Reviews of Citricos

Reviews

11

Rating

8.45 / 10

Recommended By

91%



View Menus at Citricos Dining Location

Children's Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American
Full Service Dinner

Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/citricos/dinner
Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/citricos/child-dinner

Reviewed by jannielane Review Date: 05/07/2019

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

We dined at Citricos on May 1, 2019. The atmosphere and service at the restaurant are excellent. The food, however, was a bit of a disappointment. Among three senior adults we had: salade verte, heirloom salad, Florida red snapper, filet mignon, chicken Mediterranean, and a side of mushroom. All three diners were somewhat disappointed with the entrees. I had the red snapper. The fish itself was well-prepared, moist and tender, but it was served over a murky sauce with fingerling potatoes mashed into the sauce. It looked muddy. The topping of raw fennel was quickly lost in the murk and was tasteless. The other diners reported that the chicken was bland and the filet was a bit tough. The mushroom side was a hit. Prices are way out of line with quality of the food and preparation, especially the filet.

The salade verte was reported to be good. The heirloom salad was overly fussy and the dressing was too tart. Desserts were good. We tried the pistachio cheesecake and the tropical fruit creme brulee.

I choose not to recommend this restaurant, because, overall, it is too expensive for the quality of the food, and the chef is overly ambitious and his dishes are too complicated. We felt let down after our meal.

Pros:

Lovely atmosphere; excellent and attentive service

Cons:

Food quality not equal to prices
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mawdryn Review Date: 11/11/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This has become our new favorite Signature restaurant. The food and service were exceptional.
We arrived about 20 minutes late for our reservation, but we did let them know we were going to be late, and were seated right away.
For appetizers, we shared the Citricos Crab Salad and Arancini. For our entree, my husband and I shared the Yellowtail Red Snapper. For dessert, we shared the Key Lime Pie. Everything was cooked to perfection with the right amount of time between each course. We look forward to dining here again...

Pros:

Food and Service

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mg0914 Review Date: 03/05/2017

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We visited Citricos at Grand Floridian for the first time on Christmas night. GF is so beautiful, especially at Christmas. We got there early so we'd have time to walk around, take a picture in front of their Christmas tree, see the gingerbread house, maybe shop and listen to the orchestra playing Christmas music. The atmosphere was perfect!

Once we checked in at Citricos we only waited a few minutes to be seated. The restaurant is very pretty. Our waitress was quick to take our order but we never felt rushed.

All in all the food was good. I had a crab cake app which was amazing, my entre, beef short ribs, were pretty good. My wife and both daughters liked their entrees but they were not as happy with their choices as I was. Two had chicken and one had filet.

I also very much enjoyed my salted caramel martini. The desserts were amazing - gingerbread cheesecake, tiramisu and chocolate banana tort.

It was a very good meal but I guess we set the bar a little too high. We all expected to be blown away by Citricos and so maybe we were a little disappointed. We've been to Narcoosee's and the GF Café and both were better. However, I'm sure we will go back someday.

Pros:

food was good, Grand Floridian is great

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by allec999 Review Date: 05/20/2016

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This place has a very nice atmosphere, and the food was quite good. Server was passionate about the food, but then he disappeared for long stretches; too long. Overall, it was a bit too expensive for the quality of the food. I'm happy to pay for a really nice fine dining experience, but this one was just a bit off the mark.

Pros:

Nice atmosphere

Cons:

Valule
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ileanrinaldi Review Date: 03/11/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

It was our first time at Citricos. But we are going to go back for sure!! the place is very nice, the chairs are very confortable, and everything is nice. We had a very attentive and funny server, and the food was very good. You can´t miss the chocolate banana cake, it is so nice that to eat it it´s a shame! (we ate it anyway, of course) The meal was excellent. Worth the two credits!

Pros:

the place, the food, the everything

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mharder Review Date: 02/07/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My wife and I had dinner at Citricos on Jan. 27. It completed our VGF "hat trick" after dining at Victoria and Alberts and Narcoosee's on prior trips. We had an absolutely wonderful meal. I am looking forward to a return visit.

I was wearing an "I'm celebrating" button. The staff wanted to know why (we had recently paid the last tuition bill for the youngest of our 4 children, which brought an end to 10 years of tuition payments!) and gave us special menus, which we were permitted to take home. They also comp'd glasses of champagne to help us celebrate.

Our waiter recommended the beef short ribs, which my wife had. She thought they were terrific. She was nice enough to share a bite and it was excellent - very tender.

I ordered the filet mignon medium rare. It was a touch rarer than I expected. I was fine with it that way, and if they are going to err, better to err on the undercooked side because that can be fixed. It was a generous piece of meat, very tender, very flavorful.

I also was very pleased with the wine list. We found a 2010 cabernet from a smaller producer, which went perfectly with our entrees.

Our waiter was appropriately attentive and made recommendations that proved accurate. He took time to review the menu, answer several questions, and had a great sense of humor - all without getting in the way.

We have this on the list of restaurants at WDW again on a future trip. I would definitely recommend Citiricos.

Pros:

the food, the service, everything

Cons:

nothing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Ladies4Disney Review Date: 04/17/2014

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We always eat at Citricos on our trips to Walt Disney World. Unfortunately, this meal was not so great. Hoping it was just an off night, but one of us ordered a steak. It was not prepared to what was ordered. The steak was sent back, but it still was not prepared correctly the second time, and it was tough--not the quality a filet mignon should have at this kind of restaurant. I ordered the Wild Bass and that was very good. Desserts and appetizers--no complaints. Would try this restaurant again in the future based on past experiences.

Pros:

Atmosphere, Service

Cons:

Had bad entree.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by melody Review Date: 11/13/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Usually we love eating at Citricos to the point where we try to eat there twice. However, on this trip, the food was lacking. I can tell how prices go up but food goes down. Typically the filet is served in a large bowl with lots of sauce, but this time my filet was on a tiny appetizer plate with no sauce. Very, very dry filet and only 1/2 cup of mashed potatoes. My husband and mom got the black grouper and it was a very tiny piece of fish than the usual large piece. We were disappointed big time. But, ask for John (waiter) - he is fantastic!

Pros:

service

Cons:

food
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by AndyE Review Date: 09/22/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Dined here on 21st September, a great evening, great service and wonderful food, I had the veal shank (ideal for hungry tummies), Keryn had braised ribs, both cooked to perfection.

Pros:

The location, the service, the food

Cons:

Nothing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mgilmore Review Date: 03/21/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Dined here for the first time on Thurs March 8th 2013.

I really enjoyed everything about the meal.
My server presented me with a personalized menu that said Happy Birthday, and my full name on it.

My server was professional and knowledgable.
I ordered the Sauteed shrimp appetizer...WOW this was so good. I would have eaten 2 more bowls of it. It was delicious.

For my entree I ordered the Filet. It was nicely presented atop barley risotto, with a cabernet demi-glace. It was cooked at a perfect medium as ordered.

For dessert I had coffee and Chocolate lava cake with belgium chocolate crown. It was heavenly.
My server also presented me with a special birthday dessert that had a small cone with a scoop of gelato, and a chocolate decoration that said "happy birthday" and a whipped cream with a birthday candle. It was really nice!

I was so happy with my meal and service at Citricos. I plan to dine here again.

Pros:

Great service and cuisine

Cons:

None that I experienced.
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Grand Floridian Resort and Spa