Reviews of The Wave Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

42

Rating

8.57 / 10

Recommended By

95%



View Menus at Wave... of American Flavors Dining Location

Lunch Menu

Cuisines: American

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American
The Wave is located on the ground floor of the Contemporary Resort. It opened for lunch on June 8, 2008 and for dinner on June 7, 2008.

AllEars® review:
http://allears.net/ae/issue490.htm

All Ears® Review #2: http://land.allears.net/blogs/jackspence/2008/06/the_wave_at_disneys_contempora.html

Photo Blog and Review: http://land.allears.net/blogs/guestblog/2010/03/the_wave_contemporary_resort_p.html

Lunch Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/wave-of-american-flavors/lunch
Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/wave-of-american-flavors/dinner
Kid's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/wave-of-american-flavors/child-lunch-dinner

Reviewed by JanelleB Review Date: 04/29/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Farm to table to the menu changes often. Easy to get to from MK for a break or if you are on the Monorail Resort loop. Food has been excellent on all our visits.

Pros:

Farm to table food Changing options Location is nice

Cons:

Location can be a problem Your favorite item might disappear
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/28/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This sort of out-of-the-way spot is off most people's radars. But it is a solid player, and offers a good menu prepared by a skilled kitchen. The wait time for your dinner to arrive can be longer during busy periods, but the results will be worth it. They put real attention into most of their plates. Besides, the bread basket will keep you entertained for a while anyway - it's really good, for bread.
The markdown for me is due to the fact that the last two times we were there, our waiter/waitress disappeared on us and we had to wait a while for service.

Pros:

Strong menu, strong kitchen Always available even without reservations Monorail access from/to Magic Kingdom Atmosphere is lively but not frenetic

Cons:

Service has been spotty Pace can be slower than might be ideal
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by wattage Review Date: 01/05/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Had the best meal of our trip at the Wave!! The Bacon & Eggs appetizers the best. The cheddars grits are amazing. Service is excellent..

Pros:

Service, food quality

Cons:

Can get loud.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 08/13/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We had an advanced dining reservation for dinner at the wave. Service and food were excellent. The filet was cooked to perfection, and everyone was happy with their order. A stand out for us was the service and consideration offered by our server Ron from Utah. When one of our party had an allergy concern, she was not simply guided away from options containing that item. They changed a dish that she had wanted to suit her needs, and did so happily. We have always been offered an allergy friendly menu at Disney Resorts, but never been able to order anything and have it tailor made. This went above and beyond any restaurant accommodations at Disney including any from a signature resort. The wine list was extensive, food was beautifully prepared and dessert was excellent.

Pros:

Service oriented restaurant, excellent quality food, easy to get to, great location

Cons:

None, but be advised of low lighting in the waiting area. Just something we need to work with due to a visual impairment in our party.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Mattingly5 Review Date: 07/13/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We came here based on a recommendation. I felt the menu was a little limited but had a chicken, beef, seafood, pork and vegetarian option. My husband ordered the scallops. There were 4 of them. If we had known the portions would be so small, we would have ordered a salad ahead of time.

Pros:

Easy to get a reservation. Our server was great and gave honest recommendations.

Cons:

Small portions.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MFS Review Date: 04/14/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We had a great meal here! With only two of us, we were able to get into lunch without reservations. I have many food limitations, and Chef Baker came out to work with me on creating a meal I would truly enjoy. He worked with me to find things to put ON my plate, rather than just what has to come OFF. My husband and I both enjoyed our burgers, and the iced tea was delicious and our glasses were always full. I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

Pros:

Service; food; volume; availability

Cons:

None I can think of
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Donald_13 Review Date: 02/16/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Went for dinner with family and the restaurant manager recognized me from previous visits. The Chef came out to talk to a family member in our party who has celiac disease and was able to accommodate her dietary request.



Good bread service multigrain bun cut into slices, gluten free rolls available and served hot with butter with sea salt.


The gnocchi was cooked perfectly, held its shape, nicely seasoned with sweet potatoes, onions, mushrooms in a cream sauce. Just the right potion size, perfect potion of sauce with none left over when finished your dish.


Forest Mushrooms, Sweet Potatoes, Rainbow Swiss Chard, Brown Butter-Parmesan-Sage Cream


Desert was the seasonal flight a assortment of 3 deserts, a cheesecake with berries, a berry cobbler and strawberry shortcake.


overall a 7/10 good food and glad to see Chef Kim again.

Pros:

good atmosphere, friendly staff, chefs visit

Cons:

N/A
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by sand935 Review Date: 10/01/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We ate here once for lunch. The food is local farm fresh when possible and organic. The lunch menu is rather standard but very tasty. We ordered the grilled chicken.

Pros:

farm fresh tasty

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Sandi Scott Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My husband and I went for our 5th Anniversary and the food was some of the best I have had at Disney including Victoria & Alberts! Plus our waiter went above and beyond for us! He gave us complimentary champagne and even had the chef make us a beautiful desert complete with handmade chocolate roses!

Pros:

Among the best food at Disney. Comparable to California Grill but less expensive and better chance of getting reservations!

Cons:

Pricey if not on dining plan.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Kathy Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Been to this restaurant 3 times and will be back again next summer. Always a delicious dinner with great service. Beautiful interior-Very modern decor. The food is always fantastic. Fresh organic ingredients make it more special. It was our 30th anniversary but we didnt tell anyone except when we made our disney reservations months prior,but somehow, word got out to our server and what a surprise-he brought us a beautiful dessert plate and 2 glasses of champagne! So special and such a great ending to our dinner!

Pros:

Food, service, decor

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 5

Other topics in Contemporary