Reviews of Shades of Green

Reviews

22

Rating

7.41 / 10

Recommended By

77%



Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/08/2021

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

I would only recommend Shades if green if you are wanting a cheap place to stay on property.

Pros:

Cheap rooms on property

Cons:

Rude and incompetent staff. They are unable to answer basic questions. The property is showing its age. Loud. Nothing is clearly marked.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by James Review Date: 05/02/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We have stayed here over 10 times. Very few complaints. Biggest standard rooms on property.

Pros:

Great location. No matter what people say the bus system they have is outstanding! It only serves SOG. Plenty of dining options. Golf next door, it has a NEX. Discounted tickets and rooms. Based on your rank. Low cost to park on site.

Cons:

Sometimes people get loud but that is just like every other place you go.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/21/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We just got back from SOG...probably the 5th or 6th time we've stayed there over the past decade. We've never had a bad room or a bad experience. During the ever-changing COVID protocols, here's what you can expect..
No housekeeping. You have to call for clean towels and other stuff. The Galley is not open...only the pool bar and Manginos. Masks at all times except if you're on pool furniture, eating or in the water. Exchange and coffee shop are running regular hours. Busses tend to run every 30 minutes and they pack them full. That said, for the price and comfort, it's the best deal going. We've stayed at several resorts and the only plus to that is more transportation options. Additionally, the guests at SOG are generally more polite and better behaved.

Pros:

Price and amenities

Cons:

Temporary COVID protocol
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/18/2020

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

We have stayed there 3 * total on trips to Disney. When you ask a question about the theme park or transportation to it and back in times, they could not give answers the hallway smell like barf out beer. My daughter only had a couple grapes and a piece of fruit and they charged her full price of 14 something for breakfast I believe what's the price. And I got charged twice for my vehicle being there part at their facility when I had already paid upfront they charged me on the way out at the machine before they would let me out. When I called them they wanted me to verify it and I asked them can't they do it because I was almost back home over 200 miles away. It took this long just to get through their phone and to get an answer from them on the trip back. I find trying to communicate them is pour at best. That Society feels this is the best we deserve as veterans more active duty military members

Pros:

You're with like-minded military individuals

Cons:

You can't count on cleanliness service or Communications
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by NoneOfYourBusiness Review Date: 05/05/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Awesome Hotel

Pros:

Clean, Big, Good Food.

Cons:

No monorail
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Ddandridge Review Date: 03/18/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Very Large rooms. Relaxing De micky stress at end of day.

Pros:

Large rooms. Tickets Discounts

Cons:

size, hard to get rooms at busy times.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MJ78 Review Date: 07/19/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

I am a US AF veteran. I heard you can buy tickets at Shades of Green but I don't have an ID Card. I asked if they will allow my DD214 and VA disability paper showing I have a service connected disability. I even have a VA medical card but they said no. They only allow you to come in person twice a year to purchase tickets with your DD214. Well thats great but I dont live in FL. How can I come to FL to buy tickets in person if I dont live there. There has to be a better way.

Pros:

A discount is available for tickets

Cons:

You can only get tickets with a DD214 in person in FL twice a year in Jan and Sept.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/05/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

I had made reservations almost a year ago and shades of green had changed my dates without permission or notice. Definitely not a reliable place and I have heard plenty of people having issues with this resort. They will have my business ever.

Pros:

Location is the only pro

Cons:

Not reliable and will change your reservation without notice or permission.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Pathfinder Review Date: 10/17/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

It makes us feel as if we are staying at a deluxe resort for a moderate price. Great benefit for active duty, veterans, and their families.

Pros:

We love how close Shades is located to MK and TTC. The staff is great and responsive to any needs. The rooms are very spacious and updated.

Cons:

The Shades buses leave something to be desired, but the Polynesian is within walking distance to use Disney World buses or monorail.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Shehdan Review Date: 10/05/2018

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Hard to get reservations. We have stayed here many times and never had to make a reservation six months out but I was told you now have to do just that, I called in September and was told February was filling fast.

Pros:

Great rooms and pools

Cons:

Almost impossible to get a reservation
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Disney Resorts