Reviews of Cafe Orleans Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

12

Rating

8.75 / 10

Recommended By

100%



Other Menus at Cafe Orleans

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Cafe Orleans

Services: Table Service

Reviewed by rikalr Review Date: 10/11/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Visited the restaurant for dinner at the beginning of October 2021. The restaurant was crowded so advanced dining reservations were recommended, a walk-up wait list was available. The staff were friendly and eager to ensure a great experience.

One of us had allergies so recommendations were made by the waitress. I had the cup of chicken gumbo and the roast half chicken, my friend had the gumbo and the cheese monte cristo. Both dinners were great, the monte cristo proved to be a lot even for half a sandwich but no complaints just "I'm full"

Pros:

helpful staff, the monte cristo

Cons:

crowded dining area
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by PartofYourWorld Review Date: 05/28/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Small menu but good choices. Monte Cristo is worth trying at least once! It's super heavy and rich but really good. My son's kids meal was nice too, a child's size portion of shrimp and grits. The shrimp were nice and plump and fresh.

Pros:

Right next to Pirates of the Carribbean and in beautiful new orleans square. And Monte Cristo!!

Cons:

not much theming in this restaurant but you can sit on outdoor patio in New Orleans Square and there's always jazz playing.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by GabiChristie Review Date: 09/21/2020

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This is where you go for that amazing Monte Cristo Sandwich! We ordered two portions to share between three adults, and we left with leftovers. Delicious and very filling. I believe this is the only full meal we ate that day! We did have to wait a pretty long time even after our reservation time.

Pros:

Delicious, big portions.

Cons:

Long wait, price.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by mickeymom5 Review Date: 07/09/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We ate here with extended family on 7/1/19. We had reservations at 5:00 pm and we were seated right at 5:00 pm. It was lovely to sit outside and enjoy our meal. Our server was great! The shrimp and grits were super yummy! I did not try the Monte Cristo, but the person in our group that ordered it...loved it! The pommes frites were yummy! We also had Mickey beignets for dessert. They did not disappoint! Only bad thing was my daughter's steak off the kids menu was really dry.

Pros:

Service and quality of food Atmosphere!

Cons:

dry steak from kids' menu
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Krystal Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I absolutely loved this place! This cafe is situated in the New Orleans area where you can enjoy a great lunch as you take in the scenery of the Rivers of America. The montecristo sandwich is one of my top 5 Disney foods. This sandwich cannot be found in Disney World Resort which makes this all of the more enjoyable once taking the first bite. The pomme fritte fries are a great side and the portion size of 1 order is enjoyable for two people (and we love to eat). For dessert, we ordered the beignets to finish our experience. Truly airy and delicious accompanied with a berry compote and a vanilla sauce.

Pros:

Food Service Location

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by TiggerTrigger Review Date: 01/20/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We went here for the monte cristos. Everyone said to go this route to get the same famous monte cristo for less $. It was totally worth it. My husband had the traditional and I had the 3 cheese...I liked his a bit better, but they are both great. The kids also adored the Mickey beignets.

The service, right down to the chef's attention to food allergies, was awesome.

The setting is also fun. We were outside, right along the railings and people were constantly ooooing and ahhing over our food. Some of the area musicians even popped by to chat.

I'd say this one is a must do and worth repeating.

Pros:

Monte Cristos for less $ and beignets; setting

Cons:

none
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by girldrgn8 Review Date: 06/21/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Our reservation was for 6:30. We arrived about 6:15, checked in, and ended up being seated before our actually reservation. We were seated on the patio which was nice.

My DS 7 ordered mac and cheese which he ate almost every bite (an accomplishment for him so it must have been good). My DH and DS 13 decided that they would each order a different Monte Cristo and then split them. So one had the regular and the other had the cheese one. When they were brought out, they did have to ask for more of the berry sauce because they were only brought enough for one sandwich but our waiter fixed this immediately. I sampled each sandwich and they were delicious. I ordered Seafood Herb Crepes and I was pleasantly surprised at the taste. They were delicious. I did not like the slaw or whatever it was that they served with it but it was probably just me. We were all stuffed from our meal here. The service was excellent. We will definitely eat here again when we return.

