Reviews of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Concierge

Reviews

16

Rating

6.75 / 10

Recommended By

63%



The Concierge Rooms and Service at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Jambo House, Concierge Experience AllEars Review: http://allears.net/ae/issue550.htm

Animal Kingdom Lodge FAQ: http://allears.net/acc/faq_akl.htm

Animal Kingdom Lodge Photo Gallery:
http://allears.net/acc/g_akl.htm

Concierge Offerings:
http://allears.net/acc/faq_aklc.htm

Sunset Safari - only offered to AKL Concierge Guests:
http://allears.net/acc/faq_aklsunset.htm

Reviewed by cdancel Review Date: 03/20/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Checked in and hostess gave my son his birthday pin and a cheetah print visor. She then escorted us up the elevator while singing the Mickey Mouse song. MANY other guests joined in the singing while we marched to the elevator. She told us not to try and push the #6 elevator button but rather just hold our band to it and it would take us there. Another cast member greeted us on the 6th with a welcome gift bag full of trail mix, scroll of welcome and hotel info. He then offered us alcohol while we waited for a room but we declined and just partook of the offered snacks which included jelly beans, cookies, fresh fruit and create your own trial mix: goldfish, yogurt covered pretzels, cashews, cranberries, golden raisins, and African spiced nuts. A room was ready but we wanted a bunk bed room which took about thirty minutes to clean for us. My son enjoyed watching Sister Act and snacking while I perused the small book lending library in the lounge. We came back at dinner time to the lounge and on the menu they had broccolini, mashed potatoes, butter curry turkey, as well as African stew. I remember reading that the club did not serve enough food to count as a meal and I would disagree. I think they served enough at breakfast and dinner to fill me up. However the lunchtime offerings definitely would not hold me over. For breakfast we had African quinoa which was quinoa with diced fruit and you could add additional fruit or brown sugar. They also had oatmeal, boiled eggs, fresh fruit such as pineapple, berries, grapes, grape fruit, bananas, etc, croissants, bagels, yogurt, jams, butter, cream cheese, scones, muffins, milk, juices, teas, and the cappuccino machine. We definitely got our money's worth with the food. They also kept the lounge very clean with a constant supply of staff members clearing the tables, refreshing the food supplies, and taking special requests from diners. I tried to tip one but he said they were not allowed to accept tips. Staying concierge level is also the only way to get the great views from the 6th floor. I have never stayed fancy level at any other hotel so have nothing to compare it to. Also should note that we paid less for it as we had the Florida resident discount rate and the concierge level was only about $20-$30 more per night than a non concierge level room. But we loved it, would recommend, and would do again.

Pros:

Free food, great views, great customer service

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by lb1160 Review Date: 05/09/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Just returned and was our first time staying on concierge level. Was hesitant that it would be worth the extra money. But it was amazing!! great staff, super friendly and really made you feel at home. Offerings from 7 am to 10:30 at night. Will never book without it again. Totally enjoyed the whole experience

Pros:

Wonderful Staff, great food offerings, open long hours

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Rbbss Review Date: 07/13/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Returned for a Sunrise Safari after 8 years with my nephew and his family. Was a little disorganized in the beginning and we left the lobby more than 1/2 hour late. Once we boarded the busses all was good and we enjoyed seeing the animals. Breakfast was good, but I missed the fruit soup that I remembered from before. Pool was good. Concierge was pleasant with good food. Really enjoyed the opportunity to talk to the guides about the Savannas and their lives in their countries. Animals on the Savannas were very different from the last time we were there. Guides explained why they adjusted animal composition. Lucky to see Crested Cranes and 2 eggs. Tried dinner at Sanaa - delicious. Enjoyed the new Red River Hogs and donkeys. Hated to leave. Can't wait to return

Pros:

Concierge lounge, guides, sunrise safari, animals

Cons:

Far from other parks
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Given a chance I will stay Concierge over any other type of room. When you check in you are personally taken up to the Concierge desk, on the 6th floor. Snacks are out during various times of the day, light breakfast offerings and evening dinner-type treats can be sampled. The food offerings, except breakfast, shouldn't be viewed as meal replacements but for a very light eater you can eat enough to not want a lunch or heavy dinner. The offerings in the evening tie into the theme of the resort and are a great way to try something you might not otherwise eat. While the resort is a bit 'removed' from the rest of the resorts and theme parks that is also what makes it feel more like a destination than just another resort. The Castmembers that work CL have always been very helpful and informative. If you are enjoying more resort time than theme park time Concierge is a great way to spoil yourself.

Pros:

Snack and light bites the majority of the day/evening. Access to drinks all day long. Quiet. Great view of the lobby from the 6th floor. It can get very busy during the breakfast offerings and evening offerings.

