Reviews of Coronado Springs Resort (Moderate Resort)

Reviews

99

Rating

7.76 / 10

Recommended By

83%



Reviewed by tetimko5 Review Date: 02/16/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

I've only stayed in the Gran Destino Tower and it was fabulous, ESPECIALLY for how much (or how little) we paid. You can stay here for about half the price of a Deluxe resort, and it is very similar in accommodations. The Tower is beautifully themed but is not overly Disney. A couple of things that we didn't love about it was that it definitely had a convention vibe to it, as there was a convention going on here when we visited. Also, we didn't realize that the rooms didn't have balconies, so not the best if you are looking for some fresh air. The crowd was definitely not made up of families visiting the theme parks and it was mostly adults, so this might not be the best option if you have little kids. However, the pool here is awesome and there are a lot of activities. If you have kids, you may want to stay in other rooms instead of the tower. The bus system here isn't the best and you may find yourself waiting a while in order to get to the parks. There are a lot of dining options here though, and some of them are really great. I LOVED the Barcelona Lounge. It is a great place to grab a Spanish coffee in the morning before heading to the parks. This is also a great resort to explore because it is so big. We honestly enjoyed just walking around the different trails and the bridges that go over the lake. We even saw turtles in the lake! Overall, the Tower is a great place if you are on an adults only trip and don't care for overly Disney themed resorts. Also if you are looking for a deluxe-style resort, but don't want to pay for deluxe pricing, this is a great option.

Pros:

Deluxe style theming with moderate pricing, good food options, AWESOME pool and outdoor activities.

Cons:

The bus system can be slow, if you aren't staying in the tower you may end up walking a lot, Convention vibe (in the Tower) may not be great for families with small children
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/05/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

stayed here in january 2019 and it was great! We stayed in Casitas 5 which was the perfect spot for us. The first busstop of the resort was a 2 minute walk from our room and the main building was shorter than a 10 minute walk.
El Mercado was great. We didn't eat in the rest of the restaurants because we ate at the parks.

Pros:

el mercado large rooms busloop not that many children

Cons:

can't name one
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Clousehouse Review Date: 12/18/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We loved this resort! This is our second time staying here in the last month. We have stayed at value and deluxe resorts in the past. The Coronado Resort was better than one of the deluxe resorts! It feels high end! Not overly themed and quite. Pool, hot tub and dining were all excellent!

Pros:

Quite, not overly themed, beds are comfy, centerly located, large TV, rooms updated, easy to get to main buildings with bridges

Cons:

Only bus transportation
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by BuzzedLightBeer Review Date: 12/15/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is a highly underrated resort. Deluxe pricing, amenities and theming for a moderate price. The restaurants offer cultural cuisine, but also familiar favorites for less adventurous eaters. The theming is beautiful and I highly recommend taking a walk around the property at sunset. Some people might not like how spread out it is, but I think it's a bonus. Some people complain that it's a convention center hotel and I don't get that. Seeing people in suits with laniards does't really bother me, plus you'll probably be out at the parks when most of these people are out and about. My only complaint is that it has limited transportation. I wish they had found a way to get the gondolas at the Coronado.

Pros:

Deluxe quality for moderate price.

Cons:

Only offers buses for transportation.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jnet Review Date: 12/07/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I really liked the pool area and the hot tub was a good size and temperature. I stayed on the second story facing out from the centre of the resort and my rooms was very quiet. It did not take long to walk to the pool or the lobby/restaurants.

Pros:

The pool area. Rooms were nice.

Cons:

Multiple bus stops make the trip to the park and home again feel longer. The food options at the resort didn't thrill me with dietary restrictions.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Pookie99 Review Date: 12/06/2020

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

This hotel needs to be split into two, the tower should be a separate hotel. If you are not in the tower, expect lots of walking. The food is also marginal at best outside of the tower. Focus is only on the tower.

Pros:

Non tower rooms are large, quiet and very comfortable. This is the only reason I gave this report a 6.

Cons:

Rooms are far from service, food and transportation. Grounds people do not respect people walking on sidewalk so be careful.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MainersDoDisney Review Date: 11/18/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Three words: Gran Destino Tower. The addition of the tower is a game changer for this resort! We stayed in the tower for a 5-day trip in November 2019 and absolutely loved it! We always stay moderate as we don't have kids. We've concluded we will always stay here on future trips. Not only did we love the luxurious feel of the tower and our peaceful water view, we also loved that there are tons of dining options here so we never got tired of anything. We stuck to the food court at first because that's what we were used to, but by our second day we started branching out to all of the others and ended up dining at each one throughout our stay! The only negative for us at Coronado was the bus transportation; having 4 stops and the Tower being the last, the buses were often full and would bypass the tower stop. We used Lyft our last few days simply for convenience and to save time - the pick up & drop off point is the tower. Gran Destino Tower at Coronado Springs undoubtedly gives you more of a Deluxe feel than a traditional moderate. You won't be disappointed!

Pros:

Grand Destino Tower, lots of dining options, close to 3 of the 4 parks.

Cons:

Bus transportation to parks can be hit or miss
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MJandJimmy Review Date: 11/14/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

First time at this hotel. Beautiful. We stayed in building 5, which was bus stop 2, so was great for getting to park and being (usually) the first stop coming back. The grounds are well taken care of, and the room was unbelievable. That rain shower head!

Pros:

Beautiful space. Ride to parks on bus was not that bad.

Cons:

Bed was a bit too firm. The air system was placed in an odd spot for the room. The vent was directed at the window/front wall.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by KristineH128 Review Date: 11/12/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Love this resort! Both the Casitas and the Tower

Pros:

Beautiful, moderate but feels deluxe, Tower is new and PERFECT.

Cons:

Unless you’re preferred or in the Tower the walk after the parks to your room hurts.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/23/2020

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

We stayed in a preferred room and it sadly was not worth it. The room itself was very large and nice we were way to far away from food and transportation. We also were on the top floor and had to use an elevator from a different building to get to the room because there was only 1 elevator that would reach that floor. It was quiet and clean but a hassle if you actually wanted to do anything.

Pros:

The food at the bar Rix. Large and very clean rooms. Extremely quiet.

Cons:

Bad food. This needs to be 2 hotels. If you are not staying in the tower, do not stay there unless you really like walking. The focus is on the tower and nothing else. Transportation is very far away in some parts so be careful. Tower staff not very helpful or friendly but the rest of the staff was great.
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 10

Other topics in Disney Resorts