Reviews of Tortuga Tavern (was El Pirata Y el Perico)

Reviews

10

Rating

5.6 / 10

Recommended By

70%



Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Tortuga Tavern

Services: Quick Service

Reviewed by BrianW Review Date: 03/07/2021

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

They messed this place up. Was overflow from Pecos Bill’s with almost same menu, now it’s Turkey leg, brisket, hot dog, or hot dog with brisket on it. They could do a lot with this location and they should. There are other places close by that are much better. Don’t be distracted by the novelty of seeing it open trust me.

Pros:

Good if you like junk food

Cons:

There’s nothing green on the menu, and basically only three things on the menu period and they aren’t good
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Thomas4 Review Date: 01/07/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Pepper jack pretzel is great!

Pros:

the pepper jack pretzel (snack credit) is awesome!!

Cons:

very limited menu
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jason V Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Very limited selection and good isn't very good.

Pros:

Large space and usually not busy

Cons:

Limited selection and mostly outdoors if it's hot, not a good place to cool down
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Meyer4 Review Date: 04/25/2017

Rating: (5)
Recommended

The only selections available were Turkey leg and Hot Dogs. We stopped for the world famous turkey legs. They had two registers open. Each side had lines. When we paid we had to wait in our line. The lines on either side were fast. Once they emptied I tried to move over. They said I had to stay in my line to get our food. This did not make sense, the food is already prepared and all they have to do is put it on a tray. Needless to say my line was very slow. Had to wait for 3 people to get served meanwhile the lines on either side continued to be empty.

Pros:

Shaded open area

Cons:

Serving lines
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by clayalex02 Review Date: 10/20/2016

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

No, No and No! I so wanted to like this place but it was a huge disappointment. I had the pork loin which was a fatty as it could be. Sister had the noodle bowl which had some weird pieces of so called chicken in it, it looked like chicken feet. When called to the attention of the server the manager came over and her meal was free. The desserts were not even finishable. It needs an overhaul before too many people try it and run the other way!

Pros:

none

Cons:

food
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by evilqueenT Review Date: 06/12/2015

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I had the southwest chicken salad (seems like the same one from pecos bills which i really like). Granddaughter had a chicken burrito which she liked. We were there the last week of March 2015 and they'd just done away with the toppings bar and don't have the taco salad on the menu anymore. We like going. Is it the best Mexican ever...no...it's a theme park quick serve but good for what it is. Portions are huge.

Pros:

An alternative from all the burgers and nuggets

Cons:

seating, can be pretty hot in warmer months
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Rosebud Review Date: 10/15/2014

Rating: (6)
Recommended

This place was insane and you almost want to give up.

Pros:

Food was decent

Cons:

What a zoo!
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by ars0525 Review Date: 12/17/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Went on Sunday (12-15) at 1pm. No lines & plenty of open seating. I got the chicken burrito. I was expecting something like Chipolte...this was much more basic. A giant tortilla with rice, beans & chicken open face with a sour cream package. At the topping station--lettuce, tomatoes, salsa, cheese, peppers (?)--that you could add. I added quite a bit & it was plenty of food to tide me over the rest of the day.

It's only open seasonal & only for a few hours per day. I was glad to finally try it. Nice to have a different food choice & since you can add as much as you want of the extras it's more food. I would go back again to try something else.

Pros:

different offerings, nice seating area, large portions

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by jberrong Review Date: 07/16/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I have come to WDW at least once to three times year for over 25 years and I have never had the chance to eat here. I wish it was open all year long! The food was good and there was plenty of seating. I think most everyone got the taco salad. The “fixins'” were in a separate area, but they were perfect for our salad. I did have to ask for ranch, that they didn't have, but did give me Caesar. Good enough, it was very good. My daughter ate the quesadillas and ate every bit of it.

Pros:

food, seating

Cons:

it is only open seasonally
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MarysMom Review Date: 06/13/2013

Rating: (2)
Recommended

There should not be this much confusion about plopping (bad) meat in a salad shell or beans and rice on a tortilla. Inexplicable.

The "toppings" bar consisted of four items -- if you count salsa (no jalepenos or anything fancy like that!) The same four items are repeated across the "bar" so it looks like more items. We were not the only ones complaining or stupefied by the "toppings" selection.

Also the CM who was standing at the toppings station did not care that they were totally out of forks.

Pros:

Cons:

Odd meat on salad, staff confused, "toppings" sparse
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Magic Kingdom