Reviews of Gasparilla Island Grill

Reviews

16

Rating

8.06 / 10

Recommended By

88%



Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Gasparilla Island Grill

Services: Quick Service

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 08/06/2021

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We stayed at the GF Villas, and ate at Gasparilla multiple times. I’ll break down what was good and not so good at each meal. At all points, it was clean and the staff were friendly and efficient.

Breakfast- Coffees were great- we ordered Caramel Macchiatos every morning. The croissant sandwiches were really good and Mickey waffles were too. I’d recommend for breakfast.

Lunch/Dinner- the burgers are just ok. Typical CS burger. The chicken/Brie sandwich is delicious- I recommend that. The kids’ Mac and cheese side is ridiculous. $4 for a tiny cup of Mac and when I say tiny, I mean like the size of a cup of oil/vinegar with a hoagie. The pizza was typical CS pizza.

Pros:

Great staff, clean, good breakfast- croissant sandwiches and waffles, specialty coffees, Chicken & Brie sandwich

Cons:

Burgers and pizza just ok, tiny Mac and Cheese for $4 (stay away!)
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by ProfM Review Date: 01/20/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Hands down the rudest staff of any restaurant at the park. It was my first time using mobile order and the staff was demeaning to me about how the process worked. I was told to "figure it out" and return later.

Pros:

None

Cons:

Rude staff.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by mawdryn Review Date: 03/31/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My husband and I popped into Gasparilla Island Grill on March 21st before Wishes to grab a treat. We picked out an almond fruit tart and it was delicious!!! Service was fast and friendly.

Pros:

Fast Service and Great Selection for Counter service

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Tanasigirl Review Date: 09/27/2016

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We grabbed a snack here on the evening of September 12, 2016. We like to tour the monorail resorts on our first night, so we popped in and shared a Cuban panini with cucumber salad. Very flavorful and plenty for me and my hubby.

The best part about this little gem is the view of Cinderella's castle from your table. You don't have to pay the big bucks to have a nice, relaxing view.

Pros:

Nice view

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by LISAE Review Date: 08/16/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was so good we ate hear three times in two weeks despite staying over at Caribbean Beach Resort and not at the Grand Floridian.
We stayed at the GF almost ten years ago and liked this quick service restaurant at the time. Since the refurb a few years ago there are far more indoor tables.
I confess I stuck to the create your own salad bar on all three visits. You choose your leaf base (European leaves or Romaine) then add steak or chicken and then a cast member fills your salad bowl along a huge choice of salads from the basic cucumber, tomato etc to the more unusual chick peas, peas and broccoli - finally you choose the dressing you would like. Awesome.
My daughter also had the salad three times but she tried both the chicken and steak.
My son had the salad once and the burger (which he thought was excellent) and the pizza (more bread than pizza).
Dessert choice is not as good as you would expect from here although I did have a very nice German chocolate cake on the first trip; we tended to stick to the generic apples with caramel or fruit salad on the vast majority of trips.
You can reach here easily from the MK and it makes a perfect break whether visiting by boat or monorail.
Finally, we had the most friendly service ever from the delightful Cat and her friend Cindy.
What more could you ask for?

Pros:

Best counter service salad and fabulous service

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jchuges7 Review Date: 11/09/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Left Magic Kingdom to get away from the crowds and have lunch here after I did my research and found the menu for Gasparilla Island Grill. Knew I had to try the Grand Gaspy burger and it did not disappoint. The burger with the cheddar and pulled pork was incredible. It was the only burger I had all week but I know this would have been the best even if I had tried others. Came with a side of homemade chips which were crisp and seasoned well. Fiance had the chef's special which was a cajun salmon sandwich. We were both blown away by the quality of food for a QS location. Easily the best QS we have experienced.

Usually the desserts for QS were standard and just ok. Here the cupcakes were something very special! I went with the lemon blueberry while my fiance had German chocolate. Both had moist cakes with plentiful toppings, some of the best desserts we had on our trip. We also brought along our Rapid Refill mugs so we could grab a bottled drink for our DDP credit.

Definitely worth the trip if you are staying at or near Grand Floridian if you need a QS meal that is of a higher caliber. We enjoyed the calm, quiet setting after being at Magic Kingdom all morning. Certainly will be back in the future!

Pros:

Best QS location in WDW, fresh food, cupcakes

Cons:

A little off the beaten path unless staying at resort
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by monorailmom Review Date: 05/24/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

DH and I ate here a few times during our recent stay. For breakfast, he had a side order of scrambled eggs and toast (generous portions!) and I had the kids' Mickey waffles which was really good. Dinner one night was a hot dog for him which was fine, and I had the salad with flank steak which was excellent. It was never crowded in there, and we easily found tables and could refill our mugs without waiting.

Pros:

Food was excellent!

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by lamystreaux Review Date: 01/28/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Great qs option at the posh GF resort! We enjoyed the variety and that most everything is still made to order. We enjoyed the pizzas, the strombolis, the create your own salad option, and the breakfast options are great!

Pros:

variety

Cons:

none
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by alexandergirl68 Review Date: 10/13/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I made a trip over from the MK by boat to have a quiet lunch and it was great.
I tried the Cuban sandwich on 10/8 which was very good. The dining area was nice and air conditioned on a hot day and I was able to sit and relax for a while without the crowds of the park and with better food.

Pros:

Food and dining area

Cons:

none
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by bellebookworm9 Review Date: 09/27/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My friend and I ate here for lunch on 8/19 after a morning at the GF pool. I ordered the cheese flatbread and a dish of soft serve ice cream. He had the Grand Gaspy Burger. I was pleased to see that they had expanded and re-done the seating area since the last time I visited; it looks much nicer now.

The cashier charged me for a chicken caesar salad rather than what I had ordered, but I didn't notice until after I had sat down. It was only a $1.50 difference so I didn't complaint, but that was a bit annoying.

Burger and pizza were good.

Pros:

Good flatbread and burger, revamped seating area

Cons:

Cashier charged me too much for wrong item
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Grand Floridian Resort and Spa