Reviews of Wine Bar George

Reviews

20

Rating

7.9 / 10

Recommended By

70%



Other Menus at Wine Bar George

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Wine Bar George

Services: Bar/Lounge, Table Service

Reviewed by allec999 Review Date: 08/19/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Amazing wine experience here. Server was wonderful, as was the sommelier, who quickly whisked away and replaced one sample which had turned just a bit. Food selection was limited, bit what they had was quite good. But the star of the show here is the wine selection, which was quite impressive. Can't wait to go back.

Pros:

Amazing wine, and pretty good food; great service

Cons:

Expensive, but worth it
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 07/25/2022

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

The food was decent but the service was not. They really need to step up their training.

Pros:

Food

Cons:

Service and Price
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/31/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The food is very good and easy to share. They’re small plates so maybe order your top 3 picks and share. If you go you have to get the mac and cheese bites

Pros:

Good food and relaxing environment

Cons:

can become pricey
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TeacherManJoe Review Date: 05/29/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Wine Bar George is just an all-around delight!!

Firstly, the wine experience. As someone who is not as huge a fan of wine as some people, including my wife, I have a lot of fun at Wine Bar George. The reason? The servers, who are all sommeliers, which really puts this spot over the top. Both my wife and I were able to describe the kind of wines we typically like best and we were delighted by the way our server responded with “I’ll find you something fabulous”. My description was MUCH simpler than my wife’s haha, as I’m pretty sure that I literally said, “I like white wine that isn’t heavy”, and what did he bring? Something that was indeed fabulous! HIGHLY recommended pro-tip: On a second visit we asked our server to bring us each an ounce of one of his favorite wines. He did, and when I asked him to describe why this was one of his favorites, he gave a lovely description that really helped us enjoy it even more. These servers LOVE wine, and so this was a great way to get something that they really love and share in the passion they bring to the craft. Plus, asking for just one ounce kept it from being a ridiculous price.

Which brings me to one of our other favorite things about Wine Bar George. I’m going to a place like this, we expected that if we were to have them choose something for us, they would automatically choose something super expensive, so we were a bit leery at first. But we have been delighted each time that not only do they typically ask about the price range you are looking for, but even when you give them the range, they don’t automatically choose the most expensive wine in that range. They pick the one that THEY think is best for you, not most expensive. That really enhances the experience for us, because it allows us to trust our servers and that they are not just trying to upcharge us.

All of this wine talk is what puts this over the top to being a 10 for me.

However, the food here is great as well! The menu is largely best approached (in our opinions) as a small-plate sharing experience, and there are some great eats when you do that! We love the Mac and Cheese bites as well as the Saganaki on Fire, which is a lot of fun as well as QUITE delicious! Perfect accompaniments to great wine!

Finally, the atmosphere at WBG is laid back, relaxing, and just delightful. We love to sit outside, especially on the 2nd floor patio, and relax while taking in the sights and sounds of Disney Springs.

Overall, we love Wine Bar George! It is a great date spot, double date spot, or just spot to sit and relax and enjoy some time with family. Could not recommend more highly!

Pros:

The servers are professionals, and delightfully helpful with what could be an overwhelming wine menu Great small plates Great atmosphere!

Cons:

Probably not ideal spot to go with the kiddos
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/25/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

YES, YES, YES!!!

Pros:

It was so delicious! We had the Frozcato and I am pretty sure it is the best frozen drink I've ever had. We also picked this up from the walk up window on a following trip. Loved the mixture of wine, vodka, and dole whip. For lunch, I had the Steak and Frites. I ordered it medium rare and it was cooked and seasoned perfectly. The aioli was the cherry on top for the steak and fries. I would highly recommend. I wish they served this for dinner too. I can't wait to try more menu items.

Cons:

I did not find any cons.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by tetimko5 Review Date: 03/18/2022

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

The food and wine were both really good. However, our service was not the best. We were traveling with my daughter who is a toddler and our server seemed annoyed by her. She is high energy but pretty well-behaved. He did not offer us a children's menu so I didn't even know there was one, so my daughter ate the small plates with us. It was extremely crowded so we sat outside. Again the food and wine were both really good. I would not suggest going for a full meal but just to try some wine and eat some snacks. I would like to go back maybe with just my husband but I DO NOT plan on bringing my daughter back here. If you are looking for a date night location or a place to grab some good drinks and snacks, this might be a good option for you. If you are traveling with teens or kids, go elsewhere.

