Reviews of Shades of Green



A resort for Military and Defense personnel and their families in the Magic Kingdom Resort Area

For full details visit:
http://allears.net/acc/faq_sog.htm

Reviews:

14

Average Rating:

8.50

Would Recommend:

93%

Reviewer: Pathfinder Review Date: 10/17/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

It makes us feel as if we are staying at a deluxe resort for a moderate price. Great benefit for active duty, veterans, and their families.

Pros:

We love how close Shades is located to MK and TTC. The staff is great and responsive to any needs. The rooms are very spacious and updated.

Cons:

The Shades buses leave something to be desired, but the Polynesian is within walking distance to use Disney World buses or monorail.

Reviewer: Shehdan Review Date: 10/05/2018

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

Hard to get reservations. We have stayed here many times and never had to make a reservation six months out but I was told you now have to do just that, I called in September and was told February was filling fast.

Pros:

Great rooms and pools

Cons:

Almost impossible to get a reservation

Reviewer: Nodak Mouse Lover Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We've stayed at Shades of Green many times and have always had an amazing vacation! Everyone from staff to other guests have been super friendly.
We are usually out having fun all day and don't eat lunch or dinner at the resort, but quite often have had breakfast at the Garden Gallery and loved it. The omelet station is great and they will cook eggs to order, not just omelets. The Express Cafe by the bus stop is really good and reasonably priced.
Rooms are huge and comfy. Our last room had been renovated and had everything we need.
Buses were efficient and on time. A lot of people complain about the buses but we work with the schedule and have no problems or complaints.
Another comment I hear is "the lack of Disney feel". I'm here to tell you, I appreciate the calm after a full day immersed in Disney atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, I love the atmosphere when at the parks but it is so peaceful at the end of the day.

Pros:

Room size, ticket office, breakfast, atmosphere

Cons:

Airport transportation

Reviewer: lilymegs Review Date: 03/10/2016

Rating: (3) Would Recommend:

While attending a conference in February 2016, I didn't have a choice as to my accommodations. That being said, I was honestly looking forward to giving SOG a try. I found the resort nice at first, but a little outdated compared to what Disney offers. The rooms are nice and large and kept clean. The worst part of the entire visit were the extremely rude guests. The walls are thin and out of my week's stay - I had two separate groups staying in the room next to me. One group was up at 0530 every morning banging around the next group knocked the safe out of the closet - not once but 3 times and laughed - all at 0600. Not SOG fault for the rude guests, but it seems to be the norm. Guests in the lobby letting their kids run all over the place and down hallways where guests are trying to rest. Restaurants were average and the transportation was horrid. Since SOG is NOT a Disney resort - the dropoff/pickup areas for buses are located at the farthest spots - unlike Disney being closest. Also, several of their drivers were rude. I found walking to the Polynesian and using Disney transportation was much better. Don't ever plan to stay at SOG as a personal choice. It doesn't rank anywhere near the service of Disney that I'm used to.

Pros:

Big rooms

Cons:

Rude guests, construction and noise in general - transportation is bad

Reviewer: rnlandwehr Review Date: 12/15/2015

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We stayed 29 Nov - 4 Dec 2015. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was in the Palm Wing and was one of the recently renovated rooms. It was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious, with two sinks. The resort itself was beautifully appointed with Christmas decorations. It never felt crowded, though the front desk said they were fully occupied. We were able to eat at Manginos with no reservation. There was never a long line at the Java Cafe. We used the Exchange for miscellaneous purchases. The Mill Pond pool was perfect for our 7 year old daughter. They also have a nice playground area for burning off steam. After staying at other Disney Deluxe resorts, I loved this resort for the good value, low crowds, beautiful surroundings. The only drawback for us was that the SOG busses don't start until 30 minutes before the park opens. We like to be at the park at least 45 minutes before park opening. We walked on the 1/2 mile path to the Polynesian every morning and used Disney transporation to the parks. We used SOG transportation for the rides home at night and that worked well.

