Reviews of Jiko – The Cooking Place – Jambo House

Reviews

45

Rating

8.84 / 10

Recommended By

89%



Other Menus at Jiko - The Cooking Place

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Jiko - The Cooking Place

Services: Table Service

Reviewed by TeacherManJoe Review Date: 05/21/2022

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We went to Jiko on our honeymoon and felt like we understood why it is so well-loved by many in the community. The food was excellent and offered some truly unique eats that really made the experience feel special. The atmosphere felt classy without being stuffy. Small details and touches can be found all throughout that add to the ambience. We LOVED the African inspired décor and thought that the cultural elements included here were beautiful and joyful.

With all of that glowing commentary being said, we did find that Jiko was not necessarily a place that we felt like we absolutely had to go back to. The food was excellent. The service was top notch. The menu was unique and varied. But we also did not find anything that felt truly craveable or like it left us wanting more. This is not an insult or a reason for others to be turned away by the idea of it. However, it just was not somewhere that would be on the top of our minds for a revisit.

Pros:

Truly excellent food with a varied and unique menu Great atmosphere and feel

Cons:

May be a bit tougher to please unadventurous palates (though there are far more accessible options than people sometimes think)
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MsLeslie Review Date: 05/10/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Out of all the places we dined at during our vacation this past weekend, this was the most memorable. We were 17 minutes late to our Friday, 6pm reservation during Mother’s Day weekend and the hostess reassured us that we had nothing to worry about as we explained we got lost and did not realize the restaurant was in Jambo House. They are also pretty loose on the dress code as I went in with flip flops, but dressed in my casual leopard print dress. Just like Molly’s feeling of the filet mignon, I almost teared up as I ate the Boar tenderloin appetizer. It is THAT good. We also had the filet mignon with the oxtail enhancement - both excellent and so flavorful. Next time we visit Disney, I will be getting the boar tenderloin again, possibly two or three.

Pros:

Everything mentioned.

Cons:

Could be a bit out of the way if you are visiting other parks from Animal Kingdom, but still worth it.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Helix Review Date: 04/07/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We ate here at the end of March and it remains our favorite restaurant at Disney. All of our food has been fantastic and the service has always been excellent. The top entrée for us is probably the Moroccan Lamb Shank but you really can't go wrong here.

Pros:

A fantastic place to treat yourself!

Cons:

Can be out of the way at Animal Kingdom Lodge but easily worth the trip.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/05/2022

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

Unfortunately it didn’t live up to the hype. We personally thought it was not worth the price compared to the food and experience you get at other places like Topolino’s and Citricos

Pros:

Mac & cheese was delicious

Cons:

Not the best steak on property, not the best price, service was okay, limited drink options if you don’t drink wine
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jfarring513 Review Date: 03/19/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

There is nowhere better in Walt Disney World to have a signature meal then Jiko. All of the food is absolutely incredible and the service is top notch. The fillet mignon was hands down the best one on property. The flavors are insane and I try to eat here every time I visit. Cant wait for it to reopen!!

Pros:

Super attentive service Incredible and unique flavors The most amazing selection of wines Best steak on property!

Cons:

Can be hard to get a reservation (during normal times)
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by tetimko5 Review Date: 02/13/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

If you are staying at Animal Kingdom Lodge, DO NOT skip out on this restaurant. This is one of my absolute favorite meals in Disney World. Last time I ate here, our server made the night truly special for us and she was absolutely outstanding. The food here is unbeatable especially if you are looking for something a little more exotic. They have an extensive wine and drink list. This is a great place if you are looking for a date night meal or something different!

Pros:

outstanding service, exciting menu, not overly crowded

Cons:

a bit pricey, but well worth it
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Cazstar Review Date: 09/05/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The filet is amazing!! Could not recommend enough.

Pros:

Food without a doubt Service was amazing too

Cons:

n/a
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JanelleB Review Date: 04/30/2020

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

This used to be a favorite restaurant but our last couple visits have not been great. The service varies and the menu changes leaves little for me to want. If you want to eat at AKL, I recommend Boma or Sanaa instead.

Pros:

Ambience

Cons:

Food Location Service
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Simma Review Date: 03/15/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Romantic signature dining restaurant at Animal Kingdom Lodge. Hands down the best steak I’ve ever eaten in my life! Service was impeccable. Extensive wine list!

Pros:

Steak African Wine

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by AmberMac Review Date: 02/06/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I ate here on a solo trip and I was very impressed. I tried beef carpaccio for the first time in my life! The food was flavorful and different for me. However, I’m not sure that this would be a place for people who are not adventurous in trying new things to eat. They don’t do bland here.

Pros:

Different Beautiful atmosphere

Cons:

Service was a little slow
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 5

Other topics in Animal Kingdom Lodge (Jambo and Kidani)