Reviews of The Wave Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

38

Rating

8.58 / 10

Recommended By

97%



View Menus at Wave... of American Flavors Dining Location

Lunch Menu

Cuisines: American

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American
The Wave is located on the ground floor of the Contemporary Resort. It opened for lunch on June 8, 2008 and for dinner on June 7, 2008.

AllEars® review:
http://allears.net/ae/issue490.htm

All Ears® Review #2: http://land.allears.net/blogs/jackspence/2008/06/the_wave_at_disneys_contempora.html

Photo Blog and Review: http://land.allears.net/blogs/guestblog/2010/03/the_wave_contemporary_resort_p.html

Lunch Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/wave-of-american-flavors/lunch
Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/wave-of-american-flavors/dinner
Kid's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/wave-of-american-flavors/child-lunch-dinner

Reviewed by foxycurl Review Date: 02/08/2013

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

We had a dinner reservation and were seated almost right then. We all had drinks at the bar before being seated at table. We were seated at same table as two years prior and we thought that was too funny. Our waitress was not attentive at all. Took her 20 mins to get us drinks. Never checked on us during the meal. We were on the Dining Plan and we asked for her to put bar drinks on second ticket since we had a group of 6 and not everyone had drinks. In doing this she someone how charged our dining card twice. Taking away 2 dinner credits instead of 1. Was a act of congress to get the points back on the card. We ate at 4 restaurants during our stay and at all four our service was female and were all terrible. Had to ask for drink refills, no one ever asked if we needed anything. Just so sad after just great prior experiences over years. But food however is always good!

Pros:

Food

Cons:

Service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mrp4352 Review Date: 02/11/2013

Rating: (5)
Recommended

While the room and some of the food were lovely, we felt like our waitress was providing "drive by" service. We would go long stretches without seeing her and had to ask for glasses of water (after receiving our bottle of wine). The pork was ordered medium and came out well done; the beef tenderloin was ordered well done and came out almost inedible - and a steak knife was never provided and I was almost done with the entree before she came by to check on us to see if we needed anything. This was our first visit to the Wave and sadly, we could only think "I miss the Concourse Steakhouse".

Pros:

the swordfish and black bean chili were great; the room is lovely

Cons:

service was frustrating
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Ekimdnal Review Date: 10/24/2014

Rating: (6)
Recommended

The food was good nothing more. There is no real atmosphere there to tell you that you are anywhere of note, could be the corner restaurant in your own neighborhood. Will not revisit unless they do something to peek my interest.

Pros:

good food

Cons:

atmosphere
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Mattingly5 Review Date: 07/13/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We came here based on a recommendation. I felt the menu was a little limited but had a chicken, beef, seafood, pork and vegetarian option. My husband ordered the scallops. There were 4 of them. If we had known the portions would be so small, we would have ordered a salad ahead of time.

Pros:

Easy to get a reservation. Our server was great and gave honest recommendations.

Cons:

Small portions.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Donald_13 Review Date: 02/16/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Went for dinner with family and the restaurant manager recognized me from previous visits. The Chef came out to talk to a family member in our party who has celiac disease and was able to accommodate her dietary request.



Good bread service multigrain bun cut into slices, gluten free rolls available and served hot with butter with sea salt.


The gnocchi was cooked perfectly, held its shape, nicely seasoned with sweet potatoes, onions, mushrooms in a cream sauce. Just the right potion size, perfect potion of sauce with none left over when finished your dish.


Forest Mushrooms, Sweet Potatoes, Rainbow Swiss Chard, Brown Butter-Parmesan-Sage Cream


Desert was the seasonal flight a assortment of 3 deserts, a cheesecake with berries, a berry cobbler and strawberry shortcake.


overall a 7/10 good food and glad to see Chef Kim again.

Pros:

good atmosphere, friendly staff, chefs visit

Cons:

N/A
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Fitzboyzmom Review Date: 08/28/2017

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We had eaten here before and were looking forward to coming back and bringing some folks who had not eaten here before. We had such an awesome experience the last time, but this time, it was a little bit of a let down. The food was good, but not really for the price paid. My son ordered scallops and hated them and the waitress did nothing about it. The whole ordering process with him and what was delivered was just not up to par with our last visit (he has celiac). Our waitress was nice, but not very good. We may return someday, but with so many other great choices, it may be a very long time.

Pros:

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by matt6816 Review Date: 09/01/2015

Rating: (7)
Recommended

I enjoy eating here because of the proximity to MK but the sides with the main meals are lacking.

Pros:

service

Cons:

price for the quality
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by elainep Review Date: 09/15/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Met some local Orlando friends for dinner at The Wave at the Contemporary on Tuesday, July 3rd. We had an ADR for 6:30 with the ultimate goal of viewing the holiday fireworks from the 4th floor observation deck at 9:05. Seems like a long time between dinner and fireworks viewing, but it turned out we needed every minute of it. We were seated in a u-shaped banquette just after our ADR time—there were 7 of us. Our server was Leanna, who was outstanding—when we couldn’t decide on wine, she offered samples; when one of the diners asked if she could get the mussels entrée with the sauce that was served with the mussels appetizer, she said “no problem”. An issue with one of the entrees (a beef tenderloin that was over cooked and fatty) was dealt with and resolved promptly. The filet I ordered was fine. Was it the best on property? No, that nod goes to LeCellier or Shula’s, but the seasonal salad appetizer I had was terrific, as were the 2 glasses of Oberon cabernet I enjoyed. Other dining companions ordered the filet, gnocchi and the fish of the day (a spicy salmon) and were quite happy with their selections. We shared several dessert options and were done just after 8:30, plenty of time before the fireworks started, which was really convenient, especially for holiday viewing and avoiding the crowds on Main Street. Plus, the lounge adjacent to The Wave is a pretty good spot as well …

Pros:

Convenient for fireworks viewing

Cons:

Good food, but not quite a signature restaurant
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by allec999 Review Date: 11/03/2017

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My wife and I attempted to have dinner here 2 years ago, but our plans were derailed by a late flight and Florida traffic. So we tried again this year, on a whim. Great decision. Food is wonderful. Service was good as well - our server was on with her recommendations. Atmosphere is a little dark - no windows, but still a neat place. And - dare I say it - reasonable prices? For Disney, at least. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Food!

Cons:

A little dark
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by kellylsmith Review Date: 03/18/2017

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Less stressful than eating at the parks. We enjoyed our meal. Yummy bread! The restaurant was louder than I expected for being at the hotel.

Pros:

Food, relaxed atmosphere

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 4

Other topics in Contemporary