Reviews of Keys to the Kingdom - Magic Kingdom

Reviews

21

Rating

9.10 / 10

Recommended By

95%



This four-and-a-half hour tour celebrates Disney Magic! Learn about the Magic Kingdom's history and backstage secrets. Hear stories of Walt Disney, his visions, his philosophies, and his accomplishments.

Reviewed by MissE Review Date: 05/13/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Magic Kingdom, Florida

Pros:

Little to no wait at Mad Hatter

Cons:

Landscaping-Water not filled 1 of the 2 Dumbo Rides was not in service. Speedway ride was not in service. The big top play area (near Dumbo) not open. Food Kiosks didn't have all items advertised. When it rained, personnel at the ice cream shop were making people move out from under their canopy. Hour + waits just to meet a character. They are unable to handle the masses of people that attend each day. The Magic is GONE!! :-(
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/08/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We have done this tour twice. Several years apart. We learned new information each time. Loved every minute of each tour. I highly recommend this tour.

Pros:

Going behind the scenes was great.

Cons:

The lunch could be a bit more interesting.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Seaya Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We took the Keys to the Kingdom Tour in January 2018. It was fantastic. We learned so much about the backstage areas. Touring the Utilidors was amazing. It was so great to see some of the things that go on behind the scenes. The rides we rode we all rides we enjoyed, and lunch was good. Our tour guide was very informative. She showed us some areas that aren't largely populated for a little break from the crowd, and we used it at our last WDW visit. We will probably do it again in a couple of years, just to listen to a different tour guide and get more tips!

Pros:

So much fun Disney information. There are three rides that you get to walk up to and get on without fast passes!

Cons:

There is a lot of walking on the tour, it isn't a con, but just be prepared!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JoanW Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My just is a trivia buff and this tour was perfect! We took this tour in March, 2017. The tour was well organized and our guide was very funny and personable. From the peeks backstage to the utilidors, everything was so interesting. Lunch was provided and there was plenty of time to relax and enjoy it. I highly recommend this tour although younger kids/preteens might not enjoy it.

Pros:

Comfort and pace of tour was considered based on group participants. Getting to walk right in to a couple of rides made us feel like vip's.

Cons:

food provided at lunch was typical and salad seemed like the best option
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by HWFrieds Review Date: 03/07/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Interesting, lot of walking, worth it. We scheduled our tour a month or so before our planned vacation. We arrived early and were told to wait in a specific area by 3 different cast members. Unfortunately it was incorrect and we were supposed to go inside and check in. Again, unfortunately, our reservation was not on the list for that day, but a different day. To say the least we were very unhappy. The cast tried everything and after a bit they got us on that tour.

That being said, the tour guide (this was in January) was very nice, loved Disney of course.

At check in, we chose our lunch menu item and received a name tag and were given a bottle of water (good idea). The guide provided us with ear sets etc. for the tour. He gave a lot of information (some actually found here on Allears.net). We did a lot of walking and even though it was January, we needed a hat or something. We went behind the scenes and got on two rides from behind the scenes which was great.

The lunch at Pecos Bills was really good, we had never eaten there, but based on this I would go back. We had a private room for lunch, and there was basically a 'salad bar' you could back to as often as you wanted but the salad bar included toppings for tacos etc. Lunch was almost halfway through the tour.

There are many 'secrets' you learn on the tour, and yes we went down to the utilidor which also was very interesting, (can't give away secrets). You are actually asked not to repeat what you learn as to not spoil the magic for other guests. We also learned differences between Walt Disney World and Disneyland.

Pros:

It was a good tour, good information, many surprises certainly worth the price (we had APs so we got a discount).

Cons:

For me it was a one time deal. A lot of walking outside.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Sci3mom Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Have done this tour twice and it was excellent each time. The CM on each tour was personable, knowledgeable, and definitely made the experience even more enjoyable.

Pros:

Informative, ample time to really have time to go through some of the backstage areas, nice lunch, excellent CM guides who were very knowledgeable and engaged with participants

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Great tour! You get backstage tour as well as informative tour on stage. Our your went on the Jungle Cruise and the Haunted Mansion and we were given interesting facts in both.

Pros:

Going backstage. The lunch at Columbia House. Great information and a pin at the end.