Pros:

Food, Food, Food

Cons:

Nothing
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by bellebookworm9 Review Date: 05/20/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We had dinner reservations here for 6pm on 5/19/14. We checked in right around 6, were given a pager, and seated by 6:15ish. Our table out on the patio was very nice. Jason was our server, and when my friend forewarned him that he drinks a lot of water, Jason brought us two cups right off the bat!

We decided to share the Pommes Frites and the Three Cheese Monte Cristo. The fries were absolutely delicious and we very much enjoyed the accompanying remoulade. Someone else delivered the sandwich, and I discovered that it was the normal Monte Cristo, not the one we had ordered. When Jason came by to offer refills, I pointed out the mistake and he promptly brought us the correct item.

With that corrected, the sandwich was heavenly. Perfectly melted cheese with powdered sugar bread=a grilled cheese in a donut. My friend loved the berry puree and ate both our servings by itself. He said the sandwich detracted from it!

After our CM discount was applied, our total with tip was about $25. I do not believe we were charged the split plate fee. This would absolutely be some place I'd visit in the future!

Pros:

Very good food and service

Cons:

Brought us the wrong entree
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by PixarPixie Review Date: 08/12/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Overall my daughter and I enjoyed our meal. We hot and tired and arrived about 45 minutes early. It was no problem and we were seated in about 5 minutes.

My daughter ordered the pan-seared salmon with pasta marinara...she loved it and nearly cleaned her plate.

I order the house salad. It was okay. The dressing was cloyingly sweet and didn't taste house made. I ate it anyway and enjoyed the candied nuts very much. When I was down to about five bites left on my plate I found a piece of plastic wrap under the last of my lettuce. I notified the wait staff and the manager promptly came over to apologize and remove the salad from my bill. It really didn't bother me much.

The rest of my meal meal was lovely. I ordered the Vegetable Ragout with Salmon. It was delicious and tasted very fresh. The zucchini and eggplant were cooked separately from the tomato ragout resulting in a nice al dente bite on the veggies. The salmon was cooked med-well but not over done.

For dessert we order the Royal Street Bananas Foster Crepe, they were large enough for two-three people to share...so yummy. We also got the "Mickey" shaped Beignets. There were four or five on the plate and they were huge! So, yes we ordered too much dessert.

I'm hesitant to complain about the speed of service because it was kind of nice not being rushed through our meal.

Did I mention they serve espresso?!

Pros:

Great customer service

Cons:

Food took a while to arrive
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by FamilyOfSix Review Date: 07/12/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We had a party of 13 eating dinner here on a very very busy day at the parks. We waited about 30 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. When we were seated, 6 of us were in one table, and 7 in another table in the same room. About 15 minutes after being seated and having given our orders, the party right next to one table left, so we asked the staff if we could take their table so as to have our whole group seated together. They agreed and happily cleared the table so that we could all sit together.

The kids didn't want to try the stuff on the adult menu, and they were too old for the kids menu, so they asked for adult-sized portions of kid entrees. No problem! The kids spaghetti had a chicken breast too, so we asked for the chicken to be on the side. No problem there either. They were very accommodating to my picky eaters, so that was really nice.

The coffee was great. They give you a little mini-carafe for refills, and if you want, they will refill that mini-carafe too. I actually liked the coffee too, so I had about 4 cups. So did my husband, my mom, and my sister. The wait staff was great at keeping drinks refilled and what not.

The food for adults was good. I had the Monte Cristo. It was HUGE. I could only finish about 1/3 of it, so the rest I gave away and the kids ate it as sort of a side dish. I can't remember what others in my party had, except for some french onion soup which was good, but no one really complained about the food and I think it was all OK.

All in all, a nice restaurant with good service once you get seated.

Pros:

Large portions, Flexible menu, Quick service, Coffee Refills!

Cons:

long wait for a large party even with reservations
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Disneyland Park Dining