Reviews of Conservation Station – Rafiki’s Planet Watch

Reviews

12

Rating

4.75 / 10

Recommended By

50%



Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/29/2021

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Same thing you do when you go to pet supermarket look at pets

Pros:

None

Cons:

Wasting time
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by AdventurelandFan Review Date: 03/15/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

If you have someone in your group who's interested in drawing, this is a hidden gem. Having attended several of the "learn to draw" events on both coasts, this one is by far my favourite.

While you wouldn't immediately think that Animal Kingdom is a natural home for such an event, Conservation Station turns out to be the perfect home. Not only is the train ride to the station quite "Walt-esque", the drawing challenge is infinitely more interesting than the standard "learn-to-draw-Mickey" found in, say, Disney California Adventure. Here, you're drawing Rafiki, Scar — more detailed animals with genuine attitude.

On top of that, if you're lucky, you might actually see some veterinary science going on in one of the several on-site labs.

Finally, if you're at all interested in "backstage Disney", this is the only way you're going to get much of a glimpse of it at Animal Kingdom without buying a separate ticket. The train ride to and from the joint inevitably passes through some areas normally kept away from guests. If you're a fan of the Animal Kingdom documentary series on Disney+, this is the cheapest way to see where those vets work, if only briefly.

So while I can understand the complaint that the petting zoo part of the complex might be a little underwhelming, I thought it was a great way to spend an hour or two. But don't do it in the morning — that's when you should be on safari or otherwise checking out the live animal areas of the park.

Pros:

Fundamentally great for any budding artists in your gang. The train ride is really the only genuine train on property until the MK train re-opens. If you like peeking backstage at Disney, this is the only non-paid way you have of pulling back the curtain at Animal Kingdom. Finally, you might see some actual veterinary science happening.

Cons:

If you don't care about any of the listed pros, this just isn't gonna work for you.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 02/22/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

There isn’t much to do other than look at goats and cows which I can do at home waste of time.

Pros:

None

Cons:

Takes forever to get on the train to get here and longer to get back.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by tga1828 Review Date: 11/30/2020

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

Same thing as the affection section. Boring

Pros:

None

Cons:

Boring
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MegYavoich Review Date: 10/29/2020

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

While this does have that educational feel to it that is classic to a lot of Disney experiences it was quite underwhelming for my family, both young and old. I'm glad we did it once to see what it was all about, but we would probably not return until there were some major changes to the area.

Pros:

Nice train ride to and from. Educational.

Cons:

Not exciting or thrilling in any way. All ages in our party found it to be a bit boring.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Aussie Review Date: 06/13/2020

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Only saw the animal farm that had a bunch of goats and a really weird looking chicken

Pros:

Nice to pat and interact with animals. Good for kids

Cons:

Being an adult I think I could pass patting a goat and still having a brilliant time at Animal Kingdom
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Shularc Review Date: 04/24/2020

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Great place to learn, meet animals and to Learn to Draw the Characters.

Pros:

family fun

Cons:

not popular enough
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/18/2020

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Hit or miss

Pros:

Great character interaction with short lines. Liked when they brought a snake out for the kids to learn about and touch.

Cons:

We’ve never seen any kind of veterinarian procedures happening
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Morganne Review Date: 03/30/2020

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Who doesn’t love a petting zoo?!? The train ride on the way there is also fun for kids

Pros:

Get to pet some baby goats. The train ride there is also lovely

Cons:

Can be boring for adults
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by sburs15 Review Date: 01/29/2020

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

Seems like kinda a pointless area in my opinion? Not much to do there, kinda a waste of space.

Pros:

Gives you a thing to do if lines are long.

Cons:

No attractions, a few animals...
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Animal Kingdom Rides and Attractions