Cons:

A lot of walking.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

one of the best tours offered..just the right amount of time

Pros:

very professional and fun

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by lauri Review Date: 10/08/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was on our Disney Bucket List, and since we left my 13 yr old daughter home, it was time to cross it off. We went on the 45th birthday of Magic Kingdom (I had no idea when I made the reservation), which worked out well since the park was ridiculously crowded. I liked the ear piece we were given to use, so you could hear the guides, although they got staticy if you were not close enough. Most of the information they gave, I knew, being a big Disney fan, but the way it was told was entertaining. We also were able to ride the Jungle Cruise and Haunted Mansion, heading to the front of the line. Lunch was at the Lunching Pad, and was waiting for us when we arrived. After lunch we went into the utilidors, which I found fascinating. What was really a treat, was since it was the park's birthday, there was quite a party going on in the utilidors, complete with a DJ and cupcakes for cast members. I have to say, it was pretty funny to see "Rapunzel" , "Merida", and "Tiana" in their "bloomers" dancing with other cast members! My only complaint is the lack of seating during the tour. We stopped to look at pictures and hear about some history, and ended up standing for about 45min-1hour. This was the end of a 5 hour tour, so I was a bit tuckered. I think Disney could remove the stuff they had stored along the wall and add 2 benches. Since we had to constantly move out of the way for other things, that would actually help with that. If everyone was seated out of the way, no worries about people getting run over by a golf cart. Our Cast Member guides were entertaining and friendly and really knew their stuff. They truly enjoyed their job. I'm really pleased we took the tour and will probably take it again if my daughter was interested once she is old enough!

Pros:

cast member guides/information/experience

Cons:

could use some benches
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jamesjoe Review Date: 02/29/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Fair warning, the first paragraph is basically negative experience leading up to the tour. My actual review starts at the second paragraph.

I had wanted to take this tour for a long time. I've always found mixed reviews and was hesitant (and I also couldn't find the time). Finally I decided to book for my mother's 60th birthday. When I booked it in January I specified that my mother would be in an electric wheelchair (the ones you rent at the park) and was told there would be no problem because the tour is accessible. Fast forward to the day before we are scheduled to take the tour, I call to make sure everything is all set. It didn't occur to me that we would actually have to check in before the park even opened (we booked the 9am tour but had to check in 15 minutes prior). The cast member on the phone told me I should get there at least by 8:30 am so I would have enough time to rent the electric wheelchair. I asked to make sure they would even be open to rent them out. She assured me they would be. My mother has her own wheelchair but it’s so much easier to have her ride an electric one instead of pushing her all day. But I worried that she would have a hard time getting to the front of the park and hoped there would be courtesy wheelchairs at the front of the park to make it easier on her. Lo and behold there were a plethora of wheelchairs located near the handicap parking. We took one and walked to the ticket center. A cast member approached us and told us we were not allowed to take the wheelchair past the ticket center but also mentioned we could rent the wheelchairs from the store right next door. She literally took the chair from us. When we went inside, the cast member there told us they only rent the manual wheelchairs and we couldn't take a wheelchair and exchange it when we arrived at the Magic Kingdom and that we also couldn't take the courtesy wheelchair either. We really didn't have time to argue since we had to still take the ferry and then rent the chair on the other side and then check in. Thankfully there was a ferry waiting for us. When we got to the other side I sent my brother ahead of us to start the process of renting the chair as I helped my mother walk to the bag check line (because she had to have her purse with her). By the time we made through, my brother called my cell phone to tell me he couldn't rent the chair for her because they needed her license and her signature and he was having trouble with the cast member because they couldn't find our name for the tour. In all the confusion, my mother and I made it to the front of the line (we had to fight our way through the crowd waiting for the opening ceremony) and that cast member was able to find our name (since I booked it, they couldn't find my brother's name). My brother met us right under the train station (I took a moment to admire an empty main street). (No matter how many times I visit Disney, I forget how magical it is even for an adult). This is when I found out we had to go back outside the rope so we can rent the wheelchair. By the time we had my mother sitting in her chair and checked in, my brother and I were exhausted and frustrated with everything. We were so angry and were venting to each other that this is the reason we stopped coming to Disney. He hates the crowds and he always finds something that angers him no matter how highly anyone speaks of Disney. A cast member made an announcement that there might be rain and we should be prepared. Of course they conveniently sold $10 rain ponchos with Mickey's face on them.

They finally called our group to gather. I thought for sure we would be an inconvenience to the group because of the wheelchair. The cast member that led our group was Stephanie from Texas. She made sure we caught up to the group if for some reason we were separated (we had to find ramps whenever the group was on a sidewalk or if we had to maneuver around obstacles). I'm not a complete Disney nerd so there were some facts and trivia I didn't know about that Stephanie incorporated into the tour. Lunch was better than I expect it. We had the salad, the dressing was delicious. The highlights for me were the warehouse where the floats are kept and walking backstage. Previous to booking the tour, I read reviews that mentioned the utilidors weren't all that exciting so I was trying not to get my hopes up. All those reviews were wrong. I was excited and thrilled and almost quit my job so I could apply to Disney (I'm still considering it). By the end of the tour we had forgotten all about the miserable time we had leading up to the start of the tour.

I recommend the tour, highly. Especially to those who really enjoy Disney. If you don't like Disney and don't usually enjoy the behind the scenes "secrets", this tour is not for you.

Pros:

A lot information

Cons:

Trying to get into the park before it opened
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3

Other topics in Tours At Walt Disney World