Reviews of Disney Genie+ — WDW

Reviews

27

Rating

4.74 / 10

Recommended By

41%



Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/19/2022

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

Horrible. Especially as you pay extra.

Pros:

None. Go back to Fastpass

Cons:

Everything. Confusing, expensive
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/10/2022

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Honestly the worst interface experience I have ever had with an app. It try’s to do to many things and therefore does nothing well! We went in December and won’t be going back until some of this nonsense is gone.

Pros:

Honestly it does nothing well.

Cons:

Where do I start. Too many users so it is slow and crashes often. Having to wake up at 7am every day of vacation. Difficult to order food online. Wouldn’t link my Disney rewards. Pay extra to get a chance at a fastpass but no guarantee at any. Honestly go back to paper fast passes better system. The way it is set up now you spend the entire day walking back and forth across the parks. I could go on and on but I’ll spare you.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/08/2022

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

All depends on luck to get a lightning lane. It's the old fast pass system but they charge you for it and there are no guarantees you will make it in time to book them.

Pros:

Might be able to get more than three passes

Cons:

Have to be up before 7am to get anything in the morning. This used to be cost included with a Disney property hotel or resort
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/07/2022

Rating: (3)
Recommended

Genie plus is not optional in my opinion, without it you entry fee will be wasted standing in line to go on 3-4 rides in an entire day. For my family of 5 it was $80/day and required a 7am wake up every day because many popular rides were booked full by 7:30am. Having it also had us running back and forth across the parks to make our lightning times when we tried to maximize its usefulness. We tried a day without it at animal kingdom and basically rode 3 rides the whole day. Standby queues were 90-180minutes by midday lightning lanes cut it down to 15-30. Presumably due to the employee shortages many shows and shops were closed which meant more people in lines for rides. Most people we spoke to were really disappointed on Disney for the obvious money-grabbing trap that genie + and LL are. I’m going to say recommended but know that’s because it’s bad but standby is worse.

Pros:

Reduced waits and can pack in more per day particularly if you don’t intend to return to the park or utilize the early entry hours.

Cons:

Exhausting having to zig zag across the park for available LL times. Price add on seems mandatory if you want to experience new rides. Makes standby queues worse.
2 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Keila Review Date: 01/05/2022

Rating: (5)
Recommended

Do I like paying for Disney Genie+? No. Do I prefer FastPass? Yes. However, I will say that I have paid for Genie+ and have had both bad and good experiences with it. I like that passes have to be booked to same day, since with Fastpass, most were gone for the good rides. However, I hate that you can only book the time that appears on the app in that moment. I think you should be able to book ahead of time because you may be in a long line or have a conflicting show/dining reservation. I only consider using Genie+ when I'm park hopping or spending half a day in one park.

Pros:

-Same day reservations means more availability. -Works for multiple parks in the same day. -"unlimited" lightning lanes IF you get lucky. -I recommend IF you're short on time.

Cons:

-Makes you stare at your phone all day and doesn't let you enjoy the parks. I have to keep reloading hoping for an earlier time of LL. -HATE that if you make a change, your 2 hour clock resets!!! -costs money
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Scottyt Review Date: 01/05/2022

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Genie plus is the worst!!!! If replaced the free Fastpass+ and is horrible. Anyone that writes a review otherwise is not telling you the truth. I am a Vacation club member for almost 20 years and have never been so frustrated. I am aprox $600 in for extra rides that used to be free and have waited longer than ever before. You MUST get up everyday before 7am if you want any chance to get a LL for a popular attraction. If you don’t than you absolutely shouldn’t pay for this service. As it is, you may get in 3 rides at most anyway using LL entrance. I understand that Disney needs to make money but to redesign a system and make it so much worse than what we were getting for free is inexcusable. You can’t even make a modification of the time once booked. Only way to change is to cancel which you can’t risk. I have been coming my whole life and will not be back until this is resolved. Judging by lines, not sure Disney cares.

Pros:

Maybe you get on 1 popular ride

Cons:

Must wake up early everyday/ no preregistration for any rides /no time modifications
2 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/01/2022

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

No times it was a joke

Pros:

No pros no difference than just waiting in lines

Cons:

It was extra money for a service you couldn't use
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by BookishPrincess Review Date: 12/31/2021

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Not only are you paying for something that was once free, but the fact you have to wake 7:00 am to plan your vacation day is my biggest complaint. Having to be on the phone most of the time is also frustrating. Nice concept, but personally I think it could’ve been executed better.

Pros:

- Custom itinerary and more

Cons:

- Battery draining - Cost
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/31/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Worst thing Disney had ever done

Pros:

None

Cons:

Too crowded, once you purchase it you can't get but maybe one ride before time or availability runs out, so uou have wasted your money
2 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Kook Review Date: 12/28/2021

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

If you take the financial aspect out of the equation (which you really can't ever do with Disney), the idea isn't terrible. But, because this "feature" is 100% driven by Disney management's goal of maximizing profits in the short term at the potential expense of losing long term loyal fans, it's just not good.

Disney has always made "profit-driven" decisions, as does any successful company. Having said that, there have always been a few lines (no pun intended) they did not cross. Until now, charging extra to skip lines was one of them.

The entire business model of this "feature" is literally: PAY US MORE MONEY TO GET IN FRONT OF PEOPLE WHO DID NOT PAY US MORE MONEY.

It may not show up in the bottom line right away, but Disney is burning some of the good will they had built with their loyal customers over the year by rolling this out. Obviously, not everyone will hate Genie+. In fact, there will be many that love it. I am not one of those people and I know many others that also are not.

Pros:

If the additional cost (on top of what you've already paid for your Disney vacation) doesn't bother you, then I'm sure you'll spend less time waiting in lines.

Cons:

Yet another instance of Disney management looking to squeeze every last penny out of their loyal customers.
1 User found this helpful.

Other topics in Disney World Genie