Reviews of Blizzard Beach

Reviews

24

Rating

8.50 / 10

Recommended By

96%



Blizzard Beach is a themed water park ski resort with slushy, slippery, exhilarating slopes and rides.

http://allears.net/btp/bb.htm

Reviewed by Lou28 Review Date: 01/16/2013

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Thankfully we got here early and got to ride the more popular rides before the crowds poured in. Teamboat Springs is a really fun family ride. The chair lift line got so long that we opted to climb the stairs. I know I'm not in the best shape, but I thought I was going to have a heart attack...so many stairs! The lines for most rides were nearly an hour. The Creek was packed! It was wall-to-wall inner tubes (if you could even get a tube). Many people were just walking along the creek. Also, it was hard to find chairs, although they were mostly empty. As is often the case, people "reserve" chairs with a towel and never use them. My biggest complaint is about the rough/dangerous surfaces on the bottom of the pools. My husband flipped off his raft at the bottom of a slide and had about 15 inches of cuts and scrapes along his back. We had to go to first aid for numerous large bandages. Later in the day my daughter was knocked down by the waves in wave pool and cut her knee. Back to first aid again. I was sorry for my daughter and husband, but also felt disgusted to think this happens to others and how much blood gets in the water. After 20+ trips I can finally say I went to Blizzard Beach, but I'm not rushing to get back. The best thing would be to get there early, rides the big rides, eat some donuts (yum!) and leave, but given the price of tickets that's an expensive few hours. Wear water shoes...surfaces are rough and hot.

Pros:

teamboat springs, donuts

Cons:

crowded, long lines, rough surfaces, lots of stair climbing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Jhayes Review Date: 03/10/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We visited in early November with 80 degree weather. The water was plenty warm. We arrived at opening, and were able to ride every slide with zero wait. The Pina Coladas are excellent. We spent an hour just enjoying the looong lazy river.

Pros:

Best Water Slides and Lazy River

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by beck9497 Review Date: 06/03/2013

Rating: (4)
Recommended

Only been here twice and couldn't really remember much but didn't take long to figure out why I love Typhoon Lagoon much more. It had stormed on 05/29/13 and there was so much trash (leaves, sticks and other tree stuff) in the lazy river it wasn't even refreshing. Wave pool was so crowded you couldn't enjoy it it needs to be bigger to accomodate the crowds.

Pros:

Frozen Coffees

Cons:

Wave Pool & Lazy River
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by cop447 Review Date: 06/08/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I took my boys ages 11 and 14 to the water park to try something different then the big four parks on property. We opened the park at 9am and closed with it at 6pm that evening. The boys loved the amount of water slides to go on and went over and over again. We had a rainstorm that nearly cleared the park so we didn't have lines later in the day. Small children would like Typhoon Lagoon better but for tweens and teenagers who like adventure this is your park. If you like water slides I would recommend being in good shape as you will climb a lot of stairs. The lazy river is relaxing and the beach is very nice at the wave pool. The wave pool is not as big as it needed to be and can get very crowded. A fun day overall with great themes.

Pros:

Water slides

Cons:

Small wave pool
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by peytonshea02 Review Date: 06/23/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We had our very first waterpark adventure in May. I added the Water Parks & more option to our tickets so we could have some new experiences. We arrived at the Park before it opened. We grabbed a great set of chairs near the zip line thingy. Then we were off...
The good ~ We had a blast on many of the rides/slides. My kids had a laugh and a half at my expense when they told me Slush Gusher was the water rollercoaster. (WRONG ride and WRONG Park!) - Imagine my surprise when they sent me flying down a ginourmous slide - which, by the way, looks much more innocent when you are standing at the top of the hill in shock that your are not on the ride you thought you were on. The Teamboat Springs was a blast! - We did a few other and had fun.
The bad ~ GOOD LORD you do some serious stair climbing! One particular ride had 3 different slides..which required us to climb 18 flights of stairs each time...in the heat..while carrying our tubes! I swear I am not in that bad of shape and I honestly didn't think I was going to make it all the way up!
Cross Country Creek was far from relaxing...It was a sea of people...and I had strangers feet in my face while I got sprayed by ice cold water on more than one occasion. :/
We had an average lunch, then called it a day. We were exhausted and by that time it was just wall to wall people.
We are glad we experienced BB - but we were so done in by it, we couldn't even muster the strength to try Typhoon Lagoon later in the week. Not sure if that would have been a better fit for us?

Pros:

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by AddictedtoDisney Review Date: 08/17/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

First time ever here and I loved it. I saw that on our next visit we get to rent out space to have a better chance of shade. It was nice to see that there is a actual area where you sit and watch the daring climb up to Summit Plummit and come down screaming...:D good times!!!!!

Pros:

So much to do, the layout the snow, fun fun fun

Cons:

nothing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Mich97 Review Date: 08/29/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

The wave pool is nice and so is the lazy river. Plenty of slides. And Ski Patrol Training Camp is a lot of fun for pre-teens. Lounge chairs can be harder to find if you aren't there first thing in the morning.

Pros:

Slides

Cons:

Lounge chairs
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jessicahs Review Date: 11/11/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We had not been to BB in about 16 years but with our PAP we wanted to go and TL was closed for rehab. Our 7 year old daughter loved it! She went on slides and rides all day. Great place, OK food choices. My parents came and mother is unable to walk much and was on a scooter. TL GAVE us a "patio" that normally rents for $250 a day so that she didn't have to take her scooter on the sand! WOW! Nothing is ever FREE in WDW but we made out at TL! Will return!

Pros:

low crowds, fun slides for adventurous kids

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by roneeh Review Date: 03/25/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The highlight of my 10 year old son was Blizzard Beach. He wanted to get there at 10 when they opened and we were there until 5 when they closed. He absolutely loves the "zip line" in the ski camp area. We went on March 21 and the temp that day was about 80. THe park was not crowded at all and there weren't any waits for the water slides. One of the lifeguards said that the water parks usually aren't crowded on days with highs below 80 or cool in the morning which worked out great for us. The water is heated to a comfortable temperature so the cool morning didn't bother us.

Pros:

wasnt crowded

Cons:

needs to be open longer hours
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by manatee2420 Review Date: 07/21/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We went for an afternoon. The man at the gift shop looked at our bags and told us we could fit them all into a large locker. If they tell you that, don't believe them. A large locker ended up holding only a regular sized backpack. We had to go wait in line again to rent another locker. The lines were fairly short while we were there except at the Downhill Double Dipper. It said 30 minutes, so we got in line. I didn't have a watch on, but the wait had to be at least an hour. There was no apparent reason for this except maybe people taking too long to get ready at the top of the ride. Anyway, the ride was not worth it being so short. Teamboat Springs was awesome! We also enjoyed the lazy river. Beware that the water falling on you is ice cold. Even in the summer heat, this did NOT feel refreshing!

Pros:

great job at cooling pavement

Cons:

inaccurate wait times, small lockers
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3

Other topics in WATER PARKS at WDW