Reviews of Wine Bar George

Reviews

9

Rating

8.89 / 10

Recommended By

89%



Other Menus at Wine Bar George

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Wine Bar George

Services: Bar/Lounge, Table Service

Reviewed by FishinGoofy Review Date: 09/14/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We came for our honeymoon in September of 2019. A little back story for you. We got married Saturday night (probably finished clean up and got to bed around midnight) and hopped a plane our of Indianapolis at 6 AM. So we slept all of 3 hours maybe. Dropped our stuff at French Quarter and caught a Minnie Van to Disney Springs for our reservation. The waiter was super patient with our lack of sleep and even brought us complimentary Champaign to celebrate! We split a smoked salmon and mac n cheese bites appetizers and a charcuterie board and then had the olive oil cake with candied Kalamata olives. It was all fantastic. I will sing the praises of Wine Bar George until the day I die. If you don't have a reservation go get one right now. If you are over 21 this is literally the perfect place for you.

Pros:

Everything. just go please.

Cons:

Nothing.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by LaurenK Review Date: 06/24/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Went here for dinner June 2021. Had the hummus as an appetizer and the sea bass for dinner. I thought both were fantastic. We needed some more bread and cucumbers with the hummus and they were brought right out. Our server Courtney was fantastic and deboned the fish in front of us perfectly. The fish was the star and was extremely moist and cooked perfectly. While the beans that came with the fish weren’t my favorite, I did enjoy the vegetables that came with it. We also ordered my 3 year old the Mac and cheese with French fries. While the fries were on the salty side, I did eat his Mac and cheese leftovers back at the hotel. I also had the frozen dole whip drink which was AMAZING. I would come back and try different dishes as everything that came out to the surrounding tables also looked delicious.

Pros:

Food was good, service was great

Cons:

Price is high for portion sizes
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/06/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Great bartenders and small plates. Saganaki on fire is cool but doesn’t taste great. Overall great experience especially for adult groups

Pros:

High quality food and service

Cons:

Small portion sizes for most of the menu
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/08/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Flank steak with potatoes & asparagus.
It has to be one of the best steaks I’ve ever had. Steak was medium rare.

Pros:

Steak was tender and good flavor. No need for steak sauce. Asparagus was great. It was cooked well still had a nice crunch.

Cons:

The only con was my beer. I’m not a wine drinker. The beer I had was made & stored in wine barrels. The beer tasted like malted vinegar.
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/04/2020

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

I need to begin this review by questioning what we envisioned WBG to be. We were under the impression that this was a mid-range to fine dining restaurant. It is not. It is a bar. So maybe our expectations were off from the start.

Not sure why WBG get such a high rating...By far our worse dining experience on this trip. Family dinners on this trip were at The Boathouse, Yak and Yeti and Bosphorous (off Disney Property) and all were significantly better than WBG in regards to service and food.

We had reservations for dinner, arrived about 30 minutes early. Asked to be seated in what was a restaurant that was maybe 50% full. First stop, high top by the front door at the downstairs bar...we asked for a non-high top table. After a minute we were directed upstairs to a rather small table that would seat 2 people at best (if eating) 4 people (if only drinking). There were 4 of us I looked at the gentlemen Host trying to seat us at this tiny table and said "There is no way this table is going to work." Why do I have to tell the host this, well he sat us near the bar upstairs while very nice tables in the dining area remained vacant.

Throughout the night we watched this same host attempt to seat parties of 4 guests at this tiny table; they all asked to be moved. I don't understand...either poorly trained or poorly managed.

As far as food, we ordered many small plates and one main. The main, Skirt Steak, was very good and the best thing we ate, the Saganaki was also very tasty and a good quality cheese...everything else was mediocre...with the meatballs being a disappointment.

Since we read all the positive reviews about WBG and saw it's high rating we made two reservations before our trip. One was for Tuesday evening the other for Thursday evening (party of 6). Needless to say only the two who were not at the first dinner visited on Thursday evening. The original four of us agreed that we were not going to deal with a host who walks you around from one crappy table to the next in order to have an average meal.

Our other two family members who went on Thursday evening ultimately agreed with our assessment...many better dining options in Disney Springs.

Pros:

Well stocked bar, unique drinks and solid wine selection.

Cons:

Food, Host Service and Value
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jade Review Date: 11/12/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

If you are a foodie or a fan of wine you definitely need to check out Wine Bar George! My boyfriend and I had an excellent lunch here and can't wait to come back the next time we are at Disney Springs. We didn't have a reservation but they seated us right away on a Saturday. The air conditioning was such a relief from the Florida sun! This new restaurant is beautiful inside and out with sleek modern features and two bars (upstairs and downstairs). They also have an outdoor patio upstairs that is perfect for people watching and relaxing outside when the weather is nice. They have over 100 types of wine available by the bottle, the glass or even the ounce! This is the only restaurant I've ever been to where the namesake was actually present. George himself was behind the bar mingling with customers and talking to his staff! So awesome! Our server Olivia couldn't have been nicer. She walked us through the menu and made sure we had what we needed throughout our meal.

For lunch we started with sangria and their wine margarita, the fried mac and cheese bites, and the spiced olives. The drinks were good but the mac and cheese bites were killer! So good! Order them! The olives were served warm which was a game changer! For entrees I ordered the steak frites and my boyfriend had the BLT + C. The steak was very flavorful and cooked perfectly but I would have liked more sauce/gravy to dip my fries in. My boyfriend also enjoyed his entree. I was celebrating my birthday and the staff were kind enough to bring our desserts with birthday greetings printed on chocolate! If you like olives get the olive oil cake! This was a knockout dining experience. A++

Pros:

Lots of wine, great atmosphere, small bites

Cons:

Desserts aren't that great
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by disneydiner Review Date: 06/19/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Another first visit during my most recent trip. Excellent lunch of macaroni and cheese balls and a chicken salad sandwich. I drank a French wine that was a little drier than I normally like but It went well with chicken salad. My waitress was very attentive and George came over to visit. I was amazed at how much he was hustling around the place. All those bottles of wine were so impressive. I will be going back!

Pros:

Good food, wine selection, atmosphere

Cons:

none
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JustB Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Having heard so much about George Miliotes and the selection of wines, this became a must for us on our trip. We were not disappointed by anything. The check-in was flawless, didn't like the first table in the middle of the rhombus it was changed immediately, the server was unbelievable, the wine incredible and the food a lot for 2 people. The whole experience was wonderful. We have gone back 3 other times already over the last few months.

Pros:

Food, Service and Atmosphere

Cons:

Not a place for children, having only 3 main courses can be an issue for some.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JNOW Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Dropped in on opening week in May. Had just dined elsewhere so was only planning to stop in to look at decor. Every server we encountered was so willing to assist us. We walked upstairs and a waiter convinced us to 'hang out for awhile.' We wound up getting glasses of wine anyways. Was sooooo impressed at the wine list. Would definitely come back and order an appetizer and hang out - lots of different seating - couches, bar stools, low bar area, high bar area. Loved the cork stairs!

Pros:

Atmosphere; great wine list; good pricing

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Disney Springs Restaurants

T-Rex

Rating: 7.3/ 10 Recommended By: 76%

Read All Reviews (41)
Leave a Review of T-Rex