Reviews of Boma Flavors of Africa Dinner – Jambo House

Reviews

84

Rating

8.46 / 10

Recommended By

94%



Other Menus at Boma - Flavors of Africa

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Boma - Flavors of Africa

Services: Buffet/All You Care to Eat

Reviewed by Ukadventuresinorlando Review Date: 04/26/2022

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Second time here for dinner (having been at Christmas) and it was just as good.

Selection is amazing - steak, ribs, chicken, salmon… and so much more. Highlights for me were the steak, peanut rice, herby mashed potato and the lamb curry.

Good selection of desserts including bread pudding, brownies, cookies and, of course, the famous zebra domes!

Service was excellent, food was excellent, and the atmosphere was very relaxed

Pros:

Choice of food is vast. Quality is good. Service excellent

Cons:

Might not be so good for fussier eaters. Bread pudding isn’t a patch on ohana
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by DeniseKH Review Date: 04/26/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We were in Disney from February 1-11, 2022 and we ate at Boma for the first time. Last time we were there in October 2020, we ate at Saana and were going to eat there again, however, because of an allergy in the family, we wanted to have more options. I am so glad we decided to do so. There was a wide array of choices and our waiter Isi was so kind. Animal Kingdom Lounge kills it again.

Pros:

Décor, food, cast member

Cons:

Distance
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by tillch2 Review Date: 12/22/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

had dinner there on the 11th of Dec. Food was awesome as usual but they only had one sanitizing unit and they tell you to sanitize before getting your food. no one was doing that as it was a little hidden. service was good.

Pros:

variety of food, service

Cons:

more hand sanitizers and more obvious placement
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 06/30/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My family and I have been staying at Animal Kingdom Lodge's Kidani Village for over 10 years, and Boma is amazing! There's something there for everyone, and we eat there every single day for breakfast. The walk from Kidani Village to Jambo is not very long at all, and it's so enjoyable. My brother and I have allergies (mine being gluten/dairy and his being eggs/dairy/nuts, and also wheat) and the people there are so accommodating. The server we have had for these past several years, Dilly, is so nice and the chefs are willing to do anything. They have gluten-free donuts and the best gluten-free waffles!

Pros:

accomodating to allergies the nicest staff beautiful atmosphere

Cons:

n/a
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jade Review Date: 11/12/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Boma!!!!!!! I first heard about Boma on Disney Food Blog and was so excited to eat here for dinner to try the African inspired flavors. I'm happy to share that this restaurant definitely lived up to the hype. Boma is a buffet at Animal Kingdom Lodge Jambo House that has something for the adventurous eater (curries, oxtail, seafood stew) and the not so adventurous (corn dog nuggets and macaroni and cheese). The restaurant is decorated with wood carvings of African animals and feels like you are eating at a safari.

Our server Steve was kind enough to recommend his favorite items on the buffet and also was very efficient in clearing our used plates and giving us new cutlery between trips to the buffet. At the end of the meal he even surprised me with a Vier ("celebrate") brownie cupcake for my birthday. The buffet has a rotating variety of soups, salads, a rotisserie section with all the sides (with an African twist of course) and tons of desserts. I tried to sample a little bit of everything they had to offer that day and stand outs for me were the chicken salad with chili cilantro, eggplant salad, oxtail stew with basmati rice, the butternut squash soup and the roasted pork shoulder. My favorite desserts were the Kenyan coffee bites, Oreo cheesecake bites and the brownies. The zebra domes with chocolate liqueur were interesting but not my favorite. We also sampled the Mount Kilimarita and the Kentucky Mule, however this meal only includes non-alcoholic beverages with the buffet pricing. Boma also offers a breakfast buffet which I would like to come back to try. Come here hungry and leave here full and happy!

Pros:

Wide variety of dishes, nice way to try African flavors, beautiful restaurant

Cons:

May not be the best for non-adventurous eaters
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JJKHughes04 Review Date: 09/17/2020

Rating: (7)
Recommended

a great buffet for the adventurous diner. We had a very late reservation so we felt very rushed but the food was great

Pros:

lots of choice, found some amazing soups, zebra domes,

Cons:

we were rushed
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JanelleB Review Date: 04/29/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Wonderful way to try many different foods from the continent of Africa. The choices are many and interesting. The restaurant is beautiful and the resort as well.

Pros:

Visiting Animal Kingdom Lodge Ambiance Food choices

Cons:

Location - Harder to get to if you are in another resort.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Sheri10s Review Date: 04/14/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Have never had a bad meal

Pros:

Different types of foods. Love all the soups and foods you normally won't see anywhere else. My picky daughter loves this place. The desserts are out of this world as well!

Cons:

It's a little bit of travel to get there-but so worth it!
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jamiegii Review Date: 03/22/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Our favorite meal the entire time we were in Disney. We were recommended to come here by my brother-in-law and this did not disappoint. My boyfriend loves meat and I am a vegetarian, we both were so happy! He could not wait to try all the different options from the carving station. I loved the soups, veggies and rice. The different flavors were amazing, my favorite was the carrot ginger soup and the curry pasta salad. We also both loved the desserts! SO GOOD! We were so full when we left, it was amazing and so worth the money.

Pros:

The waiters are so friendly and amazing. Food is so good and great for anyone (meat lovers, vegetarians, spice lovers or more mild lovers)

Cons:

Usually a line for the carving station so my boyfriend spent a lot more time waiting but no biggie there, to be expected. Really no cons for adults, definitely go!
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Bubbe415 Review Date: 06/19/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

we are not too adventurous but we come here almost every trip. there's something for everyone. one of our party is allergic to garlic and they always make her a great steak. We do try a lot of the foods but not all! have found few things we cant stand and havent seen those in a while so i cant say what they are. there's a wide range of food.

Pros:

variety. service. interesting things. american foods. you can taste a lot! not too noisy even!

Cons:

the buffet is not very spread out so around the meats and salads can get crowded.
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 9

Other topics in Animal Kingdom Lodge (Jambo and Kidani)