Reviews of Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party (Magic Kingdom)

Reviews

151

Rating

5.65 / 10

Recommended By

48%



Each year Mickey hosts the Not-So-Scary Halloween Party in the Magic Kingdom. This is a hard ticket event -- meaning you need to purchase a separate ticket for entry (just like Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party). The Magic Kingdom is transformed into a fun spooky haven for trick-or-treaters of all ages.

Requires separate admission ticket.

Fact Sheet and Current Information/Blogs Photos/Videos: http://allears.net/tp/mk/mnssh.htm

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/20/2020

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Waste of time and money. You are better off just going during the day. Crazy overcrowded. Hard to ride or meet more than 2 characters.

Pros:

Free candy. Met rarer characters

Cons:

So overcrowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/17/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

This was our second MNSSHP. We attended opening night in August 2019. The crowds were worse than a High Crowd Day -- you felt like cattle, the entire night, being herded through long (although moving) candy lanes. You got handfuls of candy that you can get at any grocery store. Lines to meet characters were hours long -- and ultimately it's just some guy in a costume. Lines for pictures were long. Lines for the bathroom were long. Lines for rides were long. It was a miracle for you just to get a good spot for the parade --- and I'm not a newbie at Disney either -- we had consulted several touring plans and had KennythePirate's plan in hand. It put a real damper on the entire vacation --- spending lots of money to stand in line all night. It just seems that they want your money instead of making it a little bit more exclusive (like the Early Morning Magic)...uggh...sorry Mickey, but not again. Our first MNSSHP in 2013 was so magical and we loved every single second of it. The 2019 party was terrible.

Pros:

None

Cons:

Long lines, super crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/02/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

My family and I had such high expectations for this event😭 We expected an exclusive event with limited ticket sales and reduced crowds, we expected fancy treats for our trick or treating experience, we expected to actually be able to trick or treat without being herded into narrow hallways like cattle, we expected to be able to see the parade & enjoy meeting some characters, viewing decorations and getting on some rides. Instead, we trick or treated maybe 4 locations to receive handfuls of skittles/M&M’s/twix/snickers at each one. Trying to get to the treats was awful and depressing with 100’s of people squeezing through hallways. We didn’t even want the treats(could’ve bought a box of this candy anyway, nothing unique about it) saw a few characters but couldn’t meet them as the line ups were so long we wouldn’t be able to manage with 4 Children. Got on 1 ride only and the line up was so long and congested that nobody wanted to get on any more. Went to see the parade but the crowd was so large we couldn’t find a place to actually get a view of it. The crowds were actually the worst I’ve ever seen any park ever, & the lines longest that I’ve ever seen. We left after the parade and didn’t even stay for fireworks with my kids saying it was the worst part of their vacation. They are completely turned off by Disney and don’t even want to return for our base ticket plans, & neither do I. Awful awful awful, this will be my last Disney vacation definitely. Overpriced waste of my time and money.

Pros:

None

Cons:

massive crowds, long lines for everything.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by juststoppingby Review Date: 11/01/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

My family attended the October 27th 2019 MNSSHP for the 1st time and I can guarantee that it will be our last. At a cost of $360 for a family of 4, mind you one is an infant and is free, I do not feel like we received our money’s worth. I have never seen the park so crowded! It was shoulder to shoulder with people climbing over strollers in order to try to get a better view of the stage in front of the castle. We spent 2 hours to experience a rained out show, one trick or treat line and one character meet and greet. We ended up leaving before the parade and fireworks because the crowds were out of control. Cast members were asking to see wrist bands, however; it was so dark and there were so many people there is absolutely no way that they could verify if people actually had a wrist band for the party. You could have very easily stayed inside the park to watch the shows and parade if you chose to do so. Never again!

Pros:

None

Cons:

Crowds crowds crowds!!!!!!!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/28/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Horrible time!! We went with the expectation of being a limited ticket event as advertised and were completely shocked by the crowds (10/21/2019). As a parent with a small child it was disappointing to see Disney World in that light, it’s obvious money means more at this point then guest experiences. We will never attend a holiday event again at Disney and possiblly won’t return to Disney at all due to this experience.

