Reviews of American Adventure

Reviews

20

Rating

6.4 / 10

Recommended By

65%



Audio-Animatronics theatre show that tells the history of the United States, 30 minutes.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/29/2020

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This was the first time I have ever been to this show and I enjoyed it. I think if you have a few minutes to spare, sit in the air conditioning and enjoy a show on our country!

Pros:

Air conditioning, relaxing, and very educational

Cons:

Maybe boring for kids that haven’t learned some events in school yet. Limited show times
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/01/2020

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Nice

Pros:

Very educational

Cons:

Maybe boring to youngsters
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by TheMouseOutlet Review Date: 08/27/2020

Rating: (6)
Recommended

great air conditioned show for breaking up park days, wont do multiple times a day or rush back but i like to do this when i visit

Pros:

educational, the acapella group in the lobby is amazing, great for adults and bigger kids, great to break up park days

Cons:

a bit too long for some, not great for most kids,
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 08/03/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Always one of my favorite shows - always brings tears to my eyes.

Pros:

Great story, awesome music, great narration.

Cons:

You might have a wait for the next show.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MetallicSplinter Review Date: 07/27/2020

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

A good show for international guests or people who don't know the basics of American history. The variety and number of animatronics is impressive but it's long and most people would find it boring, especially kids. One-and-done, not a must-do.

Pros:

Lots of animatronics. Air conditioned. Good for a nap.

Cons:

Long. Boring. Very shallow look at American History.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by HeidiZ Review Date: 04/30/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I like this attraction, even though my kids (in their 20s) do not. I think the "narrators" Franklin and Twain do a great job and the use of historic and animatronic scenes work well - a compact but well told story!

Pros:

If you like American history you will enjoy this attraction

Cons:

If you don't like history, you won't like the attraction!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Merwolf Review Date: 04/12/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

There are two great things about the American Adventure. It's a great place to get out of the sun and relax and the Voices of America, which are absolutely worth walking halfway around World Showcase for. The show itself? It's a great place to take a nap.

Pros:

Voice of America. Coldest air conditioning in Epcot. Great gingerbread exhibit during the holidays, and now, Regal Eagle for their brisket and brews.

Cons:

The show is - well, I don't know what the show is like as I never made it through it. Go in every single time I am in the park for VOA.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Sara Review Date: 03/26/2020

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Show about American history for me is a one and done. Would recommend seeing it at least once

Pros:

History. Air conditioning. Great place for a nap

Cons:

Long. Can be boring for children and some adults.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by TammyRalff Review Date: 03/16/2020

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

I fell asleep about 2 mins in... and I love history, thought I would love this. Brutal waste of time.

Pros:

Air conditioning

Cons:

Everything but air conditioning
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by AdventurelandFan Review Date: 02/17/2020

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Fundamentally, this is an attraction that fails its name.

I'm not sure there's any adventure on offer here at all. Disney — or maybe more specifically Walt's son-in-law, who approved the designs in this case — were far too enamoured of the east coast when building this thing, and therefore it doesn't feel fully American. Instead, it comes across as Libery Square through a minimally different lens.

While it's certainly true there are some awesome forced perspective tricks at play here, and that one could easily admire the technical proficiency of the show, the storytelling is just terribly boring.

I'd much rather see America represented as a mixture of different architectural styles, with multiple attractions that celebrate different aspects of the country. The colonial style of the pavilion should be entirely left to Liberty Square, with its clear focus on the government, not the people, of east coast America.

I even think Disney should one day put a thrill ride here, based on any number of American historical events to make real the "adventure" in the name. Tiana seems an excellent tie-in character, since Moana will soon be put to use in what won't be called "Future World" for much longer.

Or the ride could be the fifth major "mountain" at WDW. A Rocky Mountain-based coaster rising from the top of World Showcase could easily make America the place of adventure it should have always been.

Pros:

Classy place to hide out from the heat, I guess. Great bathrooms. Though both of these are really recommendations about the pavilion more than the show proper.

Cons:

The very opposite of its name. Neither an adventure nor representative of America as a whole. Waste of space that could house a great Circle-Vision film and a decent ride instead.
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Epcot Rides and Attractions