Reviews of Animal Kingdom Lodge JAMBO House (Disney Vacation Club)



Opened in existing Animal Kingdom Lodge July 2007.

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/akv.htm

Reviews:

23

Average Rating:

9.00

Would Recommend:

100%

Reviewer: lizzie1974 Review Date: 02/12/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

Overall, we love AKL, both Jambo and Kidani.
On this trip though, we had to wait until 7 o'clock for a room to be ready. The CM who ultimately took care of us was very professional. We were given 3 extra fast passes for the next day, which turned out to be very important. It was a really busy day at Magic Kingdom.
I'll never know what room we were supposed to get because there was a mechanical issue (thus the reason for the late check in). We ended up in 5356, Kudu trail. This is very far from the lobby. Laundry for DVC is on the 4th floor, on the other side of the lobby. So, that was a hike.
I really wish they had some alternate exits (say at the end of those super long hallways) so we could access the parking lot faster, rather than going all the way through the lobby.
The biggest thing with the room was the condition of the pullout sofa. This thing has had it's day. Happily, I have a child who doesn't complain! She slept on it ok, but I thought we were going to break it pulling it out and putting it away!
The mara was excellent. Victoria Falls lounge was great.
It's tough to beat this resort but it needs a little TLC.

Pros:

Beautiful hotel. rooms were very quiet

Cons:

room needs a refurb

Reviewer: senseicj Review Date: 08/17/2017

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

This is an amazing hotel. The restaurants including the counter service are delicious and can accommodate any palate. The views of the animals are amazing and I love the story time around the fire pit. Last time we were there a cast member gave my son a shark tooth which he has since put on a necklace and will remember that forever.

Pros:

The views and amenities are incredible

Cons:

too far from the rest of WDW

Reviewer: allec999 Review Date: 07/07/2017

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

Stayed here for a couple nights in late June, in a studio with a Savannah view. At first, I was not at all pleased when I looked out the balcony to a view of another building maybe 100 feet away. Not exactly the view of animals I was hoping for. I was proven wrong the next morning, by a giraffe, a zebra, and a few other animals lounging around directly below our room. Great resort overall.

Pros:

View

Cons:

None

Reviewer: nrymut Review Date: 03/31/2017

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We stayed in a one bedroom villa the beginning of March. The room had a savanna view. The villas here are smaller than the one bedroom villas at Kidani Village, but the room was fine for just the two of us. The refurbishment here was not as modernized as in some other villas. Sheer curtains were plain and the animal motif was gone. Animal print carpet was replaced with plain carpet. But the lighter paint on the walls really brightened it up and the African decorations are still there. Bed was very comfortable. Love the duvet instead of a full spread. Cast members all friendly and helpful.

Pros:

Room, more peaceful than some resorts

Cons:

Some of the Disney touches gone after refurbishment

Reviewer: clayalex02 Review Date: 10/20/2016

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

Our stay did not start out to well. We had a not so great cast member checking us in. We had two rooms that I had cross referenced requesting that they be adjacent or adjoining. I realize that the cast member was not in charge of the room blocks but the way she handled it was not in the typical Disney style. We eventually got two adjoining rooms at the very end of the hotel, an extremely long walk each day especially for our 75 yr old mother. While it was a savannah view it was not a great one. Animals were only there during the early morning hours and when they were taken to the barn. The rooms were lovely, smaller than the contemporary but fine for us. We did enjoy the pool and the food court. The buses were inconsistent one day running smoothly the next we waited and waited. Our mugs were stolen at the pool one day and the cast member in Mara replaced them with no issues. We did enjoy our stay but would not rate this as a must return.

Pros:

beautiful surroundings

Cons:

check in

Reviewer: Angelakc6yit Review Date: 05/27/2016

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Trip timeframe (Mid May). 4 nites at Jambo , room on Kudu trail , floor 5 and boy was the view to die for. Had tons of giraffe, zebra, gazelle and others basically all times of the day . Odd # rooms seem to have a better view of savannah though no guarantee of course:

Room: Very elegant , roomy, well taken care of . Had full kitchen (1 BR) but totally didn't need it .

Restaurants: Boma , Boma, Boma. Did I say Boma? We did the breakfast and I don't care what you like or don't like, there is something for you to eat. Pastries and bread pudding are to die for and for like $20 or so, you can't beat it. A quick serve meal is $10 at Mara . While Mara is okay, found there could be a few more cooked options to choose from but the African stew again to DIE FOR! Flatbread not too shabby either.

Walk to and from rooms is hit and miss. Sometimes it seems a bit far but oh so worth it.

Busses: ONLY issue we had was to Hollywood Studios both times - not sure if that was a coincidence or not. But even so, no longer than like 15 minutes. All others were 2-10 minutes MAX

Our home DVC resort and we keep saying we'll try somewhere else - never happens as there is just too much to love about this place

Pros:

Basically EVERYTHING

Cons:

None

Reviewer: disneymom35 Review Date: 11/17/2015

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

I love Jambo House. It isn't even my home resort, but as soon as I walk through the doors I feel like I'm at home. I've always had nothing but good interactions with all the staff there. The pool area could use a little improvement. It's just so small and loses sun so early. Bus service was great except when going to MK.

Pros:

Friendly staff, great theming

Cons:

MK busses

Reviewer: tinkmama60 Review Date: 10/12/2015

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We always love staying at the AKL. Resort is beautiful, clean, and great cast members. The only negative was that the room had an odor of mildew that never really went away. We were only staying a few days, so we didn't complain. It would not keep us from staying there again.

Pros:

Beautiful Resort

Cons:

Room smelled mildewy

Reviewer: purplestarlisa Review Date: 12/15/2014

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We stayed for 7 nights in a deluxe studio villa with a savannah view. The resort is themed beautifully. The lobby is breath taking. Our room was comfortable. The lighting in the resort is very dim so putting eye make up on was a challenge! I think the lighting added to the ambience of the resort, though.
We have avoided staying here out of fear for how long it would take to get to the parks via the Disney bus system. We were very pleasantly surprised at how efficient the buses were. We never waited very long, and the furthest park was at most a 20 minute bus trip.
The Mara (the quick service restaurant on site) was excellent, although a very long walk to our room if we wanted to bring food back.
The staff were friendly.
All in all, we had an excellent stay at AKL Jambo House!

Pros:

The entire resort is beautiful; quiet

Cons:

Long walk from lobby to room

Reviewer: wattage Review Date: 09/25/2014

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We stayed one night in a deluxe studio room in Jambo House on September 19, 2014. Our room had a great pool view. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was a little harder than my wife would have liked, but I thought it was fine. Our daughter stayed on the sofa bed which she said was OK for one night.

The resort is themed with an incredible eye for detail. Every aspect of the resort reflects the “African” theme. The lobby is very inviting and quite large. We wished we’d had more time to explore the resort so we plan on returning for a longer stay in the future.

Pros:

Great Theme, Clean, Friendly Staff

Cons:

Lighting
1 2 3