Reviews of Monsieur Paul France - Dinner

Reviews

15

Rating

8.20 / 10

Recommended By

80%



View Menus at Monsieur Paul Dining Location

Children's Dinner Menu

Cuisines: French

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: French
Read more about Monsieur Paul including a link to the menus:
http://allears.net/dining/location/monsieur-paul

Monsieur Paul France
World Showcase Epcot

Replaced Bistro de Paris

Reviewed by Rosie C Review Date: 10/01/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We ate here for our tenth wedding anniversary and it was the special evening we were looking for. Our server was amazing and the food was incredible. The black truffle and ox tail soup was so worth the extra cost

Pros:

Service, quality of food

Cons:

It was very expensive, we used two table service credits each and still paid over $100 out of pocket. It’s a special occasion place for sure
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by nrymut Review Date: 03/31/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

In all of our many trips to WDW we had never dined here before. We totally enjoyed the meal. Food and service were impeccable. We both totally enjoyed our entrees of pan seared black cod and the black sea bass with potato "scales." We were just finishing our desserts at 9 and could see the fire works both from the windows and the row of mirrors on the back wall. Beautiful dinner and a beautiful way to end the evening.

Pros:

Food, atmosphere, service

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by EJC1077 Review Date: 01/20/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Party of 7 ate here early December 2015. Highlights of the meal was the Lobster with mushroom foam appetizer. very generous portion of lobster and the mushroom foam was very light and flavorful. Our son a very picky eater tried the Soupe aux truffles and found it very good. Between the 7 of us we tried just about all the entrees and everyone was very happy with their selections. Personally i had the red snapper with potato scale. I found it to be outstanding. rounding out the meal I had La sphere, both beautiful and delightfully decadent. All agreed it was one of the best meals we have ever had on site.

Pros:

Outstanding Meal from start to finish

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by tcg Review Date: 07/18/2015

Rating: (7)
Recommended

The service was lovely and overall, the food tasted very good. I do not feel the restaurant lived up to my expectations, but I usually dine at the Yachtsman Steakhouse or Flying Fish. I enjoyed the Tuna Tartare, but the mustard flavor was very powerful. The Chicken Cordon Bleu was very good and nicely presented. My son said his Duck Breast was just okay and my husband's filet was very good, but not worth the cost. Desserts were very attractive, I can't recall what they were...and that's disappointing as we ate there last week.

Pros:

Lovely service

Cons:

Garish decor
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Irene Review Date: 02/09/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This meal was perfection from the start to finish. From Armoun our server to the last bite of creme brûlée, it was perfection. I had the fish with potato scales as my entree. Not only did it taste good, it was beautiful to look at. It is pricey, so it was a benefit to be on the dining plan.

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Ladies4Disney Review Date: 04/17/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We thought we would try this restaurant during our vacation. This was a wonderful dining experience. Service was outstanding, the food was delicious, and the decor was beautiful. This restaurant was quiet compared to many of the other restaurants we experienced. Now it is one of our favorite restaurants!

Pros:

Everything!

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by John Review Date: 12/08/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My wife and I enjoyed a very romantic dinner at Monsieur Paul's. We had a window seat with a good view of Epcot in the evening. Also we arrived an hour before our ADR, but were quickly seated. We both had the Prix Fixe Menu with the rib-eye for two and it was excellent. The service that we received there from our young waitress was superb.

Pros:

Great service and food

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by anicolausk Review Date: 11/12/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Easily the best meal we had on our entire trip. Though the food and drinks are expensive, they are totally worth it.

My wife and I enjoyed the entire scope of our meal and cannot recommend it enough to friends and family.

Any trip to Disney without dinner here is wasteful.

Pros:

Food, atmosphere, service

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by BirdsOfPreyDave Review Date: 07/23/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was our first visit since the conversion from Bistro de Paris, where we had eaten once before for a F&W special event. We arrived for our 7:15 reservation, and only had to wait a few minutes before being shown upstairs to our table. We were a party of two, and were seated one table away from a window. Our table was a little close to the couple next to us, but all worked out as we had a lovely conversation with them at one point in the evening. (She heard me mention the Tables in Wonderland card to the waiter, and wanted to know what it was.)

I have to admit that I would not have realized the room had been decorated from our last visit if I hadn't read it online. Very classy and tasteful, yet nothing distinctive. I notice in several reviews people discuss paper placemats. Linen tablecloths were in use, last night.

An amuse bouche was presented, with the chef's compliments, while we were reviewing the menu. It was a small cheese puff. The flavor of the cheese was nice, without being overpowering.

I knew we wanted a bottle of wine with dinner, but have to admit to being very intimidated by the wine list. (One mis-step and I'd be out a mortgage payment.) The waiter asked us about our preferences, and suggested a bottle of G. Blanchet Pouilly Fume 2010, a Sauvignon blanc and Chenin blanc in the $50 range. While neither of us fancy ourselves to know anything about wine, we both enjoyed this one.

