Reviews of Port Orleans Riverside Resort (Moderate Resort)

Reviews

192

Rating

8.49 / 10

Recommended By

91%



Reviewed by Mousega2k Review Date: 09/18/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

My favorite resort. I prefer the more rustic bayou for theming and lovely quiet walkways and can be close to main building and buses. Love the access to boats to Disney Springs, quiet pools are nice too. Cafeteria has a good selection of meals. Nice to sit along the river while waiting for you family. Short walk, bike ride, to the sister hotel for a beignet.

Pros:

Atmosphere, pools, boats to Disney Springs,cafeteria.

Cons:

Buses often crowded at end of night.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/13/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We have stayed at port orleans riverside several times and love it every time. This resort is perfect for anyone that doesn’t want a lot of Disney characters around, but also offers the princess rooms for those that do.

Pros:

Relaxing, the best cinnamon rolls, beautiful theming, relaxing

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by ImWhyTheRumIsGone Review Date: 09/07/2021

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

Port Orleans Riverside is my favorite moderate Disney resort. The atmosphere is so relaxing, the pools are great, and having the boat to Disney Springs is a nice touch...oh and beignets live next door. (I won't stay at French Quarter because #1 I prefer the ambiance of POR, #2 their pool scares me.) Big downside is that there's only bus service and we experienced some long delays. I'd love to stay at this resort again, but I simply can't justify it considering I can rent DVC points and stay deluxe for around the same price (& be able to walk to 2 parks!). It had caused me tremendous stress when we booked here and I found out there was no elevator in many sections...especially since they can't guarantee first floor, etc. We ended up on the 2nd floor with a jogging stroller. It just added a lot of unnecessary stress in the morning and then after a long park day to schlep our kiddo and all our stuff up and down the stairs. (Magnolia buildings are the only ones with elevators, FYI)

Pros:

calm atmosphere (a nice change from the craziness of the parks!), great pools, boat to Disney Springs

Cons:

buses are only park transportation option & they have a LOT of stops, price isn't too far off from renting DVC points for deluxe resort, no elevators in many buildings
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by David10774 Review Date: 08/10/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

One our favorite resorts on property, rooms are great with the themes and decor. Food court has a lot of great options and always was good. Cast members were fun and always willing to help. Boat ride to Disney springs is relaxing and enjoyable.

Pros:

Food court, room theming, carriage ride, bike rentals

Cons:

Very large resort, buses make multiple stops
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/22/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My family and my parents went there in July 2019 for 5 nights. We stayed in the Acadian houses. We absolutely LOVED staying there! The rooms were really nice- we had a connecting room with my parents. My husband and I liked that it had a curtain separating the sinks/bathroom from the beds- especially when we were getting ready for the day before waking the kids up. We had about a 5 min walk to the bus stop each day- but manageable. And about 10 mins to their quick service/lobby. We loved the quick service- yummy
Food! The main pool was a lot of fun- we went there the first day but we loved the quiet pools next to our building. It was very nice to go there after going to the parks.

Can’t wait to stay there again in the future!!

Pros:

Rooms are beautiful Yummy quick service restaurant Fun pool and quiet pools Beautiful resort- you forget that you are in Disney- but has the Disney charm

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by HeartBreakKris Review Date: 03/01/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I had an absolutely great stay at Port Orleans Riverside! Stayed in one of the Royal rooms which was a lot of fun. The food options were very good & I enjoyed the shopping as well. The resort grounds are beautiful & provided a great atmosphere for evening walks

Pros:

Beautiful grounds, good food options

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by PoorNanaPoorFather Review Date: 02/10/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This is one of my favorite moderate hotels. There is great theming, and the walking areas are beautiful with great landscaping with trees, bridges, water ways, etc. The quick service and table service food is good. I have stayed here many times and loved it, but on my last visit the concierge accidentally removed my California Grill reservation and then replaced (and then replaced it with the Wave without telling me) when I asked her for help making a dining reservation. Thankfully I had a screen shot, called Dining and they put it back on. The boat ride to Disney Springs is fun, and gives you more dining options close by.

Pros:

Beautiful resort. The rooms are nice. They have Princess Rooms that are very cute. So peaceful and quiet. There are many pools to choose from. This is really close to Disney Springs.

Cons:

There are lots of bus stops.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Dumboboy Review Date: 02/10/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Stayed at POR in 2018. The resort is beautiful and the convenience of taking the boat ride to Disney Springs was a plus. The food service was much better than previous stay at Pop, and the quality was good as well. The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

Pros:

Beautiful landscape, easy access to Disney Springs, clean property

Cons:

Some buildings were pretty far from the food service area so it was a walk. The bus depots were very busy and disorganized.
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Kiba5401 Review Date: 02/09/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Our favorite moderate resort. Stayed here prior to covid-19 in a Royal Room. Although I do not recommend paying more for a Royal room- it is a fun one night/one trip option. The room is small for the price and although the details like the magic lamp faucet, fireworks headboard, and princes details are nice I would opt to stay in a regular room next time. That said the plantation building and especially a corner room with views of the river and boats passing by was fantastic. We Loved the magnolia smell around property and the feature pool and slide are our favorite on disney property.

Pros:

Great feature pool, beautiful terrain to walk, rent a Surrey bike or horse carriage ride around, good food options at quick service location at the mill, nice dock area with boats to Disney springs, fantastic feature pool next to bar and kids playground, easy walk to French Quarter for mickey bengeits

Cons:

Pricey when you compare to off-site hotels near disney for same price and size of the room,
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by sassystopsign Review Date: 12/16/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This resort is my family's favorite by far. We LOVE the theming and ambiance everywhere throughout. After staying here four times we couldn't imagine choosing another resort on property if this one is open. The rooms are always amazing and the fact that there are multiple bus stops makes every part of the resort easily accessible. It's absolutely gorgeous and the boat to Disney Springs is a great bonus.

Pros:

Beautiful, quiet atmosphere Clean and comfortable rooms Great food Easy access to bus stops

Cons:

A bit of a walk to the lobby/dining from some rooms Only transportation to parks is by bus
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 20

Other topics in Disney Resorts