Reviews of Tokyo Dining

Reviews

13

Rating

7.69 / 10

Recommended By

85%



View Menus at Tokyo Dining Dining Location

Lunch/Dinner Menu

Cuisines: Asian
Read more about Tokyo Dining including links to the menus here:
http://allears.net/dining/location/tokyo-dining

Japan's Tokyo Dining is open for Lunch and Dinner.

Reviewed by jannielane Review Date: 05/07/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

The menu needs to be refreshed as it is getting boring for repeat diners. The food needs to be more authentic, as well. That said, Tokyo Dining is one of our favorites in the World Showcase. Food is well-prepared, and service is superb. It's unfortunate that the restaurant shares an open hallway with the loud teppan tables at Teppan Edo, because it makes Tokyo dining equally loud, when it could easily be a serene experience with a few walls and doors. The bento box is a good choice if you can't make up your mind; the tempura is excellent and recalls the long-lost and much-missed Tempura Kiku. Don't bother with desserts - they are not part of a Japanese meal and the selections show that. I wish that the sushi were not so outrageously priced, and that a sushi combination dinner were offered. Soups, both as appetizers and entrees, are good. The alcoholic beverage choices are unique and welcome.

Pros:

Great atmosphere; food is well-prepared

Cons:

Sometimes too loud
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by KLove Review Date: 12/23/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I have been to Teppan Edo many times, but had never dined at Tokyo Dining until my visit this month. The atmosphere of Tokyo Dining is creative and vibrant. You may be seated near the window, with a great view of the World Showcase Lagoon (and Illuminations, if you are dining late). Even if you don't get a window seat, you will have a view of the open-kitchen sushi bar, which is fun for kids and adults alike. The service is extremely friendly and welcoming. You will be greeted with a bow of respect, as is customary in Japanese culture. The menu is diverse and ranges from sushi, poke bowls, and appetizers to bento box combinations and creative Asian-fusion entrees. To start our meal, we ordered the tempura shrimp, which came with two different types: cassava flour breading and panko. Both were delicious. I ordered a variety of sushi and sashimi, which was exceptionally fresh and beautifully prepared. My brother ordered the Miso Marinated Rack of Lamb, which was some of the most tender and flavorful we have ever tried. My parents ordered the Miso-Yaki Salmon and Teriyaki Butter Grilled Chicken, which were also excellent. The accompanying seasonal vegetables (rainbow cauliflower and asparagus) were a bit cold when they were served. Overall, we were very happy with our meal. The prices are quite high, but not atypical for Disney table-service restaurants. The kids menu only offers a few options, although many of the regular menu options would likely appeal to children, particularly the teriyaki chicken and noodle bowls.

Pros:

Friendly service, atmosphere, fresh sushi, innovative and creative menu.

Cons:

Somewhat limited menu options for kids, expensive. Very few complaints overall.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Crow323 Review Date: 11/08/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

had a window table for Illuminations. the service was slower than previously but a busy night. bento box was good. sake included. i go here every trip.

Pros:

food quality and window seat

Cons:

service a little slower than past trip
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jannielane Review Date: 03/01/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Our group of three adults ate at Tokyo Dining at the beginning of December. Although the restaurant was very crowded, once seated the atmosphere was very peaceful and service was gracious and unhurried. I had the Bento Box because I couldn't make up my mind on a single entree. It was not exotic, but still excellent. I can get the same food at local Japanese restaurants, but not the atmosphere. I wish that the menu were a bit more daring, because Japanese cuisine is not exotic anymore, nonetheless, I like Tokyo Dining's food and will return.

Pros:

Great service; food is pretty and well-prepared

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by The Papi Review Date: 02/25/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We ate here in late January 2018. We were seated within minutes of our arrival. The seats along the windows were already filled and it was just 6:00 p.m. Our server was very friendly and welcoming. We ordered salads for apps, then I had the eel and DH had the panko fish & veggie combo. Everything was well presented and arrived in very little time. We didn't feel rushed, and were surprised to be back outside in just over a hour - so no park time wasted! This was also one of the best value meals we've had in a long time at WDW. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Food presentation, friendly waitstaff

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JessicaBonnell Review Date: 02/13/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We ate here on a Friday evening at the end of January. It was excellent!!! The staff was very friendly. The whole atmosphere was so fun! We were sat near the sushi prep area, which was great when they did the sushi making demo! Everyone was so excited. Our food was delicious. I had two rolls, the fire cracker roll was great! My husband had the teriyaki butter chicken, and he loved it! The sauce on it was amazing. Our 8 year old had the chicken nuggets. They came in an adorable little bento bowl, with tempura chicken, sweet potato and cheese! She loved it, and she doesn't like anything. It also had some fresh fruit. Also, we got to try the sushi that was made during the demonstration...and Nana, the sushi chef, came over and she was the absolute highlight of our whole trip! She and our daughter became fast friends. She even made us an origami swan with all our names in Japanese.
This restaurant wasn't really somewhere we ever considered before, but I am so glad we did! This will be a must do from now on!!!

Pros:

food, atmosphere, sushi demonstration, staff

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by hammons16 Review Date: 05/03/2016

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We ate here on 4/22 for my son's, 6, birthday. We have ate here in the past and have always been really impressed with the friendliness of the staff. This was probably our most memorable and favorite meal of our trip. We had none of the sushi or seafood because my daughter has a seafood allergy and they were very friendly and accommodating (she had grilled chicken and steamed rice). Husband had steak, I had grilled chicken, both of which comes with sauces and vegetables and some other sides. Food was delicious. We would definitely go back.

Pros:

food, extremely friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mickeyflex Review Date: 10/21/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We shared the miso clam soup (just okay, but lots of clams), a salad (huge and ginger dressing was amazing!), Spicy Crunch Roll, and Combination - Matsu. The rolls were not unusual, but on point and tasty; the fish, shrimp, and eel were very fresh; the egg omelet were an interesting addition.

Pros:

service, amount of food

Cons:

temp of tea, miso clam soup
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by nursenita Review Date: 11/29/2013

Rating: (6)
Recommended

First time eating here and the last. The positive thing with this meal was the view at night. Beautiful. Food not good, service was slow, and the noise level is high.

Pros:

view

Cons:

food, service, noise
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Billd Review Date: 03/24/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We had planned on eating at Tokyo Dinning for years - so on this recent trip (17-23Mar2013) we had seating at 7 pm. Check in was easy and efficient and our wait for a table was about 10 mins. The service was very good as well - but the atmosphere reminded us of a quick service restaurant. The food was good - but delivered very quickly - not giving time to enjoy appetizers/drinks before the main course. While some may like this - we thought this dinning experience to be rushed.

Pros:

good food

Cons:

dining area - very loud
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Epcot