Reviews of Skipper Canteen



View Menus at Jungle Navigation Co., Ltd. Skipper Canteen Dining Location

Lunch/Dinner Menu

Cuisines: Asian, Other/Ethnic, African
Read more about Skipper Canteen including links to the menus and reviews here:
http://allears.net/dining/location/skipper-canteen

Themed around the famous Jungle Cruise attraction, this new Adventureland eatery features a wide variety of Asian and American dishes.

Reviews

41

Rating

7.61 / 10

Recommended By

88%

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/15/2019

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Server was totally humourless. Other tables had a jokey, convivial server but not us. Food average. Won't be back

Pros:

None

Cons:

None if you get a decent server
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Bamma Review Date: 03/15/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Food was ok

Pros:

Easy to get in

Cons:

Found out why Robert was worst server EVER!!!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/31/2019

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

We would not eat here again. Sadly, we really wanted this restaurant to meet our Disney expectations. The food is sub par at best and was far too salty for my taste.

Pros:

Clever design to incorporate the Jungle Cruise ride.

Cons:

Terrible food, inattentive server
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by JBinKS Review Date: 01/18/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

SO and I ate dinner in the delightful S.E.A. room. Loved the decor, plus like dining in smaller rooms. I had the Sustainable Fish and she the “Baa Baa Berber Lamb Chops”. Both had unusual and delicious flavors, particularly in the sauces. We are adventurous and love to try new things, and this was one of our top WDW dining experiences. Service was excellent, too.

Pros:

Adventurous menu, Kungaloosh! one of best chocolate dishes ever.

Cons:

Shu Mai dumpling appetizer not as great as rest of meal.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jessicahs Review Date: 11/08/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This was our second visit here on 10/31/18 with a party of 10. Service was excellent and food was awesome. It is great for more adventurous eaters but they were happy to customize stuff for us as well. The kungaloosh dessert was fantastic. I recommend the Hardee Har Har pork - it was wonderful! The monkey bites kids dessert (frozen chocolate banana chunks) was great too. We will return.

Pros:

Food choices, good service, cool ambiance

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by sand935 Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (7)
Not Recommended

More non-fried items on the menu
They did let me order from the kids menu

Pros:

beautiful decorations

Cons:

needs come conservative offerings
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by smsdls Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (1)
Recommended

If you love the Jungle Cruise ride then you’ll enjoy this restaurant. The jokes at Skipper Canteen are similar to that of the Jungle Cruise. I’ve always been able to get in here and feel it’s one of those great overlooked locations. The food is great and service has been outstanding at the many times I’ve visited.

Pros:

Great food, unique selection.

Cons:

I don’t have any Cons
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Lori Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Great meal! Great service-our server was great with our kids and funny. We will definitely eat here again.

Pros:

great food and service

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Jason V Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Cool theme. The times I've been here the wait staff was very iterative and goofy like the captains of the Jungle Cruise ride. Food has an Asian theme and is good, not the best but good. Has a lot of cool Jungle Cruise stuff to look at.

Pros:

Can get a last minute reservation. Wait staff are in character and interactive. Can see cool Jungle Cruise theme items.

Cons:

none really to give, always had a good experience here
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by elainep Review Date: 09/15/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I started an afternoon visit to the Magic Kingdom on July 5th with a 1:00 lunch at Skipper Canteen. Frankly, I was amazed that I was able to snag an ADR only a day or two beforehand, but I’d heard that most people don’t realize the restaurant is there—here’s hoping they don’t find out anytime soon. After checking in, I waited briefly in the indoor, air conditioned waiting area that I didn’t realize they had—on previous visits, I waited outside, which in January is great; in July, not so much. I was seated at a table for 2 right along the window—perfect for people watching. My server was Dani, who was terrific, very friendly. Lunch was terrific as well—they had the Montes Alpha chardonnay I was looking for a couple of days earlier at Nomad Lounge in Animal Kingdom, which was a pleasant surprise. I selected the sustainable fish ("not piranha") as my entrée, which I think was grouper, but I honestly can’t recall. It might have been mahi, but either way, it was delicious. Dani brought me an extra cup of the sauce it came with because she said “people seem to like it.” And I did—just a terrific meal. I really like this place—it has a sort of Yak & Yeti feel to it and I love the corny Jungle Cruise-inspired jokes. And truthfully, it’s nice to have the option for a great meal right in the park. In the past, hopping the monorail to enjoy lunch or dinner at one of the resorts was the way to go, but with the increased security, doing that has become somewhat of a hassle. Skipper Canteen is now my go-to spot, especially since it’s next to impossible to get into Be Our Guest.

Pros:

Great theming, great meal

Cons:

Pickier eaters may find the menu intimidating
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 5

Other topics in Magic Kingdom