Reviews of Cape May Cafe Clam Bake Dinner

Reviews

63

Rating

7.65 / 10

Recommended By

86%



Other Menus at Cape May Cafe

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Cape May Cafe

Services: Buffet/All You Care to Eat

Reviewed by retired605 Review Date: 03/31/2022

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My husband and I ate here for the first time since the restaurant reopened. Other then having to pay $30 for a pound of crab legs things are much like before. The buffet still has the clams, mussels and steamed shrimp. Salmon was on the buffet the night we were there and was excellent. The buffet also has the best New England clam chowder ever. Service is just OK but it is a buffet so not that important.
We are happy this buffet is back!

Pros:

Food!

Cons:

Nothing
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Oscar Review Date: 02/28/2022

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Pre-Covid, we would eat here a couple of times each year. We did not try out eating here while table service was in effect. When it was switched back to buffet, we decided to give it a try. We were (are) very unhappy that they are now charging $29.99/lb. for crab legs on top of the $42+ for the buffet. That is a really excessive charge for the crab legs. We decided to try the buffet without adding on crab legs. The last time we ate there, July 2018, the food was okay at best. This time, the food was fresh and hot/cold as served. We enjoyed what was on the buffet and tried just about everything. It didn't seem that there was as much to choose from, but what there was had good flavor. Fewer salads, no cheese board, just one kind of dinner roll. My husband enjoyed the clams, mussels and HUGE shrimp and decided he didn't need the overpriced crab legs. My top items were the seafood pasta salad, the HUGE shrimp the beef roast and the mashed potatoes. Based on current prices for food at WDW, $42 seemed fairly reasonable for what is offered. We do remember the time (years ago) when crab legs were not included as an 'all you care to eat' item on the buffet and you had to pay extra for each pound of crab legs, but it's difficult to go back and not have them on the buffet.

Pros:

Food was fresh

Cons:

Ridiculous price for crab legs
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by PolynesionStitch Review Date: 02/06/2022

Rating: (7)
Recommended

I had dinner at this restaurant recently. Food was ok, nothing to write home about. Desserts were cute but also not great. Service was good. Right now food is brought to your table, which is nicer than having to go up to a buffet. Overpriced for the overall experience.

Pros:

- Easy to get a last minute reservations - Family Style (you can get more of everything) - Options for picker eaters, and more adventurous eaters.

Cons:

- Expensive considering the food quality.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 08/20/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Just went to this restaurant in January of last year and it is now one of my favorites in Disney world. The food is really good and the desserts are amazing. Haven’t been since they went family style but the food all probably is still good.

Pros:

Good food, good setting, has a character breakfast

Cons:

Don’t have any
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 08/19/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

So nasty…..and so overpriced…ate here 8/18/21 wasn’t sure what to expect but deluxe hotel and delux prices?? Yeah not worth it save your money….

Pros:

Nothing

Cons:

Everything
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 06/24/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Have been coming to CapeMay dinner buffet for many years. Just came out of the new non buffet dinner with the worst experience ever. All of the 5 courses were thrown on the table together within 3 minutes so essentially we were eating all of our food cold. The lobster Mac n cheese did not have.a shred of lobster to be seen. When you wanted more of anything it was simply added to your table. Nothing was ever cleared away nor did we ever get another clean plate. Very unappertizing. We complained about needing our table cleared and the servers did not have a good attitude as though this is the way it is. I asked to speak to a manager who listened to my suggestions to improve service and she didn’t comment but said I will pass this on. Only when I said I would not be returning again unless things were improved did she say sorry to hear that. Please consider all these suggestions to assure a truly wonderful Disney experience as we all come to expected from Disney World. FYI we have been visiting Disney Orld for the past 48 years and are DVC members since 1999.

Pros:

None.

Cons:

As above review
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/29/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

family style platters: bread, salad, seafood boil, turf platters with veggies, lobster mac cheese (a bit dry), dessert plate. Food was delicious. price of $42 was very reasonable.

Pros:

Cons:

none. very good meal
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by mackennacheer Review Date: 02/20/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My family and I have eaten here multiple times for breakfast and once for dinner. I'd give breakfast a 6/10 because the characters have some awesome costumes but the food is pretty basic. Dinner was 10/10! I am plant-based and Chef TJ SPOILED me with a four-course meal that ended with a tower (I'm talking so tall I couldn't fit in the camera frame on my phone) of fruit, cake bites, sprinkles, and ice cream drizzled in loads of chocolate syrup! 100% worth the money and I'm already dreaming of my next dinner there. Also, just fyi for other plant-based people, since CMC is closed right now, Chef TJ is sometimes found whipping up good plant-based food at Beaches & Cream and Martha's Vineyard.

Pros:

Accommodating for specialty diets Chef TJ! Cute and beachy character costumes

Cons:

Basic breakfast (there are much better AYCTE breakfasts on property) Seafood smell (but I got used to it, so it stopped bothering me after a little)
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Raemama Review Date: 02/09/2021

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

We ate here during 2019 fall trip. The atmosphere was not very inviting, the food was okay, but definitely not worth the cost. The service was outstanding—just great. We would say that if you can’t find a resi somewhere close by and you need to eat at the resort, this is a good choice. It’s certainly. Not a destination restaurant, in our opinions. We also visited Martha’s Vineyard, and again, service was great. But the ambiance was pretty awful...

Pros:

As seafood buffets go, it was okay. Service was superb.

Cons:

Price too high for the value of the food and overall experience. Atmosphere was lacking.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Topdawg101 Review Date: 02/08/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My absolute favorite place! Hello.... All you can eat crab legs and other seafood? The deserts were good and the variety is awesome.

Pros:

Variety. Crab legs.

Cons:

Not currently open
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 7

Other topics in Beach Club