Pros:

Good food and drinks

Cons:

crowded (on a weekend), not kid friendly, expensive
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by DisneyWifeyforLifey Review Date: 03/13/2022

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

I was super excited to celebrate completing one of the runDisney 5Ks with family at Wine Bar George. 60 days before my arrival (62 days before my actual reservation), I dutifully logged in at 6am to make my dining reservations, including a lunch reservation at WBG after my planned 5K run.

My party arrived at the restaurant about 20-30 minutes EARLY! The entire main level was completely empty. When I checked in with the hostess, she proceeded to tell me there were no available tables. In a room full of empty tables.

Two of the people in my party have mobility/handicap issues and require low seating with backs on their chairs. While waiting for our table to be ready, the two who needed help sat at a table in the empty main level. The hostess proceeded to tell them that they couldn't sit there because those tables were \"reserved for guests with reservations\". 1) There are 8 empty tables in this room and 2) WE HAVE A RESERVATION.

The hostess finally identified a table for us on the upper level, but it was a high top table. So she was going to put us at a high top table but give us low back chairs. Anyone who has passed 6th grade math knows that this does not fundamentally, geometrically work.

Thankfully, our fairy godfather was working upstairs. The server who ended up waiting on us that afternoon intercepted us as we were walking to our geometrically challenged table situation and offered us another table. A regular height table. with chairs. that had backs. We were not in his regular section but he went out of his way to intercept the insanity and take care of us.

We finally sat down to peruse the menu. The wines were quite overpriced. The small plates were, as defined, small. Our server was, truly our fairy godfather (who was well tipped for his efforts, by the way) and took great care of us, but the menu lacked variety and felt overpriced and pretentious.

Our server was great - he did the best he could to rectify the situation but it started off awful and just didn't get great. I was excited to try this restaurant on an adults only trip to Disney. I definitely would not bring my family, nor do I recommend it to others.

Oh and when we left.. the tables downstairs were still empty.

Pros:

My fairy godfather did his best to save the day!

Cons:

Rude staff at host station (not attentive to guest needs). Hostess insisted on seating us at a high top table with low chairs. Small plates are small. Limited menu. Wine feels overpriced. Not for picky eaters or those with special needs.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by rahbekah Review Date: 01/31/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We had such a great experience here. Our server was friendly and gave great recommendations for wines to pair with our tastes and what we were eating. We each got a few glasses of wine that were so delicious. We got the big charcuterie board, Mac and cheese bites, and meatballs, and every bite was amazing. Everything is expensive, of course, but I'm much more willing to pay more for well-curated wine and cheese than I am for almost any other meal in Disney Springs.

Pros:

Wine list with great recommendations, amazing food

Cons:

Small portions, pricy
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by scarrtoonspin Review Date: 01/03/2022

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is def one of my favorite restaurants on property. Food is really fresh and delicious. The atmosphere is so chill and I really like the casual, modern atmosphere. Last trip, we sat on the balcony and it was really nice to watch everything going on outside. The wine list can be a little intimidating, but I've found the staff to be helpful with picking something based on your preference and explaining different varietals that aren't as well known.

Pros:

I like that you can book either through MDE or through OpenTable. It's nice to have the option. Food is delicious and wine options are extensive and unique

Cons:

Food can be a little salty (easily fixed with more wine)
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by DisneyLifeEqualsHappyWife Review Date: 12/04/2021

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

The food here was absolutely delicious, but pricey for the portion size. We went hoping to serve our family of four (4 and 5 year old kids at the time) tapas style. We spent more than we wanted and the adults left still hungry. We also had heard it was ok to take kids there, so we took the plunge, but felt awkward with most people there having a romantic date. (To clarify though, the servers were very kind to our kids) We won’t be dining there again with family, but maybe as a date night someday.

Pros:

Delicious food

Cons:

Expensive, not family friendly
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Disney Springs Restaurants