From the bread bowl, we chose a bacon and mushroom roll and a dried tomato and pesto bread. The tomato and pesto bread certainly lived up to its name, with very bold flavors of each of these ingredients. Its green color and whimsical design also added to the experience. The mushroom and bacon roll, while quite tasty, had a very subtle flavor. I'm not sure I could have discerned the ingredients had I not had them described to me. My Americanized palette found the unsalted butter served with these breads to be too bland. A little crunchy sea salt on top would have made a world of difference for me.

Both of us chose the prix fixe menu without hesitation.

The appetizer, a lightly-cooked piece of salmon, let us know that we were in for a real treat with this meal. I'm usually not a big fan of salmon, but this dish was simply delicious. The salmon wasn't fishy in the slightest. It flaked apart, and had the slightest crunch from the sear that gave it the perfect texture. We weren't able to identify the herb, but a small serving of a pesto-like condiment accompanied the salmon, and really enhanced the flavor. We both enjoyed the crisp cucumber salad, which had a slight hint of dill, and was served inside a little edible cup, which I believe was a hollowed-out roasted potato. This was covered with a blini.

For the next course, I ordered the Maine lobster with sauteed mushrooms, mollet quail egg, and creamy black truffle bouillon. The flavor profile of this dish was exquisite! The lobster (several large pieces that included an entire claw) was sweet and perfectly cooked. The mushrooms and broth screamed with flavor. It was all I could do not to ask for more bread to get every last drop. (Not to worry, I didn’t lose my couth until later in the meal.) My friend ordered the Soupe aux truffes V.G.E., a beef broth with oxtail, vegetables, black winter truffle and covered with a puff pastry. The pastry was huge and absolutely beautiful. It was a shame to have to punch it in with a spoon to get to the soup. This dish, too, had a wonderful flavor. We had a spirited and good-natured argument that the other had ordered the wrong item from the menu. Discrete spoons across the table proved that both were superb.

We both decided on the lamb. While this worked out well for us because it was what we each wanted, I can see that it might be disappointing for other couples that the rib-eye portion is for two. This forces you both to have the same protein for this third course.

I can’t think of descriptive word that would do justice to how wonderful the lamb was. I’ve never had it cooked so perfectly, or with such flavor. There wasn’t even a hint of gaminess. The dish was served as individual ribs which had, of course, been frenched. Each plate had a generous portion size, with four ribs each, and a wonderful little potato and onion dish. The herb crust on the ribs was predominantly mint leaves, and was heavenly with the lamb. (I’ll never go back to mint jelly again when I cook lamb at home.) On the side was a small bowl of beans (fava, perhaps) with ham. This had a hearty flavor from the tomato-based sauce, and a nice crunch of slightly au dente beans. I mentioned earlier that I’d lost my couth at one point during this meal. As much as I was trying to mind my manners in such an upscale restaurant, I couldn’t stop myself from picking up each rib and giving the bone a little gnaw. It was just that good!

Then came dessert. Oh my goodness, how does one decide when there are so many wonderful choices? I finally picked the Le Mille-feuille, a puff pastry filled with pastry cream and topped with a light lemon cream. It was served with fresh berries and strawberry sorbet. When I read the term pastry cream, I was expecting something along the lines of an éclair filling. This had a much different texture and taste. There was nothing about this plate that wasn’t suited for a sugar addict, and the plate that was later picked up was quite cleaned. My friend opted for Le Moelleux. This was a warm chocolate and almond cake with a hazelnut crust. When he cut into it with his fork, a wonderful raspberry coulis ran out from the center to cover the plate. It was accompanied by a quenelle of hazelnut ice cream. His plate was cleaned too, and there were smiles all around.

We left well contented, and were just in time to view Wishes – the perfect way to end such a lovely evening. Our food was indescribably wonderful, the service was spot-on, and although the check is the highest we’ve seen during the entire vacation even with the $49 Tables in Wonderland discount, we felt we got a wonderful value for what we spent.

Pros:

The food, the atmosphere, the service, special night out

Cons:

Les bill
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Brygida Review Date: 07/03/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We ate here twice in June 2013, it was that good!

The meal started with a small treat from the chef, a cheese puff that was delicious. I had hot decaf tea with my meal and we had the bottled Evian water - both top shelf. Once we ordered, the waiter called over the bread service waitress. There were several breads we could try - a baguette, a multigrain roll, mushroom rolls, and many other selections. Every one we tried was delicious. I ordered the salad with pears and pecans that was absolutely phenomenal. I had asked for it without cheese and the French mustard dressing was soooooooo good. The pears were crisp and sweet - very much like a dessert. For entree, I had the tenderloin with mushroom top - it is so hard to get a great well done steak, but this was perfect! The entree came with a cappuccino mashed potatoes - which was a layer of mashed potatoes, topped with a truffle foam - um! yum! For dessert, I had to have the meringue with various creams and raspberry sorbet - OMG - so good! Arguably, the BEST dessert on WDW property. My son had the kids sirloin and fries. I can't even remember what my husband had, but I know he thought it was delicious and spot-on-French, having lived in France for a few years. He also thought the wine pairing was phenomenal! Thank God for Tables In Wonderland taking 20% off this meal! In response to prior posts, this restaurant was completely quiet, all guests talking in table whispers - even though there were several young kids - impeccably behaved.

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

Could use more menu item choices
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Epcot