Pros:

Hocus poscus show Parade (what we could see of it)

Cons:

Way to crowded (felt unsafe) Wait time for characters up to 3 hours long Annoyed guests and cast members Candy lines way to long Money grab/not as advertised
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/27/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Absolute Rip Off

Pros:

Parade, laser show on Cinderella’s castle

Cons:

We took nine people. Very expensive. Too crowded for children. Lines Unbearable. Could’ve bought all the candy received from the nine of us for $20 at Costco. Horrible experience with half of the group leaving before the parade. No one is interested in ever going again. The bad word of mouth the Disney is getting from this event would make Walt Disney quake in his grave. SHAME! SHAME!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/25/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Letter below that I wrote to Disney. Write to them can companion!! It's ashame they have ruined this experience!

I'm writing to you today to let you know how disappointed I am with our visit to Disney this year. We have been attending this event for the past 7 years. Last year we noticed that the Halloween Party seemed to have more guests, but this year it was horrible. Everywhere we went the lines were long, rides where cut short or were speed up to accommodate the long lines. We really notice it at the Haunted Mansion, I have never seen the line that long! It was moving because they cut the presentation in the beginning short and the ride was on hyper speed. I really noticed that difference when it was time for the parade. I have never seen so many people there. I asked a cast member if Disney was allowing more people in for the parties and they said yes. I knew I wasn't going crazy! Like I said we have been attending this even for 7 years and I could notice the difference. They also told us that we are not the first people to complain. That many people were disappointed and left early cause the lines were unbearable for their children.

When we first started coming to the Halloween party we paid $79.00 per adult, it's not $105. The parties were fun, lines were short. Now it's more money, more people, lines are huge. This is very disappointing! If Disney is going to charge more money I would expect a better experience! I do not expect to be unhappy with the Disney experience not once but twice in a row. We have made this a family tradition to come to the Halloween party and we are questioning where we are going to do it next year.

Disney should really look at what they have done in the past 2 years and change it! Revert the Parties to how they were, smaller group so people can enjoy it. Instead of crowding everyone in with less days, open the party to more days during the week.


Another thing we noticed that the fireworks were below par! I wouldn't even call it fireworks, I thought it was a joke when they were over. I have better fireworks in my small town for the 4th.

We feel like there is no \"MAGIC\" anymore, I guess nothing good lasts forever. I truly suggest that you look into what you have done and change it for the better

Pros:

NONE!

Cons:

Larger crowds, more money for tickets, fireworks were below Par,
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/25/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party was a complete nightmare. Disney should be ashamed of themselves. It’s not what you expect from Disney but then again we spent an entire week here and failed to see one bit of magic. Yep! An entire week and no magic. Long lines, crowds, miserable. Prices were outrageous. I expected to pay a lot...and prices truly blew me away. So sad about our experience and about the state of Disney.

Pros:

No fast passes which normally slow down the lines significantly

Cons:

Pricing, crowds, long lines,
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/23/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

just got back from 10/23/19 Disney World the halloween party is not what it use to be. With the over sale of tickets and the annual pass sales the park is a zoo

Pros:

none spend your money on an after hours ticket if its offered

Cons:

over crowed, long lines
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/16/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

It was awful. There were four parties during my October 6 trip. I had planned on the Sunday and Thursday parties- but upgraded to the pass when it became available. The Sunday night was awful- crowded, grumpy people, long lines for food, the trick or treating was a joke. Tuesday was worse. Thursday was worse than that. Friday- I didn't bother even going (and I was staying at the Contemporary). It used to be my favorite event- and I scheduled my trips to coincide with it. Unless something happens to reduce ticket prices- I won't be attending again.

Pros:

None

Cons:

Long lines for everything. A Saturday afternoon on a holiday weekend is more pleasant than any Halloween party
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 16

Other topics in Special Events at Walt Disney World