Reviews of Jiko - The Cooking Place - Jambo House

Reviews

39

Rating

8.82 / 10

Recommended By

90%



View Menus at Jiko - The Cooking Place Dining Location

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: African, American
Full Service - Dinner
Animal Kingdom Lodge - Jambo House

Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/jiko-the-cooking-place/dinner
Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/jiko-the-cooking-place/child-dinner

Reviewed by Cazstar Review Date: 09/05/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The filet is amazing!! Could not recommend enough.

Pros:

Food without a doubt Service was amazing too

Cons:

n/a
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JanelleB Review Date: 04/30/2020

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

This used to be a favorite restaurant but our last couple visits have not been great. The service varies and the menu changes leaves little for me to want. If you want to eat at AKL, I recommend Boma or Sanaa instead.

Pros:

Ambience

Cons:

Food Location Service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Simma Review Date: 03/15/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Romantic signature dining restaurant at Animal Kingdom Lodge. Hands down the best steak I’ve ever eaten in my life! Service was impeccable. Extensive wine list!

Pros:

Steak African Wine

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by AmberMac Review Date: 02/06/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I ate here on a solo trip and I was very impressed. I tried beef carpaccio for the first time in my life! The food was flavorful and different for me. However, I’m not sure that this would be a place for people who are not adventurous in trying new things to eat. They don’t do bland here.

Pros:

Different Beautiful atmosphere

Cons:

Service was a little slow
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jcjohns91107 Review Date: 01/21/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Great food and service. Prices similar to any upscale dining outside the park. Great room.

Pros:

Food, service, ease of reservations

Cons:

Wine is a little pricey.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by resjudacat Review Date: 12/17/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

I had the filet mignon. The steak was fine, but you got hardly any vegetables...very small sides...I also has the wild boar appetizer...ridiculous price for about little bites....your money is better spent elsewhere.

Pros:

The dining experience was just okay..nothing to write home about.

Cons:

price; size of portions....
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/01/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I would give Jiko 100 stars if I could. This place is amazing. The food was great and the service is tops. We dined here on 9/27/19. My DH got the bone-in rib eye and I ordered the filet with the Mac and cheese. Both dishes were outstanding.
If you are on Mickey overload, please give Jiko a try. You won’t be disappointed. Just remember, it is signature dining and has a requested dress code of resort casual.

Pros:

Service Food Atmosphere

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by allec999 Review Date: 08/30/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Simply amazing. I've never been to Victoria & Albert's - I plan to in a future trip - but I have been to a number of other Disney upscale restaurants (California Grill, Yachtsman Steakhouse, Narcoosee's, Citricos, Le Cellier, Hollywood Brown Derby, Shula's, bluezoo, Il Mulino, Monsieur Paul) and a number of hidden gems/lesser ballyhooed but great places (Spice Road Table, The Wave, Skipper Canteen, Artist Point (pre-character), Turf Club Bar & Grill, Boma), and enjoyed them all. But Jiko is easily the best on Disney property that I've ever been to. I've dined at Jiko 5 times now, and each time has been the same incredible experience. Great wine list, impeccable service. But the star is the food. This is the kind of dinner you get excited about. I try to resist the urge to get the filet, which is the best filet I've ever had, usually to give in anyway, and then try a bite or two of my wife's entree, which is always creative and equally amazing. Can't say enough about this place. Delivers excellence. Every. Single. Time.

Pros:

Service, atmosphere, wine, and the food, food, food.

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ChallengerHK1 Review Date: 02/05/2019

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

I struggled with this rating. The food at Jiko was outside, with flavors both subtle and exotic. I would put it on par with he California Grill.

The problem is the portions. I'm used to a Disney mode, where the portions are very generous. I've been to Jiko before, and it fit that mode. On this visit, it was more California cuisine, with immense plates and tiny little portions placed "artistically" on the plate.

Somewhere in the middle would probably be good. As it is, with the very high price of dining here, I don't think I got a good value.

Pros:

Excellent food Excellent decor

Cons:

Small portions Low value given the high price
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by sand935 Review Date: 10/01/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

the filet with the mac and cheese was the best, they also bring you a little spoon from the Chef with a taste of one of his favorites. It think this one was the wild boar, it was good what ever it was. the desserts are unusual and fun to try. If we cant get a reservation we ask if there is room at the area where they make the flatbreads and salads (it is just the two of us). It is fun to watch them make the stuff and they talk to you while they make it.

Pros:

Excellent food beautiful area

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 4

Other topics in Animal Kingdom Lodge (Jambo and Kidani)