Pros:

Beautiful, spacious, great value, wonderful pool for kids

Cons:

None

Reviewer: shilohg76 Review Date: 03/21/2015

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Between cost, space and atmosphere, it is hard to beat Shades of Green. We've been coming to this resort since it first was leased by the military, back when it was just changed from The Disney Inn and continue to do so a number of times a year. Our most recent trip was in February. Normally there are several of us who travel together, but this time it was a girls' only trip with my mother and myself. We were just up for a long weekend and had a blast. First off, the rooms are large for the price paid. For a similar price at a moderate Disney resort, the room would barely be big enough for 3 adults. With 2 queens and a sleeper sofa, you can't complain about cramped quarters.

We normally do the dining plan at SoG, but since it was just a quick trip, we didn't have the option. We still did the breakfast buffet and it was wonderful. I have several food allergies and am also diabetic but I had no issues finding PLENTY to eat. I have found that it can be hit or miss with buffets when you're allergic to onions/garlic, but the availability of create your own omelets and different meat and cheese and fruit options helped tremendously.

The only issue we had was mostly of my own making. We'd plan to go to one park or Downtown Disney but didn't actually consult the handy times guide given to us at check in and thus, either just missed a bus or were halfway between them. Luckily, we really didn't have any ADRs to worry about, so we enjoyed the weather (I considered it chilly, but I've lived in Florida for over 10 years and my blood has thinned to such a point that anything under 70 degrees is chilly).

All in all, if you have the chance to stay here, I highly recommend it. While there is the flavor of military present (bus and restaurant times are military), there is also an overwhelming feeling of Disney, making this property feel warm and inviting. Price, atmosphere and service combine to make this a wonderful destination for families.

Pros:

Location, service

Cons:

Transportation

Reviewer: pcoleman Review Date: 09/05/2014

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Another wonderful stay at SOG. Honored all my room requests for location. Took advantage of the 40%. Even w/o discount resort is a great value. Having stayed both on and off site I have to admit i really do like the laid back atmosphere here. It is nice to leave the parks and have a break from all that is Disney. Took friends with us and they could not get over how big the rooms were and how easy and comfortable the resort feels. Love the new buses. Bus drivers were awesome. Only down side we had was not being allowed to obtain fast-passes at 60 mark with rest of resorts. This is a Disney issue not SOG. Can't wait to get back.

Pros:

cost, size of rooms, location

Cons:

—

Reviewer: wdwgrandma Review Date: 04/01/2014

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Here in March for a week. Joined by my daughter and granddaughter for 4 days. Too busy in the parks, but Shades was super. Hadn't been here for a year and a half, and loved the refurbed rooms and being able to get lunch at Manginos; hope this is all the time. We also enjoyed lattes available all day, and wine, too! It seemed more professional all around since last I was there. Kinda liked showing ID to get on bus to come back to the resort--felt safe that way. Great cast members and everyone was so nice to us. So very thankful that I have the opportunity to come to Shades!!

Pros:

refurbished rooms. Manginos open for lunch. Starbucks all day.

Cons:

none

Reviewer: cavwife82 Review Date: 03/14/2014

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

We stayed here 2/7-2/14. We are a family of 6 (2 adults, 2 kids, 2 babies) so we loved the size of the room. It was wonderful having the extra space for pack n plays and suitcases! While the room size was nice, it was just like any holiday inn where the carpet is worn, the bathroom fan was very loud and rattled, and our key wouldn't open the door on multiple days so we would have to go down and get a new one. The bus waits were longer so we walked over to Polynesian and used their bus system and monorail. Its only a 15 minute walk so I recommend it. My kids loved the pool. It was nothing fancy, but never crowded. They liked the playground area. My favorite part was the starbucks as you enter. While my husband put kids to bed, I snuck off to get a couple ice cream cones or coffees for us to snack on. The restaurants were pretty good. I was worried after reading such horrible things. We never waited for a table. Some of the food was kind of bland, but I like spice so most places at Disney taste bland. The waiters were so friendly and I loved that the kids under 6 ate free! If you're looking to save a lot of money, than its great. However, if you're expecting that Disney Magic than look into other resorts.

Pros:

price, size of room, restaurant costs, pools

Cons:

no disney feel, bus wait time, room problems

Reviewer: xtandt Review Date: 02/04/2014

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

I have stayed here before and wasn't impressed. The rooms have been redone and are very clean and huge. Parking is $5/day, not a big deal. Most of the employees were very pleasant, Would come back again.

Pros:

Beautiful

Cons:

Pay to park
1 2