Cons:

Hard to book due to small number of rooms.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by klee Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Club Level was absolutely wonderful. We were celebrating our anniversary so we decided to do something special this trip. We were greeted at the door and taken up to the lounge where we met with our concierge cast member. He checked us in and made sure we knew about all the offerings in the lounge and that all our reservations were correct. Shortly after entering our room, we received a nice goodie bag with decorated pins for our anniversary and chocolates. Cast Members around the parks commented several times about the glitter decoration on our pins so this was not the normal look. Our room was very nice and the view was wonderful. We greatly enjoyed our stay and all the free snacks and drinks available in the lounge. The best part was having items we purchased in the parks delivered straight to our room.

Pros:

Free snacks, drinks, desserts, and appetizers in the Club Lounge. Souvenirs were delivered to our room instead of having to pick them up during gift shop hours.

Cons:

The turn-down service was nice but at around 9:00pm so it was a bit inconvenient some nights.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Alexandra1986 Review Date: 09/22/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

My fiancé and I stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge Club level on Sep 1 to Sep 3. This was our first trip to the Animal Kingdom Lodge and it was a wonderful few nights.
We were located on the fourth floor with a savannah view, and location wise it was perfect. The club level staff was very helpful with getting us last minute dinner
reservations at Teppan Edo, as well as making us feel special since we were celebrating our anniversary. The club lounge is beautiful it looks out over the lobby.
The food options were good in the lounge with breakfast you had croissants, mini muffins, cereal, bagels, toast, fruit and jungle juice which is amazing. During
snack time they had a good selection with peanut butter brownies, rice crispy squares, mini truffles, warm cookies, cheddar gold fish and yogurt pretzels.

The only thing that I would make sure to note is the club level guests are greeted right at the doors before entering the lodge, if no one is standing out there you have to go to the
regular check in so they can call someone to bring you up the club check in. This was something that I only found out from reading the allears reviews, no one in club level let
me know that.

The Animal Kingdom lodge is a beautiful resort and I highly recommend it, the bus service is my only complaint. The buses were very slow while we were there, we usually
waited 30-45 minutes for a bus to the Magic Kingdom. I don’t see anyone else having this issue so it could have been an off week. Next time we stay here we would have a rental car though. The bus picks up and drops off at Kidani first and Jambo house last (at least that was the route when we were there, bus schedules do change).

For any special occasions I would recommend staying club level, this hotel is just so romantic.

Pros:

service, room, food

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by NJDzneMom Review Date: 11/11/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We stayed at AKL Nov 2nd - 8th on 4th Floor Jambo House Club Level. View of the savana from the room was great and there were almost always animals there for viewing. We enjoyed the continental breakfast in the Club Lounge almost every morning - bagels, pastries, cereals, coffee, juices, tea. Loved the jungle juice! We were in the parks during the day so didn't really get to partake though we did experience great appetizers one afternoon. The evening presented beer, wine and some nice small desserts.
The staff was very helpful in assisting with dining arrangements and answering many questions throughout our trip. We found them very courteous, friendly and helpful.

Pros:

Very helpful staff; nice treats throughout the day

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Mel Review Date: 12/30/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

This is our second time staying Club Level at AKL. This experience at Christmas in 2018 was very good and much better than a few years ago. There were hot options at breakfast and cocktail hour. The staff were very helpful with providing food for our daughter with a food allergy. Everyone was very helpful in the lounge. I do wish the club level rooms were closer to the club area. We also had some problems with our room not being cleaned properly, which sort of messed up our first day. We saw many animals and loved the resort.

Pros:

Great food options and helpful planning ahead of arrival

Cons:

Rooms can be far from lounge
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by sand935 Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Our room was ok, rooms for club level are very high up, at least ours was.
the food was exceptional. In the evening for the desert time they showed
a disney movie.

Pros:

friendly helpful cast members good food

Cons:

rooms to high up, would have liked to see the animals more straight on
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by disneymom5 Review Date: 02/13/2019

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

You’ve read all the reviews about the animals and the great theming, it’s a lovely place. It truly is a great resort, although more spread out and expansive than we prefer. Our preference for a similar resort is Wilderness Lodge, with a similar pool and similar architecture in the main building, but everything feels closer, more central and more easily accessible in the WL; plus we prefer that location by the MK. AKL is very nice but it cannot be overstated how inconvenient the location is, particularly with small children, to be SO far away from the other three parks and have to take the buses everywhere. They are such a hassle. With three small children and a stroller…Those busses day after day became a nightmare. For us, it wasn’t worth seeing a few animals to deal with those buses as our only mode of transportation. In addition, you have to pay significantly more for a savanna view room (that’s probably why you’ve come here, to see animals, right?) and the standard rooms are nice, loved the bunkbeds, but if all you’re going to get is a standard room, why not just stay at the Wilderness Lodge and be much closer to everything? But we’re glad we tried it once, and if you absolutely love animals, then this is the place for you. Really nice counter service location.

Pros:

Lovely theming, great pool, lower priced than the other deluxe resorts (the rooms are slightly smaller).

Cons:

Four people max per standard room. Smaller rooms that most deluxe resorts, and SOOO far from the other 3 parks
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Concierge Level Resorts