Reviews of Spirit of Aloha Dinner

Reviews

20

Rating

6.4 / 10

Recommended By

85%



Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Luau Cove

Services: Family Style

Reviewed by Alson Review Date: 06/08/2017

Rating: (0)
Recommended

We had never done this show and I wanted to try it. Called Disney dining and got a table that night, Saturday for 4, category 2. We had the 8:15 time slot and I was worried because it drizzled rain all afternoon and was still raining when we got there but all the seating is covered so no worries. My 3 daughters enjoyed the show and the meal as did I. Out server was attentive and took great care of us. We would do this again. No complaints.

Pros:

Good food, enjoyable show

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by debg32 Review Date: 05/29/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I have to say I was nervous after reading the reviews about attending this. So glad we decided to do it. It had been quite a few years since we saw the show and since we had a couple of people with us who had never been, we booked it. We were here on May 19th and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The show was good and the food was delicious.The noodle salad,tossed salad and fresh pineapple were wonderful. The rolls were good. The ribs were tender and fell off the bones. The sauce just right. The pulled pork was tasty and the chicken was juicy. Our server was very attentive and our glasses of sangria were never empty. He even made sure we had enough at last call. Everyone enjoyed the evening. I am so glad we took a chance.

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MemphisMickey Review Date: 10/20/2016

Rating: (5)
Recommended

On Tuesday October 11, 2016 my family of three and another of four sat down for what we had come to expect was a good show and food.

I am not one to complain but per our waiter a couple days prior the ribs were changed from on bone to off. We had five plates of ribs. Each rib was half fat. The waiter said he could not do anything about it. Very disappointed about the lack of quality rib meat and the waiter's attitude. So were others at other tables. We all compensated by eating the other items, we did not leave hungry.

The show was good as usual. We will go back. One time does not spoil years of experiences.

Pros:

Amount of food, the show and the view for watching

Cons:

Change in ribs
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Jamielyn09 Review Date: 11/12/2015

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We had a party of 4 and booked this last minute so we were in the category 3 seating. We sat more on the side but still able to see the stage clearly. They had the performers spread out on the stage so there really is not a bad place to sit. We were also right by the big fans which was nice because it was unseasonably hot.

The food was good although it would have been nice to have some butter to go with the rolls. There was also not salt or pepper on the table (not that we needed it because the food was seasoned well). The portions were large and our waiter brought us over plenty of extra food. Our drinks were also refreshed any time we were half way done with them which was nice.

Overall, this was a fun experience to try but I don't think we will revisit.

Pros:

Lots of food, great entertainment

Cons:

Close seating
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by purpleriz Review Date: 08/06/2015

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Husband and I attended the 8pm show on 7/29 in the category 1 section. We were a party of 2 and we were served the same amount of food as the party of 4 next to us. Our drinks were refilled often and server was present throughout the meal to make sure we were well taken care of. Enjoyed the interactive parts of the show where the audience was invited to come up and dance for birthdays/anniversaries etc. Also enjoyed the fire twirler- highlight of the show. We would probably not bring our young children as the show was over 2 hours long, but would definitely return for a date night without kids.

Pros:

Generous quantities of food, good service

Cons:

Show was very long
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by dailey71 Review Date: 06/26/2015

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We had great service and enjoyed the family-style serving of the food. Our server made sure our drinks were always refilled along with the food. We booked a few weeks prior so we didn't have a choice of the seating section to the very back and right of the stage. The columns often blocked our view of the show. Our favorite part was the fire twirler of course. He was amazing! It was nice to see the show once, but I don't know that I'd do it again.

Pros:

Good entertainment, plenty of food

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by cundifffamily Review Date: 06/11/2015

Rating: (5)
Recommended

We had done the lua many years ago and wanted to try it again.I pad extra to sit in section #1 so i could see better since i am short.We got sat at the far end of section #1 behind a pole that holds up the roof and guess what i only could see one section of the show.The entertainers seem to stay right in the center and focus on that area ,bot on both sides like alot of shows do.The food was just ok.The salad appetizer was the best part,but our pineapple was not ripe and very hard and tasteless.The entree was served family style and was hot.it looked better than it tasted though.The sangrias were good ,but came in very small glasses.the show was ok,but my missed some of the older comical stuff they use to put in there.There was one dancer that seemed to be dancing a little too provacative for my taste but it wasn't outrageously done.Our server did good,but seemed to be focused more on another section of our table and i had to flag him down to get attention.All in all,it was an ok show,but probably want do it again.

Pros:

member participation

Cons:

food quality,price,viewing from my seat
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by mommom Review Date: 08/31/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

large party of 14 - had tables in wonderland - got a discount for the second show. we were on the top level - seating 3 - I didn't have a problem seeing and I was the last one seated at back of table all the way in the back, the last seat. others in my party complained they couldn't see. I wasn't disappointed in the food or show, just upset that my family didn't enjoy it for the amount of money I paid. I should have gotten down front but it would have cost me an additional $200. I did enjoy Ohana's more. we did that last year. Nice to try once. The fire dancer did a great job and it was nice seeing the different dances from other islands. I enjoyed eating outside even though it poured, we did not get wet and there was a delay in the show. I did feel like I was on the island.

Pros:

surroundings - beautiful gardens

Cons:

not being able to see
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by JoanneS Review Date: 06/25/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We enjoyed the later show, which wasn't very crowded. The food was plentiful and very tasty. This isn't gourmet food, but it's well prepared. The servers were fantastic. The show is a good family friendly show with some audience participation. I felt bad for the performers because their small audience was more interested in their food than the audience participation.

Pros:

Lots of food, fun show

Cons:

not the best dessert
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by teller7 Review Date: 04/08/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I read some reviews that the show was cheesy, but I thought the show and food was good. The food was served family style there was plenty of food and the dessert was very good. I would recommend to do the dinner show at least once especially if you are on the dining plan.

Pros:

show

Cons:

none
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Special Dining Events & Dinner Shows