Reviews of Impressions de France

Reviews

12

Rating

8 / 10

Recommended By

92%



Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/04/2021

Rating: (5)
Recommended

I would have given this a 10 out of 10 prior to this year. I have been to this film so many times over the last 21 years. I have loved it, and it was one of my favorite things in all the park. I went last night for the first time since it was redigitized or remastered last year. I do digital video for a living and could get really detailed about my analysis, but I will try and keep it simple. The new rendering/redigitization/remastering is inferior to the previous remastering. The difficulty for those who worked on this was to redo the film on one screen when it was originally made for 5 screens. The resulting video shows poor workmanship by those whose job that was. There are contrast issues and other brightness issues. The original brightness levels of the film are not retained in the new remaster. I was disappointed. The first digitization of the original film happened about 12 years ago or so. That was a very good job. The only complaint I had about that job was the blurred fast moving scenes which occurred with digital rendering. The original film was not blurry in the fast moving parts, so it was the best of all versions. I was hoping they would go back to the original film for this latest remastering and correct this blurry issue which was the only complaint I had with the first remastering. Modern day rendering is much better. But.... no. The blur is still there in the fast moving parts and seems worse though it may not be. Maybe they did not go back to the original film and just used the previous remaster? Anyway, this work appears to me to be the work of amateurs, and is very disappointed to me. I live in a Tennessee and love this attraction and wish they had done better.

Pros:

It is still the same show as it was when Epcot opened.

Cons:

It does not look as nice as it did when Epcot opened. The remaster is poor.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JustinDoesDisney Review Date: 10/08/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

This 18-minute film located in the France Pavilion really does a great job of immersing you in the culture, food, music, and people of France without leaving the US! Yes, it is dated and could probably use an update, but it's a classic in my book. Just keep in mind that this show only plays in the evenings since it shares a theatre with the Beauty and the Beast Sing-Along during the day.

Pros:

Educational, immersive

Cons:

Dated, only plays in the evenings
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/06/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Pros:

Great movie

Cons:

Nothing
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by HeartBreakKris Review Date: 02/23/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

It’s a great film that everyone should see at least once! However you can tell it’s not really up to date & I feel it doesn’t represent what France is currently like

Pros:

Beautiful film, relaxing, shows a great country

Cons:

Needs to be updated
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/18/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

WHAT? I don’t get why people think this attraction is just fine. It’s calm, quiet, and a good place to cool of in.

Pros:

Calm, quiet, good film

Cons:

Seats are a bit low
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Ddandridge Review Date: 03/18/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Best film in world Showcase.

Pros:

The Music and the scenery of France.

Cons:

none
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/15/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is a beautiful film! I love to listen to its music on the park soundtrack! It brilliantly uses themes from prominent French composers.

Pros:

The music is beautiful! It also is relaxing and a nice break from the heat!

Cons:

Can't think of any 🙂
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by EdnaMode Review Date: 01/30/2020

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Ehhhh

Pros:

You can sit down

Cons:

Extremely outdated, boring music
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MKFan Review Date: 06/17/2019

Rating: (5)
Recommended

It's okay. I find the music creepy and eerie and I just dread it for the most part. I talked to a waiter from France years ago at Downtown Disney who said they needed to update that film. It is very old and obvious that it needs updated. Try it if you have time and haven't seen it.

Pros:

See parts of France. They have seats!

Cons:

Horrible music and outdated
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by PolynesianStitch Review Date: 06/15/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Beautiful scenery of France set to excellent French music. Gives a great tour of the country. Also indoors, air conditioned, with comfortable seats! A definite plus in hot or rainy weather or days with a lot of walking.

Pros:

Never crowded, you get to sit

Cons:

Some scenes are rather dated and could use a refresh
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Epcot Rides and Attractions