Reviews of The Daily Poutine

Reviews

9

Rating

7.89 / 10

Recommended By

78%



Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Reviewed by TeacherManJoe Review Date: 05/29/2022

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Am I French-Canadian? Yes. Does that mean that Cheese Curds and Gravy basically sustain my entire life force? Yes. So that means I should love Daily Poutine, right? WRONG.

One of the great mysteries of my life has been figuring out why the Daily Poutine is largely pretty well thought-of and yet we have found it to be a huge let down.

My wife and I came here a couple of years ago, and were so excited for the prospect of a little poutine snack on our first Disney day while we were in Disney Springs. We got the classic “Canadian Poutine” and one of the specials that they had at the time, which was a Tex-Mex poutine. Much to our disappointment, we found both to be thoroughly off-putting.

The gravy on the “Canadian Poutine” was weirdly chunky and the fries themselves were not great. The Tex-Mex version had a sauce that was a bit better, but the meat that was on top was not well cooked and bland, making for a largely disappointing several bites as well. Of the two, I think I preferred the Tex-Mex version, as it at least had more flavor. However, neither were great.

Let me be clear: I am NOT a poutine snob. I have liked many varieties from many places. Even the poutine you can find in McDonalds in Canada is pretty good. And yet, our experience here at the Daily Poutine was wholly disappointing.

There is decent poutine to be had in Disney World. Le Cellier in EPCOT has great poutine, and even the Refreshment Port outside in the EPCOT World Showcase has some good poutine as well. However, the fact that the Daily Poutine in Disney Springs is named after the dish and yet of such low quality has been one of the bigger disappointments for me when it comes to snacks in Disney.

Pros:

Some seasonal variety

Cons:

Fries are not very good Execution is poor, with traditional poutine having upsettingly chunky gravy and overall poor taste
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JBook Review Date: 10/20/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I’m not a poutine expert, but I’ve eaten here a few times. I can agree with other reviewers that’s it’s best hot…when the fries are crispy and the curds get a little melty. But I’ve never been displeased.
I had the Oktoberfest poutine recently…& it was good but I think I prefer the traditional. It’s a big, hearty, shareable snack.

Pros:

Filling, carby, cheesy

Cons:

Really needs to be enjoyed immediately
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by rahbekah Review Date: 08/08/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Had some delicious poutine that was comparable to the one you can get in Epcot! We just got the classic poutine, but I've heard their seasonal ones are good too. Also had the frozen sangria, which was very sweet but still refreshing. Worth stopping by!

Pros:

French fries, gravy, cheese curds....What more could you want?

Cons:

Limited menu (obviously), so many other places in Disney Springs to pick from
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 06/07/2021

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

We did have a hearty snack and enjoyed sitting at a nearby table. However, fundamentally, the classic poutine we had did not match up anywhere near a real Canadian poutine for the following reasons:
1. The French fries lacked seasoning and initial crispiness. They were also not hot enough to contribute to melting the cheese curds. They did taste ok, buy could be vastly improved with proper amount of salt and paying attention to cooking technique.
2. The gravy was the wrong consistency. It was not made from a flour rue but they used corn starch which is absolutely the wrong product, which left a more gelatinous texture. In addition, it was not hot enough to properly melt the cheese curds. This stand needs to completely redo their gravy. If they did they would greatly increase their repeat customers.
3. The cheese curds were excellent in taste, but they did not melt. They just scattered them on top and covered them with the cold gravy. They ended up clumping together and were very difficult to get apart with your fingers, which shouldn't have happened in the first place if they would have melted.
4 The bottom line is they should revisit what they are doing rather than putting out a marginal product.

Pros:

Portion size

Cons:

Cooking techniques and assembly of the poutine, textures, gravy recipe and not hot enough to properly melt the cheese.
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Oo-De-Lally248 Review Date: 03/16/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I got the classic poutine and while it tasted great, I found the texture of the gravy to be strange and somewhat gelatinous (made with corn starch instead of flour?). I loved the fries, thick cut and fresh, and the cheese curds were big and there were plenty of them. The portion size was great for sharing as a snack or as a full lunch for a single person. I would definitely go back to try the other varieties.

Pros:

Fresh, shareable portions

Cons:

Limited seating
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TylerMelissa Review Date: 07/26/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I enjoy The Daily Poutine on as many trips to Disney Springs as my stomach can handle. Being from Wisconsin, I often expect to be disappointed when I'm away from home ordering anything that includes cheese curds (because they aren't usually cheese curds). The Classic Poutine gets it exactly right. Every order is made fresh and scalding hot - my only complaint is that when they're busy, it can take longer than you might expect to get your food BECAUSE everything is made so fresh. That said, it's worth the wait. They have variety for more adventurous eaters, too!

On our most recent trip, we tried the Arendelle Aqua Arctic Punch they were serving, and could have probably enjoyed about five more. I'd definitely recommend whatever seasonal or signature drink they're serving based just on that one great experience!

Pros:

Delicious, fresh food, central location in Disney Springs, lots of seating, often live entertainment right next to the stand, delicious signature cocktails, clever name!

Cons:

Not as fast as you might hope, if they are busy
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by mickeymom5 Review Date: 09/04/2017

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We shared a classic poutine. I have never been to Canada to try this dish before, but we all enjoyed it. I had never tried cheese curds before, and now I love them! This is a great place to share a snack or eat for lunch!

Pros:

food

Cons:

outdoor seating can get hot
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by disneyjill Review Date: 08/15/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I tried the classic, and while I've never had real Canadian poutine, so I can't speak to the authenticity, I enjoyed this a lot. The fries were hot and made to order, thick cut, with gravy and cheese curds. This was my lunch and the portion was more than plenty.

Pros:

Portion size, food hot

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by mgilmore Review Date: 08/15/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My son and I tried the French - French Fries, Mushroom Cream Sauce, and Gruyere.

Wow really tasty, and a decent size portion.
For $8.99 a few more fries would be nice, but we enjoyed it very much.

It was made to order...nice and hot.
I loved it and can't wait to go back for another visit.

Pros:

Fresh and Hot

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Disney Springs Restaurants

YeSake

Rating: 6.0/ 10 Recommended By: 100%

Read All Reviews (1)
Leave a Review of YeSake

T-Rex

Rating: 7.1/ 10 Recommended By: 72%

Read All Reviews (47)
Leave a Review of T-Rex