Disney’s Proxy Battle Has FINALLY Come to an End

The Walt Disney Company has been in the midst of a proxy battle for board seats.


Nelson Peltz and Jay Rasulo have been campaigning to get themselves elected to Disney’s board, though the company has not been quiet in denouncing the duo’s efforts. Disney nominated its own set of candidates, and now, we officially have the results of that vote.

At the 2024 Walt Disney Company Annual Meeting of Shareholders on April 3rd, we learned that the full slate of Disney’s nominees had been approved.


Disney had previously made it clear that the board did not endorse the nominations of Nelson Peltz and James Rasulo put forth by Trian Fund Management, L.P., and its affiliates, led by Nelson Peltz and supported by former Disney executive Isaac Perlmutter (collectively, the “Trian Group”).

©Getty Images via The Hollywood Reporter | Nelson Peltz and Jay Rasulo are campaigning for seats on Disney’s board of directors.

Here’s a look at Disney’s nominees, who have been voted onto the board officially:

  • Mary T. Barra — Chair and Chief Executive Officer of General Motors Co.
  • Safra A. Catz — Chief Executive Officer of Oracle Corp. and its former President
  • Amy L. Chang — former senior executive at Cisco Systems, Inc. and Google and a current director of Procter & Gamble Co.
  • D. Jeremy Darroch — former Executive Chairman and Group Chief Executive Officer of Sky
  • Carolyn N. Everson — former senior executive at Instacart, Meta Platforms, Inc. and Microsoft Corp. and a current director of The Coca-Cola Co. and Under Armour Inc.
  • Michael B.G. Froman — President of the Council on Foreign Relations and former Vice Chairman and President, Strategic Growth at Mastercard Inc.
  • James P. Gorman — Executive Chairman and former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Morgan Stanley
  • Robert A. Iger — Disney’s Chief Executive Officer, formerly also served as Chairman
  • Maria Elena Lagomasino — Chief Executive Officer and Managing Partner of WE Family Offices and a former senior executive at JP Morgan Private Bank and Chase Manhattan Bank and a current director of The Coca-Cola Co.
  • Calvin R. McDonald — Chief Executive Officer of lululemon athletica inc.
  • Mark G. Parker — serves as Chairman of the Disney Board, is Executive Chairman of NIKE, Inc. and its former Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Derica W. Rice. — former senior executive at CVS Health Corp. and Eli Lilly and Co. and a current director of The Carlyle Group Inc., Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., and Target Corp.
Cinderella Castle

In addition to voting on the new Board of Directors, shareholders also voted on several proposals, both from Disney itself and other organizations. Disney’s proposals were approved, while all others did not pass.

We’ll have to wait and see how this vote impacts the future of Disney, if at all. In the meantime, stay tuned to AllEars for the latest Disney news!

I Was a Disney World Cast Member. Here Are My Top Tips for 2024.

Join the AllEars.net Newsletter to stay on top of ALL the breaking Disney News! You'll also get access to AllEars tips, reviews, trivia, and MORE! Click here to Subscribe!

Click below to subscribe

Are you a Disney shareholder? Tell us in the comments.

Trending Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *