Disney+ Categorizes Non-MCU Movies as Marvel Legacy Movies

In 2019, Disney acquired 20th Century Studios (formerly 21st Century Fox). The deal allowed for television shows like The Simpsons and Marvel movies made by the film franchise to be streamed on Disney+.

©20th Century Studios

Prior to the acquisition, 20th Century Studios produced a few films involving characters from the Marvel Universe. This includes the X-Men and Fantastic Four series. The Marvel films created by 20th Century have been moved to an entirely new category on Disney+, separating them from the Marvel films created by Disney. 

Noted by Screen Rant, the 20th Century Marvel movies have been placed into a category called Marvel Legacy. They no longer sharing a grouping with Disney-made films like the Avengers series, Guardians of the Galaxy, Iron Man, and more. The films created by Disney are a part of a category called Marvel Cinematic Universe.


This new category signals that the 20th Century movies have been made outside the universe that Disney has created using the Marvel characters. The separation may cause less confusion on Disney’s plot developments regarding characters already used in the Marvel Legacy films.


For now, the new category includes the X-Men and Fantastic Four sagas. The category may expand as Disney acquires the rights to more 20th Century films.

What’s your favorite Marvel movie? Let us know in the comments!

Join the AllEars.net Newsletter to stay on top of ALL the breaking Disney News! You'll also get access to AllEars tips, reviews, trivia, and MORE! Click here to Subscribe!

Click below to subscribe


Trending Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One Reply to “Disney+ Categorizes Non-MCU Movies as Marvel Legacy Movies”