Reviews of American Adventure

Reviews

11

Rating

6.45 / 10

Recommended By

64%



Audio-Animatronics theatre show that tells the history of the United States, 30 minutes.

Reviewed by AdventurelandFan Review Date: 02/17/2020

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Fundamentally, this is an attraction that fails its name.

I'm not sure there's any adventure on offer here at all. Disney — or maybe more specifically Walt's son-in-law, who approved the designs in this case — were far too enamoured of the east coast when building this thing, and therefore it doesn't feel fully American. Instead, it comes across as Libery Square through a minimally different lens.

While it's certainly true there are some awesome forced perspective tricks at play here, and that one could easily admire the technical proficiency of the show, the storytelling is just terribly boring.

I'd much rather see America represented as a mixture of different architectural styles, with multiple attractions that celebrate different aspects of the country. The colonial style of the pavilion should be entirely left to Liberty Square, with its clear focus on the government, not the people, of east coast America.

I even think Disney should one day put a thrill ride here, based on any number of American historical events to make real the "adventure" in the name. Tiana seems an excellent tie-in character, since Moana will soon be put to use in what won't be called "Future World" for much longer.

Or the ride could be the fifth major "mountain" at WDW. A Rocky Mountain-based coaster rising from the top of World Showcase could easily make America the place of adventure it should have always been.

Pros:

Classy place to hide out from the heat, I guess. Great bathrooms. Though both of these are really recommendations about the pavilion more than the show proper.

Cons:

The very opposite of its name. Neither an adventure nor representative of America as a whole. Waste of space that could house a great Circle-Vision film and a decent ride instead.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by CaptainSlow Review Date: 01/06/2020

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Like with Hall of Presidents, you'll love it if American History is your thing. If it's not, you'll probably feel like this attraction is a bit campy. Still, it's extremely well done and well executed (and I'm one of the people who thinks it's cheesy) and the theater is GORGEOUS. Check it out if you enjoy American History, or just want a break from the heat.

Pros:

Extremely well thought out show. Theater is beautiful and very comfortable.

Cons:

A bit cheesy.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by disneydiner Review Date: 06/19/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Didn't see this for years and now it's back on my must do list. I love history and I walk out of this show with tears in my eyes and bursting with pride. The civil war segment about the two brothers is moving. This show has alot of critics but I feel it's very much worth seeing. I like the unveiling of the statues at the end. We have had alot of brave, courageous people in our past.

Pros:

A great history lesson.

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MKFan Review Date: 06/16/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

An air conditioned theater that is relaxing to sit and watch a story of America hosted by animatronics. They have added updates as new things happen over the years. I always stop in and see it, sometimes multiple times if I happen to be waiting for another show to start.

Pros:

Well done. I like the animatronics and the voices used. There is usually a pre-show in the lobby with The Voices of Liberty and they also rotate items that are in the cases in the side room of the lobby. They've had the flag from the twin towers (I believe) and last year had interesting items from Native Americans.

Cons:

You have to time it right, or wait. Sitting in airconditioning can get too relaxing on a hot day. You have to do the \"everybody into the theater at once\" merge, but it's not too bad.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This show has a large number of influential Americans in it and is a great historical overview of how far American has progressed and how quickly. The audio animatronics are so lifelike that you forget they aren’t real people. Be sure to look at the “list of Featured characters” on the wall while waiting in the lobby so you know who to expect. The Voices of Liberty are an exceptional Acapella singing group who sing patriotic songs in the lobby before the shows.

Pros:

Continuously running, great overview, large indoor theater with comfortable seats. Voices of Liberty pre show.

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by PolynesianStitch Review Date: 04/22/2019

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Good show without being too controversial. Comfortable seats and a decent amount of time indoors and relaxing

Pros:

Large auditorium which absorbs crowds quickly.

Cons:

Could do with an update
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by KimH134 Review Date: 04/21/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Brief history of America

Pros:

Air conditioning. Brief history of America.

Cons:

Long and can get boring for little kids.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by LouO Review Date: 04/20/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

As America, you would think we could do better.

Pros:

Comfy seats Air conditioned Good place for short nap

Cons:

It's boring Wife keeps waking me up
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Pauly Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

A good show about being an American. Makes you feel proud to be a part of this country. Also, do not forget the wonderful singers at the pre-show!

Pros:

air conditioned, relaxing, and good story.

Cons:

If you're tired you may get so comfortable you could fall asleep!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by BabieO Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I really like this show. The animatronics are great

Pros:

Great show about American history

Cons:

It's long, a lot of people including my husband go in to take a nap
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Epcot Rides and Attractions