Reviews of Disney Transportation Boat, Monorail, Bus, & Skyliner

Reviews

62

Rating

7.39 / 10

Recommended By

90%



Review Disney World's overall transportation offerings, or click individual forms of transportation to review them specifically!

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/30/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Rode the Skyliner for the first time the evening of Friday, October 26th, in the pouring rain (we closed the Windows so we wouldn't get wet). The ride was really smooth. We were four couples in the first gondola going to CB. We laughed and had a good time. We transferred to the next gondola at CB going to Pop and had just as great a trip. I have nothing bad to say about the Skyliner. I'd ride it all day if I could.

Pros:

Quick and quiet. You always get a seat, no standing. A comfortable ride compared to the buses. Fun. Great views.

Cons:

Can get warm during the heat of the day (but you all expected that).
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by sand935 Review Date: 10/29/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended


When I see rain coming in I like to ride the monorail until the rain stops. It is like riding an attraction and the views are great

Pros:

like an attraction gets you out of the rain for a while

Cons:

cars can get crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JGundling Review Date: 10/29/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I love riding and using the monorail system to get around Disney World. It's like you are on another ride in the parks. It's a lot of fun. I enjoyed using the monorail system to hop onto a different monorail to get from Magic Kingdom park to Epcot. The center is very convenient and there are always Disney staff members to assist you if you should get lost. I enjoyed hopping on and off and visiting the other Disney resorts near Magic Kingdom.

Pros:

You can ride the monorail to visit Disney resorts near Magic Kingdom (i.e., The Grand Floridian Resort).

Cons:

There can be a long line/wait for the monorail from Magic Kingdom as it does seem to be the most popular park.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Cheryl Review Date: 10/29/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I LOVE the boats! I love the sounds and the gentle movement of the boat as it glides across the water. I love that I get to relax a bit and enjoy a few quiet moments.

Pros:

The smaller boats that travel between resorts and have short jaunts to the parks are great! They aren't as crowded and when we are able to sit in the bow of the boat and feel the wind and sun, the experience is even more wonderful!

Cons:

Not all boats are created equal. While the smaller vessels are great, the larger ones don't seem to offer the same appeal. They are usually more crowded and seating is more difficult to find. There are similarities in the experiences, but the larger boats, such as the ferry and the Friendship boats, do not offer the same enjoyment.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Spacecadet Review Date: 10/29/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Disney World bus transportation is excellent considering the crowds. Sometimes the wait can seem long but you meet so many new people while waiting that the time seems to go by quickly. Kudos to the bus drivers. We all know how excited and full of energy everyone is in the morning but these drivers keep everyone happy at day's end with their stories and jokes. When you can get a tired crowd to smile and laugh you have certainly done your job well. Thanks to all those drivers who work at keeping us happy!

Pros:

Great drivers and quick rides.

Cons:

Long lines to get on the bus during peak times.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MickeyPlace16 Review Date: 10/29/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We love to take the boat ride that connects the Boardwalk with Epcot and the Studios. It is a great way to relax and take in the sights. At night it is magical to see all the lights.

Pros:

relaxing

Cons:

sometimes it can get a little hot
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by grammie523 Review Date: 10/29/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My family of 4 used Disney Buses every day of our 7 day trip early October. The times guide on the MDE app were spot on with accuracy, from our resort to the parks. We could stay in our room until about 7 minutes before the posted arrival time, go out to the bus & get right on. Very convenient! The longest we had to wait for a bus at a theme park, to return to our resort, was 15 minutes & that was only because there was a wreck & it took the bus a little longer to reach Magic Kingdom. We got to ride on 1 of the new Mickey buses & they are awesome! Love these new buses & hopefully we will get to ride more of the new ones on our trip next year. A lot of people don't like to ride the buses, but for us, they are fabulous!

Pros:

No parking fees & no driving after a long day in the parks!

Cons:

My only complaint is when you have to share a bus with other resorts, but this trip, that only happened once.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by magicalhoss Review Date: 10/27/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

love the transportation Boats are the best, very relaxing. Buses, can have long waits, but still better than navigating on your own. Monorail needs some tlc. I have not used the skyway but can't wait to use. I do solo trips and find the WDW transportation an added perk. from the time I step off the plane, until I return to the airport.

Pros:

less stress...

Cons:

can be long waits, monorail needs to be refreshed.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Boblyn Review Date: 10/27/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I hear a lot of complaints about the Disney Bus system but in my experience it’s the best was to get around. We stayed at Disney’s Old Key West from 10/6-10/22. During that time the Disney buses were our maid mode of transport. The My Disney Experience app shows what time the next bus is due to arrive at the bus stop so there is no need to rush out of your room only to find that you’ve just missed your bus and now have to wait 20 minutes at the bus stop.
The drivers are always friendly. The buses are always cool and clean. Do you sometimes have to stand on an overcrowded bus when you leave the parks. Yes, but it’s still easy and convenient. Plus, I love watching all of the over-stimulated children quickly lulled to sleep by the rocking bus when the lights go out

Pros:

Convenient, Dependable, Clean, Cool

Cons:

Sometimes a long wait and crowded when leaving the park at the end of the night.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Boblyn Review Date: 10/27/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

I was at WDW 10/6-10/22. During that time I rode Disney’s Skyliner once, right after it re-opened after the big breakdown. I took it round trip from the EPCOT station. As soon as we took off it stopped for about 10 minutes. We were on a full car of 8 adults. It got very warm very quickly. We soon started up again and the rest of the ride was uneventful. My take aways from my single round trip ride (does that count as two rides?) are;
*It’s a quick way to get from the parks to the Resorts serviced.
*The ride is not as smooth as I’d expected. There are many bumpy, jostling points.
*The view is spectacular. We rode it just as theEPCOT Fireworks were starting and the view was outstanding.
*Disney should consider piping in the music from the fireworks.
*I don’t believe the Skyliner will comfortably hold 10 people as they state. Our car had 8 adults. Anything more would have been too much and a stroller or wheelchair would never have fit in with us.
*Temperature wise we were comfortable though it was at night without the relentless Florida sun. For the short time our gondola was stopped it got very warm very quickly. I would hate to think about how hot it would be in the middle of the afternoon.

Pros:

Quick ride to the resorts. Amazing views, especially of the EPCOT fireworks

Cons:

Worry about loading more than 8 adults in one gondola The gondola gets hot very quickly when it stops.
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 7

Other topics in WALT DISNEY WORLD TRANSPORTATION