Reviews of Typhoon Lagoon

Reviews

26

Rating

8.35 / 10

Recommended By

92%



Reviewed by traciem Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (1)
Recommended

My hubby and I are both retired from active work life and this our favorite water park in Florida. We love the theming and attention to detail. For us this the hidden gem of Disney parks in Orlando. My hubby is and EVC and they have a special shaded area for EVC and other special needs guest which is located near food and bathrooms. We both love the newer Miss Adventure Falls ride and love to spend afternoons at this water parks.

Pros:

Excellent Theming and Area for EVC and Special Needs guests

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by hlmclem722 Review Date: 09/11/2016

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

TL, was a one and done for us! (Blizzard, however, gets a 10) First, typhoon has a huge bee problem at/near all food areas. All drink areas were out of ice. Eating was stressful. My kids were so scared of the bees it really took from the enjoyment of our day. Read about the wave pool before we went. My kids 15, 14 and 6 knew it had a rough surface and needed to be careful. The first wave, 14 year old got knocked over flat and I had to watch her get tossed to shore. She looked liked she was in a cat fight, all scratched up. Wasn't even that far out in the pool. Someone lost their shorts. I felt so bad for them. Needed family bathroom for my son(6) never found it. Slides were just ok. If deciding between Typhoon and Blizzard Beach, choose Blizzard!

Pros:

Visited 8/22/2016

Cons:

Bees, Wave Pool, Family Restrooms
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JerseyShoregirl13 Review Date: 01/10/2014

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

The wave pool is fun, but you do have to make your way out far to really enjoy it.
The water rides are spread out, unlike Blizzard Beach which are all close to each other as you enter park. Plus BB has mini golf course if you want a break from the water park.

Pros:

Wave pool

Cons:

water rides are spread out and not easily accessible
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Mich97 Review Date: 08/29/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

The wave pool is awesome but can be dangerous if your not careful. They are powerful enough to wipe you off your feet. The waterslides are great too, just wish there were more of them and that they were a bit longer. Lounge chairs can be hard to find if your not there first thing in the morning.

Pros:

Wave pool

Cons:

Lounge chairs
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Nunley1011 Review Date: 06/12/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Overall the park was great. It is basically a typical waterpark though. My family is very into water parks and had a blast. For myself - not so much into the whole soak and bake kind of day. We rented a cabana which turned out to be great for a respite from the sun and water, and had it's own locker so we felt comfortable leaving valuables locked up rather than out in the open like so many people in the chairs areas. The supposed service that was to be included, however, was far below par and we were very disappointed on that end. Not sure we'd do it again for the $$$. Also, we purchased ahead and wore "water shoes" (the kind that is allowed which are soft-bottom styles, kind of like thick socks made out of neoprene). However, by the end of the day, these were completely destroyed! There were holes in the bottoms for everyone in the family. We threw them away on the way out they were so bad. But we realized that would have been the bottom of our feet had we not had those on. So, even as "throw aways", they saved our feet from getting torn up from the very rough ground (Everywhere, not just in the pools) and from the hot, hot surfaces. Defintely recommend getting some.

Pros:

It's a water park! With great themes throughout.

Cons:

It's a water park...with all the standard faults of such environments. Cabana rental not really worth it.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by survivoramy Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We just recently got the FL resident after 2 passes after not having them for several years. Typhoon Lagoon was our first visit and our activation point. We did have a lot of trouble with activation and I had my receipt printout, my DL, and my card purchase was made on. When we tried to go in gate they told me we didn't have privileges so off to guest service. Then back to ticket booth before it was finally figured out. We lost 30 minutes of our visit trying to straighten that out. Once we were in the park it was great. I had 2 teens with me. They always love the Wave pool. It was our first time on the new family ride and we really enjoyed it. Riding the raft up the conveyor belt was a new experience for sure (and it beat climbing stairs). I thought I remember Crush'n'Gusher having 3 person rafts as an option but there were only 2 person ones and if you were riding alone there was only one slide you could get in line for. But doubles were also in that same line so my girls were done WAY before me because they picked the shortest line and I was stuck in the longest one. We rode everything in the short time we were there and nothing had too long of a wait.

Pros:

Crush 'n' Gusher water coaster is always fun as is the wave pool. Love the theming in Disney.

Cons:

Ticketing and Guest Services turned what should have taken 5 minutes into 30 by their own errors.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by bellebookworm9 Review Date: 08/22/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I visited Typhoon Lagoon twice on my most recent trip. On 8/13, I arrived around 2pm. My first stop was to get some lunch. The park was very crowded at this time. I was able to find a chair under a shelter in the back of park by Shark Reef. The lines for everything were very long, and all I did were the wave pool and the lazy river. Castaway Creek was uncomfortably crowded, wall to wall people. I did get some nice Photopass pictures and was able to meet Stitch before I left around 4pm.

My next visit was on 8/17. I had good luck visiting Blizzard Beach later in the day, so I tried the same with TL. I arrived around 3pm and left around 5 (the park closed at 6). In that time I was able to accomplish Shark Reef, the single rider slide on Crush n Gusher, Keelhaul and Mayday Falls, one of the Storm Slides, the wave pool, and the lazy river.

I enjoy TL quite a lot, but my recommendation would be to get there first thing in the morning or in the last three hours before closing.

Pros:

Less crowded in late afternoon, great theming

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Fisher55 Review Date: 07/05/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Great water park!

Pros:

Great thing to do outside of the Disney Parks!

Cons:

Not my favorite water park
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by HeartBreakKris Review Date: 02/18/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I went in November (pre-Covid). November is a true winter month in most of the country, but in Florida, the weather can be great for a water park! That being said, I think other guests expected cold weather because there was NOBODY in the park. In the lazy River, the lifeguard told me we were around the 80th person to go past him...and this was multiple HOURS after opening! The rides were fun, the cast members were nice. My only con is the food wasn’t the best

Pros:

If you go at the right time of year, you can really luck out & have the park to yourself

Cons:

The food was average. Oh, and I miss swimming with sea-life
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/23/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

WHATS NOT TO LOVE

Pros:

WAVES WAVES WAVES

Cons:

NONE
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Water Parks at Walt Disney World