We’ve been trying to test Disney World’s new system in every way possible, working out the kinks and answering all of the FAQs! And one thing we’ve been asked quite a few times so far is — how does Genie+ work with multiple guests in one party?
If you have purchased Disney Genie+ for the day that you’re in the parks and someone else in your party has it added to their ticket as well (no matter how many people that is), you’ll be able to see their name and avatar when you try to make plans.
Then, when making your Genie+ Lightning Lane choices, you can add the eligible guests to your plans, given that their plans don’t interfere with the ones you’re trying to make. You don’t have to make the same plans for everyone in your party, as you can choose how many people you’d like to include.
Once you select the members of your party, you’ll be taken to a screen to confirm your choices. It’ll list the attraction, the park, the Lightning Lane return time, and everyone that was chosen for the reservation. If everything looks good, hit the “continue” button to confirm.
And voila! You have a Genie+ Lightning Lane reservation for multiple guests! You’ll be taken to a confirmation page, and then the Lightning Lane time will show up on your account until it is redeemed.
You’ll be able to see this selection on both the Tip Board and My Day sections of the app. Under the selection, you’ll even see the option to add another guest if there’s someone you forgot.
But what if someone changes their mind? Well, you can cancel their reservation if you’d like!
Once you remove the guests that don’t need the Lightning Lane, make sure to check your updated confirmation to see that everything looks correct. Then, you’re good to go enjoy your ride or show! (Don’t worry, you can still add the guests back to the plans if they change their mind again.)
It’s important to keep in mind that your ability to secure Lightning Lane return times does not depend on the number of people that you have in your party.
A good way to think about it is by comparing it to the old paper FastPass system. When you walked up to a machine, it would say “now distributing 10AM-11AM” (or another time) and it didn’t matter whether you had 2 people or 10 people in your party, everyone who was getting their FastPasses at that time got the same return window.
Disney Genie+ and Individual Attraction Selections allow you to make plans for up to 12 people at a time and it is always showing the next available return time in the app. So, you won’t have any advantage to getting the “best” Lightning Lane return windows or be able to tackle more rides with Lightning Lanes if you have fewer — it’s all an even playing field!
So that’s how to do Genie+ with multiple guests in your party! Stay tuned to AllEars for more details on the Genie+ practices and procedures in the coming days, including all of our best tips!
Are you purchasing Genie+ for your next trip? Let us know in the comments!