a replacement he assured me my friend would still be eating when I got fresh and within five minutes I did have a freshly prepared dish. The dish tasted completely different and was edible but just felt like sautéed veggies over rice with a bland tomato sauce. I loved our apps but would not order this dish again. Sangria was nice, his beer was good and we had a lovely time. We didn't order dessert.

Pros:

Great theming

Cons:

Curry dish was not good and I love a good curry
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TammyRalff Review Date: 03/04/2022

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

While the food was only ok, our server was good and funny, but what really made this for us was the host who sat us. While we were waiting to be called in, a senior gentleman was working the host stand. He was telling the funniest skipper/dad jokes, but he was so genuinely thrilled to be telling them, and even more thrilled people were laughing at them. He was adorable and made our day, in the way only Disney cast members can.

Pros:

Skipper jokes

Cons:

the food
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by 2ndStarAthena Review Date: 02/25/2022

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Excellent theming- felt immersed in the spirit of Adventureland/Jungle cruise right away. Charming waiter who made us laugh. Appetizer was amazing. Cachapas - I’d totally get these as a meal next time.
The entrees were a bit meh. The waiter said the Grilled Steak was his favorite dish on property, so
it was a must try. He also recommended the Senegal Sal’s short ribs. The steak was good but basic. Compared to the appetizer it just was a bit boring. The flavor of the short ribs was great but the meat- which was described as fork tender- was barely able to be cut by a knife.
I would absolutely give this one more try with all this in mind!

Pros:

Theming Fun waitstaff Delicious appetizer

Cons:

Meh meat
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 11

Other topics in Magic Kingdom