Reviews of Port Orleans Riverside Resort (Moderate Resort)

Reviews

168

Rating

8.47 / 10

Recommended By

92%



A Disney Moderate Resort

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_dxl.htm

Detailed Photo Blog:
http://land.allears.net/blogs/jackspence/2010/05/port_orleans_riverside_1.html

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/02/2020

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Too woodsy for me. Our cabin was so far away from the bus stop we never used it. My grandson was supposed to have a trundle bed. All it looked like was a dog bed

Pros:

None that i could see

Cons:

Not convenient. We enjoyed the All Star Sports more and it was much cheaper
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by NC-Dad Review Date: 09/15/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We just returned from a 4-Day visit to WDW and stayed at Port Orleans Riverside. (9/08/19 - 9/11/19) This was our third stay with POR. Since this trip was for our daughter's 16th birthday, we booked a Royal Room. We had stayed in a Royal Room the last time we stayed at POR as well.

The resort had not changed much since 2013, which is what we liked. Our room was in Parterre Place, Room 9809. We checked in early in the morning, and our room was already ready for us, which was a nice surprise. The room was as expected, clean and well-maintained. Everything was as we expected it. The mousekeeping was good and efficient, although the times they came to service the room was erractic. One day they came before 8am, and another the came well after 3pm. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay at Riverside. We used the boat service to and from Disney Springs several times. The bus service was much improved since 2013, and we never waited more than about 15 minutes for a bus. The addition of video displays showing when the next bus to each park was expected is terrific.

This resort is highly recommended, and we would definitely stay there again.

Pros:

Quiet, Royal Rooms, Excellent Front-Desk staff

Cons:

Long wait at the parks for buses returning to the resort
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by tdischer Review Date: 08/11/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Our second stay at Riverside. First time was 3 years ago. We love, love this resort, the main building, Boatwrights, River Roost Lounge, food court, gift shop, grounds, pools, and even the bus transportation. We loved the rooms in Alligator Bayou 3 years ago. We did not love the refurbished rooms nearly as much. They have lost the bayou character they had in the past. What there is now looks like a hodgepodge of both bayou and some Princess and the Frog thrown in and the colors are not good together. I know it's a cosmetic thing, but it really bothered me and I miss the wooden bedframes, the greens and yellows and cute curtains in both the room and the bathroom. The colors do not go together and a lot of the theming is lost, in my opinion. We also didn't like the tile floors as they are really slippery. I missed the cute wooden plank look to the carpet. We will stay here again for sure, but will be looking at the mansion side.

Pros:

grounds, main buildings, music played in the food court and on the bus, had a quiet pool right outside our door, the resort in general.

Cons:

theming of the bayou rooms looks thrown together, has lost it's charm for me. (is a personal preference I know)
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 06/26/2019

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Just came back from a family trip of 16, staying at Riverside. Upon check-in it was obvious that our reservations were not correct, although we had used a travel agent who was diligent in confirming. My part of the family were on the opposite side of the resort, not with the rest of our group. This really caused problems when using the bus transportation, due to the different bus stops around the resort. We had paid for the building closest to the main buidling, but somehow that was "lost" from our reservation. The host tried to get us moved, but the resort was sold out with no availability. Also, the housekeeping left much to be desired. Our room was often not appropriately cleaned with trash left in the bin. And a lid that was not disposable was left on the sink shelf disappeared during housekeeping, so I can only assume it was discarded by the staff. I spoke to the hotel manager, and didn't even get an apology.

Pros:

Nothing.

Cons:

Larger groups traveling together won't be on the same bus.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by DebQ Review Date: 06/12/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We have stayed many times over the years at POR. Love the landscape, amenities and activities. Really like the curtain separating the bathroom area from the bedroom area - so as not to disturb others who are trying to sleep. Love the fact that they have multiple pools - as the main pool is usually crowded. This is a large resort that requires a good deal of walking - so keep that in mind when booking. This is our "go to" moderate resort.

Pros:

room size, amenities, service, variety in the food court

Cons:

walking distance to main lobby area
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by plipari Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

My family of four very much enjoyed POR. The size of the resort, environment and amenities were perfect for us.

Pros:

Alligator Bayou room slept 5 with pull down Lush landscaping made us feel like we were truly at a resort Good food court and delicious dinner at Boatwrights

Cons:

Long-ish walk to main buildings Boat ride to Disney Springs was overrated. The wait for the boat and boat ride itself took longer than expected. We took a bus back to resort.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by KimH134 Review Date: 04/21/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Beautiful moderate resort.

Pros:

Beautiful grounds. Nice accommodations.

Cons:

Long walk to main building from some locations.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love Port Orleans. We have stayed there since it opened as Dixie Landings stayed both riverside and the other side which I forget what it was called. Always a great place to stay, nice large food court, 4 bus stops beautiful rooms too.

Pros:

Plenty of bus stops, nice landscaping, large food court, plenty of pools

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We have stayed at the Port Orleans Riverside over 15 times. We started staying there when the resort was called “Dixie Landings.” We have stayed at other Disney resorts but we have returned to this resort over and over. Amenities are fantastic. You can feel secure but yet in the middle of it all without being overwhelmed by the crowds. You are not that far from the pool or Boatwrights or any other part of the resort. Our favorite thing is to take the pontoon ride down to “Disney Springs.” Believe it or not, this is the highlight of our trip in many cases. When you round the bend especially in the evening as you are pulling into Disney Springs you receive a rush of excitement and anticipation. Plus it is so relaxing. Stay here for sure the next time you visit Disney

Pros:

Amenities, location, safety, convenience, clean

Cons:

Actually non we can think of
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by KBG Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love this resort so. Ugh that we do just a resort stay here! Very serene,good pools, good choices in food court,on site resteraunt was fabulous,room was beautiful and so comfortable,easy transportation to Disney Springs!

Pros:

Food,transportation- wonderful CM's!

Cons:

Gee can't think of any!
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 17

Other topics in Disney Resorts